The Secret Place

dove-holy-spiritWe need to pray that the Lord will show us ways to bring more intimacy with him into our spiritual lives. If it means waking up 15 or 30 min. or an hour earlier in the morning. If it means worshiping in the car whenever we’re alone. If it means taking our lunch to work going off alone with the Lord instead of having lunch with a friend. He’ll show us ways to add that spiritual intimacy we need so desperately… We need to be desperate for God, thirsty for him.

When you were a child, did you ever have a secret clubhouse, a hiding place, or maybe a tree house where you could meet your best friend and the two of you could share your childhood secrets? The Lord our God is the best friend we will ever have, and he is inviting us to meet him in his secret place. It’s a place where we can approach him as worshipers, a place where we can know him in an intimate relationship. In that secret place the enemy cannot penetrate the peace that God will give us. The enemy fights hard to keep us out of God’s secret place, because he realizes that once we are there, he can’t disturb our peace. That’s why we must learn to find that place and learn to stay there. The beautiful poetry of Psalm 91:1 (NKJV) tells us that when we dwell “in the secret place of the Most High” we will “abide under the shadow of the Almighty.” In the secret place we’ll discover a level of safety and inner stillness that’s like nothing we have ever known before. Things may be shaking all around us, but we will have that “peace…which surpasses all understanding” (Philippians 4:7 NKJV) because we will be in fellowship with the Lord. In the secret place we’ll be at one with him, moving in the Spirit, crucifying the flesh. It’s impossible to be nervous or scared in the secret place because we are constantly reminded of how great God is and how much he loves us. I’m not saying we’ll be floating 3 feet off the ground, totally out of touch with reality. From time to time things will break in that will ruffle our calm, but not for long. No matter what happens, we will know where to go. We will be able to tuck up under God’s almighty wing of protection where we can worship him. And as we see him in control, his Spirit will fill us and we will know his perfect peace.

(Excerpts from, “THRONE ROOM” – Ushered into the Presence of God, by CeCe Winans with Claire Cloninger)

 

 

30 comments on “The Secret Place

  1. Nothing like that secret place you know. Jesus said what ever you do in secret HE will bring to the open. Which means ppl will see God’s blessings upon our lives when we worship Him in the secret place of our hearts. We pray in our secret places I know when I use to work and I would go to the restroom at work and pray when I needed strength, yes, sometimes I could stand where I was but sometimes you just gotta go to a secret place where no one sees you and lift your hands up to God and give Him the glory, and when you are done God showers His strength on us. YEs sister Paulette I love the secret place. It’s just me and My LORD

    • Glory to God! There is absolutely no place like it on this earth, Minister! For so many, the vacation season is now over, and it’s back to work, full speed ahead! I’m sure that many have great photos of visiting beautiful places, festive places, colorful places, but…….. there is nothing like being in the awesome presence of Almighty God! Thank you so much for sharing out of your heart today! May the Lord bless you, as you spend time with Him in your secret place!

  2. Amen!!! Wow once again the Lord has just spoken to me through your blog. To be in the presence of God is to be at peace regardless of any circumstance… It’s an unexplainable peace that He provides bless those who come into His presence… There’s no other place I’d rather be 😀

    • To God be the glory! Amen, and amen! Totally unexplainable, inexplicable, and simply awe-inspiring! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting today! 🙂 It’s always wonderful to hear from you! Enjoy His presence!

  3. Love this Paulette! I so need the Secret Place! He always provides it for me! I don’t have a clubhouse but I have a “prayer-chair”. It’s my meeting place for my mornings with Jesus.

    • I so need the Secret Place, as well! “He always provides it for me!” Isn’t it wonderful, that we can be in a room full of people, yet alone with Him in the secret places of our hearts? I do like your idea of having a “prayer- chair” where you and God meet in the mornings! Thanks so much for stopping by Pastor J, and commenting!

  4. Good Morning and Happy Tuesday! I was just having a conversation with someone yesterday and we decided to go on what we call a Prayer Fast (today) so we can pray that strongholds, generational curses and soul ties be broken and destroyed, that God’s perfect will for our lives be downloaded in our spirits, and for the strength needed to carry out the tasks God has assigned to our hands! Needless to say, I absolutely LOVE this devotional! It speaks the sentiments of my heart! As I was reading, “A Secret Place” by Karen Clark-Sheard came to mind, and I just want to share some of the lyrics:
    “This world, sometimes, seems cruel and cold.
    And pain doth pierce my very soul.
    But there’s a place, a secret place, a place where I can go.
    A place of peace, where love abides.
    Where justice reigns, and God resides.
    There is a place, a secret place, a place where I can go.
    For You shall hide me in Your tabernacle, from the rain and storm.
    And even when my enemies pursue me, You’ll keep me safe from harm.
    And when my heart is filled with pain,
    No peace it seems I’ll find again.
    I find that place, a secret place, a place where I can go.”

    • Hi Crystal,

      Happy Tuesday to you! 🙂 That is a wonderful idea! The Lord is truly blessing you, as you spend time with Him in your secret place! I will be praying with you, as well. I shared the very video you mentioned in your comment! 🙂 Thank you for sharing some of the lyrics! Enjoy His presence!

  5. Having a secret place is so important with our relationship with the Lord. It is where our fellowship with Him grows and we gain wisdom and strength for the day. Thank you for this wonderful and informative reminder.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • Thank you so much Francine! You are so right! We emerge from our “secret places” as vessels that have been built up, filled up, and empowered by the Holy Ghost! May the Lord bless you, abundantly!

  6. God bless you for this message! The secret place of the most high God is definitely worth knowing. The more we know who God is the more empowered we become! We boast in His awareness of us; “Who is man that He is mindful of him?” That God wants us to dwell in His secret place…wow!
    Thanks Paulette 🙂

    • Yes, it all boils down to something that you know quite a bit about – Relationships (as per your very informed blog postings :-)). How do we define our relationships with the Lord? Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts today! What a blessing! May the Lord bless you, abundantly!

  7. “be still and know that I am God”… that Secret Place is so much needed! We would never think to go without eating in the morning… why are we sometimes prone to forgetting about feeding on the “bread of life” and enjoying the time to speak to the Almighty God through the name of our Savior Jesus Christ.
    You bring joy to my heart sister Paulette for your ministry!! Continue to be blessed by God as you serve Him with gladness.
    Stephanie

  8. Amen! You have such a beautiful heart for worship, Stephanie! Just reading the Scripture you prefaced your comment with stirred my spirit! Why? How? Yet, we are prone to forget! Thank you so much for your beautiful words of worship, and for your encouragement! Enjoy His presence!

  9. This is an awesome post! This is very very very important. I’m not always good, but i try to put away time for God in the mornings. Thanks for bring light to it Paulette.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the piece. Like other habits, good habits are established through repetition, one day at a time! I read at another blog, that it takes 21 days to develop a habit. May the Lord reward your effort, to be with Him!

  10. I love that place! It brings about such a glorious day when we give our time to God. Preferably each morning, before the world seeps into our minds and drives us nuts!
    Much love & God Bless!

    • Oh yes! I do too! It’s my absolute favorite place to be! Thank you so much for sharing! I’m always happy to hear from you! Much love to you, and may the Lord bless you!

  11. God bless you, Minister Paulette,

    I am so loving the Secret Place! Thanks for sharing.

    ” From time to time things will break in that will ruffle our calm, but not for long. No matter what happens, we will know where to go. We will be able to tuck up under God’s almighty wing of protection where we can worship him.”

    When life comes at me, I like to know that He will come to my rescue, and that I can hide in Him.

    Blessings
    ann

    • You’re welcome, Ann! Thank you, for adding another beautiful worship song to my collection! I truly need the Lord to come to my rescue! Isn’t it wonderful to know that we are safe in His arms? What a blessing! What an honor! What a privilege! May the Lord bless you!

  12. I love what you shared about a secret place with our Jesus. It made me cry, just knowing that He wants this for us, knows how much we need it, how much He can do through us being with Him like this. Recently, I saw these four ducks, playing follow the leader. Then 3 got in the water, but one wouldn’t. Then of the 3 in the water, 2 dove their heads under the water, while one swam around and just skimmed the surface of the lake with it’s bill. God asked me which of the ducks do I want to be like? “We need to be desperate for God.” I want to be like the ducks willing to be upside down in the water, tail feathers in the air. I want to seek Him and run to the secret place to be with Him as often as I can.
    Thank you for preparing us for Wednesday Worship . .and for everyday with Jesus!
    God bless you! love and prayers!

    • Encouraging Debbie, what a blessing! Again, I was touched by the words you shared here! This was such a beautiful revelation and illustration that the Lord shared with you that day! Our God is truly awesome! Thank you so much for blessing us! Love and prayers!

  13. Thanks so much Minister Paulette, for sharing this lovely post. The Christian journey has so many dimensions to it. This is certainly one of those dimensions that we often overlook. A secret place with the Lord is crucial for me. It is that place where there is no distraction-Just the two of us, having a person to person talk. It is that place where I can pour out my heart to Him without any reservations. It is that place where I confess my faults and short comings. It is that place where the song title “I must tell Jesus all of my trials” comes alive.

    I must tell Jesus all of my trials;
    I cannot bear these burdens alone;
    In my distress He kindly will help me;
    He ever loves and cares for His own.
    I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
    I cannot bear my burdens alone;
    I must tell Jesus! I must tell Jesus!
    Jesus can help me, Jesus alone.
    I must tell Jesus all of my troubles;
    He is a kind, compassionate Friend;
    If I but ask Him, He will deliver,
    And in my griefs with me He will blend.
    Tempted and tried I need a great Savior,
    One who can help my burdens to bear;
    I must tell Jesus, I must tell Jesus;
    He all my cares and sorrows will share,
    O how the world to evil allures me!
    O how my heart is tempted to sin!
    I must tell Jesus; He will enable
    Over the world the vic’try to win.

    • Noel, thank you so much! The words you shared here were truly uplifting to my spirit! Yes, I so need the Secret Place! To be alone in His presence, there is nothing like it on earth! ” It is that place where I can pour out my heart to Him without any reservations.” Yes, yes, so true!…..Thank you again, for sharing the lyrics to the song, “I Must Tell Jesus!” Such a tremendous blessing to me! I used a quote on another blog in a comment that says, “Prayer Is Where Burdens Change Shoulders!” To be more specific, the Secret Place is where burdens change shoulders! I praise God for the Secret Place of the Most High! May the Lord bless you, Noel! Enjoy His presence!

  14. As a young Christian I would often drive to a deserted spot overlooking the ocean and spend time in the very presence of my Redeemer.

    I love driving long distances by myself. I drive my sister to medical appointments in the capital (a 4 hour drive each way) but she sleeps most of the way so it is like being alone. When we visit our family, it is either a 4 hour or a 12 hour drive each way, and my hubby sleeps most of the way. I love those trips.

    Those times are great, but without my DAILY quiet time, I would be useless. I love to rise long before anyone else and spend time alone (but never alone) in my office. The day would not seem right without that special beginning – and several ‘refreshers’ through the day. It is so wonderful that we can cut ourselves off from what is happening around us and be ‘lost in wonder, love and praise’.

    What an amazing God!

    • That sounds like such a beautiful place to go to be alone, yet not alone, in the presence of Almighty God! “Those times are great, but without my DAILY quiet time, I would be useless.” Amen! Life is definitely more difficult, when neglecting to visit the Secret Place often! The words you shared here, are so encouraging and worshipful! I always enjoy all of your comments shared during the worship sessions, and these posts! You have such a huge heart for worship and for the Lord! Thank you so much for sharing the contents of your worshipful heart with us! May the Lord bless you!

    • You are so, so right! When we present ourselves as a living sacrifice unto the Lord, the rewards, the dividends are simply unmatched! The secret place of the Most High, my favorite place to be! May the Lord bless you, abundantly! Thanks so much for stopping by today, and commenting! 🙂

Leave a pearl of wisdom

