Put the Lord at the Center

Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. (Matthew 22:37) I will praise thee, with my whole heart; I will show forth all thy marvelous works. I will be glad and rejoice in thee: I will sing praise to thy name, O thou most High. (Psalm 9:1) Be glad in the LORD, and rejoice, ye righteous: and shout for joy, all ye that are upright in heart. (Psalm 32:11) Blessed are they that keep his testimonies, and that seek him with the whole heart. (Psalm 119:2)

It’s true that the world will try to distract us. It always does. So when I see myself getting sidetracked by the world or getting wrapped up in myself, I’ve just got to say, “Stop!” I’ve got to sit down and rethink my whole life and my whole schedule. I start by putting the Lord at the very center of my schedule. Then I do away with everything except what is truly necessary, and I try to fit those truly necessary things around him. I make sure that I have time for his Word and prayer and worshiping him first, and then I fit the other things in. He’s the one true, indispensable thing in my life. And I know that without him I can’t make it. Without  him nothing else is right. Nothing satisfies like the love of the Lord. The reason that’s true is that he is what I was made for. I was made to love him and worship him and lift him up and build his kingdom and enjoy being in his presence and give him pleasure forever. If I missed out on that, I missed out on the very purpose of my life. So I’d better get it right. And if I get that part right, he’ll help me get all the other things taken care of. If I take care of his business, he’ll help me take care of my business.

God is a God of order. When our world is full of chaos, it’s hard to give him our best. When our world is orderly, God blesses it. So don’t give the Lord your scraps of time and attention. Look at your day and create a special window of time and an orderly space where you can meet the Lord you love. Give him your best. He will honor that. The way you come before God is very important. Your life may be filled with so much clutter that your mind and heart may be reflecting that clutter when you approach your Father in worship. It may be time to clear out and put your whole house in order so that you can bring to your God a heart that will please him. Pleasing the Lord must come first. But often in order to please him, you must plan to please him. Make a plan in your life and in your day so that you will have the time and space and order that you need to reflect the love in your heart.

(Excerpts from, “THRONE ROOM” – Ushered into the Presence of God, by CeCe Winans with Claire Cloninger)

27 comments on “Put the Lord at the Center

  1. Reblogged this on Ladies For God and commented:
    Pleasing the Lord must come first. But often in order to please him, you must plan to please him. Make a plan in your life and in your day so that you will have the time and space and order that you need to reflect the love in your heart.

    • Welcome! Thank you so much for your visit, and commenting! I also appreciate the re-blog! I hope you’ll visit again soon! May the Lord bless you, abundantly!

    • I would have replied sooner, but my doctor arrived shortly after your comment, for my appointment…….So glad you liked the post! Thank you so much for sharing the song by Richard Smallwood! One of my favorites, and perfect for this post! 🙂 May the Lord bless you, abundantly!

  2. Excellent post. You’re so right. Whenever I get in that space I stop and pay attention to the Lord. We always need to remember this.

    • It is so vitally important, that we “Stop” and pay attention to the Lord! We miss out on so many spiritual blessings when the Lord is beckoning us to come unto Him, and we are too busy with life. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! May the Lord bless you!

  3. Pingback: We Must Never Forget! « God's Word for Women

  4. Thank you so much for sharing! I am convicted and also challenged. I do not feel that I give my God, the Lover of my Soul all that He deserves. I mean, if I were meeting a close friend or someone I highly respect, I’d make plans/ an appointment, look my absolute best and show up on time! But that is not the case when it comes to spending quality time with Jesus. My mind goes back to the times where I made a date with God only to postpone it because of something trivial and think “God will understand!” That is unacceptable! If nothing or no one means more to me than Jesus, then my actions should reflect this. I have been feeling the pull to give God more and while at times I feel that I don’t have enough time to accomplish all I need to, I can’t afford to NOT spend time with God; in His Word and praying. It is literally a matter of life or death! So I thank you again for sharing this timely Word! I am challenged today to do better so I can be better!

    • Hi Crystal,

      Thank you so much for sharing candidly, and out of your heart! A wonderful addition to the comment stream! Continue to draw nigh unto Him, as He draws nigh unto you! Press into His presence! May the Lord bless you, abundantly!

  5. Sometimes–because I always know that God is ever-present with me, close to me in every moment, everything I do, I don’t think about focusing a special time and place for Him–so this is an excellent reminder for me, Paulette–thank you, and God bless you abundantly! love, sis Caddo

    • Yes, our God is omnipresent, and always close to us! He also wants us to have that special time of intimacy with Him. He wants us to shut out everything else in the world, focusing only on Him, worshiping Him, and giving thanks unto Him. Enjoy your “special” time with Him. Love, Paulette

  6. Wow! Its am AMAZING how your message for today was so meant for me! 😀 All the talk about being busy and having a cluttered heart and mind is all I was today 😦 … I have had your post open from the moment your blog hit my mail box till now, but have only just had time to read it.

    Thank you for this lesson Paulette. I looking forward to tomorrow 🙂

    God bless you!

    • Praise the Lord! To God be the glory! It is so wonderful that we have a “standing invitation” to be in the presence of the Lord! When we place the Lord at the center of our lives, then the “life” that happens subsequently, will be taken care of by our God! He is so good, and actually desires an audience with us! Isn’t that wonderful?….. I’m so glad that you’re looking forward to tomorrow, as am I! I am praying for a mighty move of God in our lives! May the Lord bless you, and keep you in His loving care!

  7. Colossians 1:18 “That in ALL things He (Christ) might (must) have the preeminence”

    When Christ is given His rightful place – not prominent, but preeminent – everything else will be in order. There might still be problems, but He is there, in the midst of them with us, and He will enable us to combat the problem and use it to ‘grow’ us.

    What an amazing God!

    • Amen, and amen! Thank you so much, Angela! “Not prominent, but preeminent,” beautifully stated, and so true! Thank you so much for sharing out of God’s Word, and your heart! May the Lord bless you, richly!

  8. Amen Paulette… Amen. I am in total agreement with you. I’ve learned to say “No!” “Stop!” and sometimes I’ve had to hang up the phone on whatever it is that is distracting me away from God. I encourage those who will listen to me to develop what I call “God Consciousness” whereby they are aware of His presence and His Commandments in every area of their lives. It’s not easy but it can be done with the help of His Holy Spirit.

    Thanks for a great post and keep looking up. ~ Prince

    • Thank you, thank you Bishop Prince! What a blessing! The message you shared here, was timely, and sound instruction! Thank you so much for sharing! May the Lord bless you!

  9. Thank you, praising Him Paulette, for this reminder today, when hearts are heavy and remembering 9/11 . . and before our worship time tomorrow. How blessed and precious are our days as we come to Him and keep Him first and above all. Praying that I can live out my worship daily. God bless you as you keep the calling of the Lord on your life, and worship Him!

  10. Thank you so much, Encouraging Debbie! Yes, we remember 9/11 today…..As we remember, let us also remember the importance of living our worship, daily! Amen! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts today, and for blessing us! May the Lord bless you, as you “keep Him first, and above all.”

  11. Thanks so much for sharing this thought provoking post Minister Paulette. I agree with every word. God needs the best from us. However, we often give Him the left overs, even though we know He deserves first fruits–the singularly best we have to give. The woman with the two copper coins gave all she had–her best. This is how Luke describes the encounter: “As Jesus looked up, he saw the rich putting their gifts into the temple treasury. He also saw a poor widow put in two small copper coins. “Truly I tell you,” he said, “this poor widow has put in more than all the others. All these people gave their gifts out of their wealth; but she out of her poverty put in all she had to live on” (Luke 21:1-4).

    • Amen, Noel! Oh yes, God definitely deserves the “first fruits!” Thank you so much for sharing the passage of Scripture which speaks of, “The Widows Mite’s.” It was a wonderful addition to the post, and goes to the heart of the matter of what it truly means to give God our VERY BEST! Thank you so much, for sharing out of your heart! May the Lord bless you!

Leave a pearl of wisdom

