In Pursuit of His Presents or His Presence?

christmas-presentsPresence of the Lord

During this Christmas season, millions are in hot pursuit of the perfect Christmas presents for their loved ones, friends, and extended family members. Hours are spent pursuing the perfect presents, leading to sheer and utter exhaustion, and sometimes disappointment. Individuals will get up day after day, determined to find those perfect presents. Some will even camp out at the department stores for days at a time, living on the bare necessities of life, hoping to be one of the first to enter the store in hopes of the chance to get that present at a bargain price! (Now if that floats your boat, I’m not judging.) On Christmas morning, a sense of accomplishment is felt as the family members and friends smile broadly after receiving their most desired and coveted presents! It’s amazing how these precious presents, after only a short time has passed, are no longer the flavor of the day. An upgraded version comes along, and replaces the flavor of the day so quickly, especially if it is a technical “toy.” The happiness felt when receiving these presents, is fleeting. They break, they get lost, individuals tire of them, and they are easily replaceable.

beyazguvercin2During this season of giving of presents, and experiencing the warm and fuzzy feelings, I have been in pursuit of the reason for the season; not of presents, but instead I have been in hot pursuit of the presence  and power of the Almighty! My soul is thirsty, thirsty for the Living Water! O my God, my soul longeth after Thee. My desire is not to seek His hand, but to seek His face. As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, For the living God. (Psalm 42:1-2) “Fill my cup Lord. I lift it up Lord. Come and quench this thirsting of my soul. O bread of heaven, feed me til I want no more. Fill my cup, fill it up, and make me whole!” Once we have experienced the awe-inspiring and majestic presence of the Lord in our lives, there is no going back, because there is nothing like experiencing the presence of Almighty God! Instead, we want to experience more of His presence, more of His power, more of His glory, and more of His holiness. Once we have entered the Holy of Holies, and the presence of the Lord envelops us in a  glorious way, nothing will ever equal that experience on Earth. There is no present in this world, which can take the place of the Manifest Presence of the glory of God! Thou wilt show me the path of life: in His presence is fullness of joy; At thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore. (Psalm 6:11) After experiencing the Doxa of God, Your glory, and the Kabod of God, Your weighty presence in my life, I need more, more, more, Jesus more of You. I want You to rain down on me Jesus. Saturate me with Your presence and power, Almighty God. Anoint me with fresh oil. I thirst for You, O God! Only Your presence can quench this thirst, because nothing else will do. Lord Jesus, I long for so much more of You! O bless Your holy name! So, during this season, let us remember the reason for the season. Let us be in hot pursuit of His presence, and not just presents to place under the Christmas tree. Set aside time to go into your secret closets, and to be in the presence of the LORD. After all, it is not about us, but it is ALL about Jesus Christ! He is the gift that keeps on giving. The gift of His presence is irreplaceable. Focus on the glory of God. Focus on giving God your very best gift, your surrendered self, a living sacrifice unto Him. Focus on giving God the glory which is due unto His name! Lord, I want more of You. I am thirsty for You, O God! Are you thirsty for the Living God? May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

21 comments on “In Pursuit of His Presents or His Presence?

  1. Amen.

    Thank you, Minister

    May His presence fall on us as we wait on Him this season. May we experience Emmanuel in a new and beautiful way this Christmas. “Even so, come quickly, Lord!”

    Blessings,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      Amen, Amen! May we take every opportunity given us, to bask in His glorious presence! I will be going to your site in a few moments. This hasn’t been a great week for me, as far as pain is concerned. I am in pain, as I am dictating this comment. So, please just say a prayer for me. May the Lord bless you abundantly! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Overcoming Affliction by Walking in God’s Presence | Life Development Coaching and Consulting – David G. Newby

    • Hi Sherline,

      Thank you so much. Glad to hear you have banked it in your spirit. There is no other place I’d rather be than in His presence. Be blessed! 🙂

      Paulette

  3. Love your comments on pursuing His “Presence” not the day’s “presents.” Our first lady preached on keeping first things first last Sunday… Your post is a wonderful reminder that we need to continue encouraging those around us that without Christ there would be no Christmas. To quote Kirk Franklin’s song: “Jesus is the reason for the season, yeah, oh yes He is!”

    Love the new blog theme, too! By the way, I noticed your last comment post you listed Rhema P&W. Are you a grad?

    • Hi Vicki,

      Thanks so much for stopping by, and for sharing your thoughts today. I like the topic of the message preached by your first lady. At this time of year, priorities do become a bit scrambled, because as you said, “Without Christ there would be no Christmas.” That is why our focus should first be on the presence, rather than the presents. Thanks for mentioning the song by Kirk Franklin. I will share it here. In the comment where the song “I Am Thirsty” was posted, I wrote the information as it was written on the video. I have no affiliation. God bless you, and may heaven ever smile upon you! 🙂

    • Hi,

      Thank you! There is so much hustle and bustle going on in the world at this time. I am glad this thought gave you something to think about, during this season. God bless you!

      Paulette

  4. Tears of joy and gratitude as you magnify Him in your pain. Yes, His presence is the best present . . .one we can’t give, but everyone can come to Him and receive. I love seeing Him at this time of year, seeing His presence in people’s lives, like yours. Seeing what a mighty God He is and just how much He loves us . . .enough to come down, to give us a Son.
    Praying for the pain you are in to subside, to be still before Him, to allow you rest and peace as you glory in His presence and name.
    God bless you, praising Paulette. You are a special gift of His to us all.

    • Hi Debbie,

      Once again, you have struck a chord on the strings of my heart! Thank you so much for the message stated in your comment. So, so true! The most precious gift of all, is to be able to be in His presence!

      Thank you soooooo much for your concern, your prayers, and your friendship! All are very much appreciated! 🙂 May the Lord bless you richly, always!

  5. Amen Paulette. I don’t mean to sound like Scrooge but when I go shopping this time of year the one thing that strikes me is the unhappiness, fatique and frustration I see in everyone’s face. During this season when we should be filled with Joy we are burdened with stress. Thanks for yoiur excellent post and friendship! Mike

    • Hi Mike,

      Amen! You don’t sound like Scrooge at all. You are telling the truth! People appear just as you described them, because they are so focused on the perfect presents, rather than His Majestic Presence! If their focus was on the true reason for the season, they would be “filled with Joy, and not burdened with stress.” Thanks for stopping by. I’m grateful for your friendship, as well. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Overcoming Affliction by Walking in God's Presence | The Official Website of David G. Newby | Life Development Strategist | Your Christian Empowerment and Personal Development Blog

Leave a pearl of wisdom