It’s All about Him

Christ and the Church

Do ye think that the Scripture saith in vain, The spirit that dwelleth in us lusteth to envy? But he giveth more grace. Wherefore he saith, God resisteth the proud, but giveth grace unto the humble. Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. (James 4:5 – 7)

The relationship between Christ and the Church is a paradigm for submission and authority in marriage (Ephesians 5:22 – 33). The Church willingly submits herself to Christ, the designated head (Ephesians 5:23; Colossians 1:8), while Christ, as head, is clearly the authority over the Church (Ephesians 1:22 – 23). Christ loves the church and gave Himself for her so as to present her spotless (Ephesians 5:25 – 27). Holman Bible Dictionary

Worship is the submission of all our nature to God. It’s the quickening of conscience by His holiness; the nourishment of mind with His truth; purifying of imagination of His beauty; the opening of the heart to His love; the surrender of will to His purpose, and all of this gathered up in adoration, the most selfless emotion of which our nature is capable, and therefore the chief remedy for that self-centeredness which is our original sin and the source of all actual sin. (William Temple)

.

13 comments on “It’s All about Him

    • Praise God! When I’m up to it, I try to post a prelude to Wednesday’s Praise and Worship Session posts! 🙂 God bless you! Thank you so much for being such a blessing in the sessions!

  1. Authority / worship / submission / yieldedness . . . these would be a tough ask of anyone, but when we come to know the triune God and experience life in Christ, and the REALITY of our experience in Him, it is the natural outcome. We love because HE loves so completely. He only desires the very, very best for us, so to go other than His way makes no sense at all.

    What an amazing God!

    • Amen, and amen! So true. Life with Christ Jesus! I wouldn’t take “nothin” for my journey! Thank you so much for sharing out of your heart, Angela! May the Lord bless you!

  2. I love how you lead and prepare us for worship, and teach us what worship is . . .that adoration . . .selfless emotion. God bless you as you adore Him today! love and prayers!

    • It is such a privilege to worship corporately, yet separately , with worshipers from all around the world! All glory and praise to God! Isn’t He wonderful, and worthy of all praise! Thank you so much, Encouraging and Debbie! You are such a blessing to me! I thank God for you! Love and prayers!

  3. I praise your name Jesus. Help me to submit myself to your will. Further, let me keep your Word in my heart, so that wherever I go your word go with me.

    Thanks so much Minister Paulette for sharing this timely post with us. We serve an on time God who knows what we require before we ask.

  4. Praise God, Noel! To God be the glory! I prayed your prayer, as well! Isn’t it wonderful to love and serve the ONLY wise God, the Omniscient One, the Omnipotent One and the Omnipresent One! May the Lord bless you, abundantly!

    • Hello P.J.,

      Thanks so much for stopping by today! It’s really nice to see you here! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the post! Thanks so much for your kind words, and commenting! I’ve seen you a little bit on twitter, and every now and then I stop by your page, to peek in on you! I’m hoping that you have been feeling okay, of late. May the Lord bless you, abundantly!

      • Paulette,

        You so very welcome. I’m so so, but can’t complain, so thank you for asking. I so hope all is well on your end. Im so glad I got a chance to come visit you, sorry it took so long to come check in on you and your blog. Its always a pleasure to hear from you. God Bless 🙂

Leave a pearl of wisdom

