Developing Habits of the Worship Life

Even though worship feels natural and free, sometimes it’s helpful to structure the times and places of worship so that  the world doesn’t crowd out our time to be with the Lord. We can develop habits of worship just like we develop any other good habits. A great place to start is by using the power of choice that God gives to all of us. God makes us “choosers” so begin by choosing to put him first. Choose to surrender your heart. Choose to focus on him. Choose to set aside a certain time in the day for him and him alone. Never allow yourself to think in terms like “I know I should worship” or “I guess I ought to worship.” Suppose you told your husband, “I know we should get together sometime. I know we ought to spend time together.” How do you think that would make him feel? He probably wouldn’t get the feeling that you wanted to spend time with him, would he? Don’t let “should” and “ought” thoughts turn your precious time of worship into a dull obligation. Instead, teach yourself to look forward to every moment you get to spend with the Lord, just as you would look forward to time with your spouse or your best friend. The Lord is the very best friend you will ever have. Make the time you spend with him special. And let it delight you just as much as it delights him. You make dates with your other friends or with your spouse or with your children. Is the God of the universe less worthy of your time? The First Commandment says that the Lord wants to be the most important Person in your life (see Exodus 20:3). Make your very important date with him by setting aside a certain time or times to meet him during the day. Mark those times on your calendar. Then be very intentional about keeping your date with him. You might feel a little shy on your first date. That’s the way it is sometimes on first dates, isn’t it? But that’s okay. It will be exciting and even fun. And soon you’ll learn to love meeting him so much you wouldn’t miss it for anything. You’ll look forward to that special time more than any other time in your day. (excerpt from, “THRONE ROOM, Ushered into the Presence of God” by CeCe Winans, with Claire Cloninger)

33 comments on “Developing Habits of the Worship Life

    • Thank you so much, Francine! As I strive to press into His presence, it’s my earnest desire to encourage others to do the same! 🙂 Thanks so much for your encouragement! It’s much appreciated! God bless you, and may His face shine upon you always!

  1. Great post!! And so true. We should not just say we ‘ought’ to do it, but we should do it, whether we feel like it or not. This is the starting place for worship, do it even when you don’t feel like it. 🙂 Because there are times we want to, and times we don’t. Great read!

    • Amen, and amen! “We should not just say we ‘ought’ to do it, but we should do it, whether we feel like it or not.” Love that! 🙂 Thanks so much for dropping by, and sharing your thoughts! May His blessings be upon your life, today and always!

  2. This is a good reminder, Sis Paulette–I can easily get distracted, I confess. God bless you today, and always!! love, sis Caddo

    • Isn’t our God awesome? Even when we may fall short of worshiping Him as we should, He’s there with open arms, waiting for our return unto Him! Don’t you just love Him? God bless you too! Love, Paulette

  3. Oh I love this! Thank you for helping us be the worshipers we want to be, excited to be with our Lord and giving Him all our love and praise! God bless you as you worship Him with all your heart today! love you!

    • God bless you, Encouraging Debbie! Thank you so much for always sharing your worshipful heart with us, via comments and your beautiful “Simple Poems!” Enjoy His presence, today and always!

    • “Sort of like setting your alarm on your day off to spend special time with Him.” I really like that idea! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! By the way, I like your blog’s new name! God bless!

  4. This is an excellent advice Minister Paulette. That was one of the first things my Pastor told me when I was a young convert—set aside time to spend with God. I have spent many quiet times with God, but as I take on more and more responsibilities, my quiet times with God get less and less.
    Thank you so much for reminding how important this exercise is for my continuing spiritual development. God blesses

    • Noel, I truly enjoyed reading your comment! It spoke volumes! The journey called life has a way of eating away at the time we would like to spend in the presence of the Lord. That’s why it’s so important that we strive to put God first, and schedule everything else around our times with Him! Amen! Thank you so much for sharing! What a blessing! God bless you!

    • Thank you so much, Nizy! I appreciate you thinking of me and nominating me for this award. Also, congratulations on your being nominated for this award! God bless you, and take care. 🙂

  5. Loved this Paulette! My prayer life never grew until I stopped wiating for it to happen and started planning for it to happen! Faith and spiritual growth always involve a step on our part!

    • Thanks so much for commenting, Pastor J! “My prayer life never grew until I stopped wiating for it to happen and started planning for it to happen!” So, so true! I truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts, in this comment stream! God bless you!

  6. Sister Paulette on SUnday I heard a Pastor say something about worship that hit me so hard that I literally cried and wept for an hour. He said that when you go to church you should always get there before the worship starts so that you can usher in the presence of The Holy Spirit but if you happen to get there after worship started than the only thing you are brought was the aftermath of what others have done to usher the Holy Spirit.

    Now me and my husband come to church 10 minutes before service starts I’ve always been the type to get there before worship starts. And though it didn’t apply to me I cried and wept because I saw how much others are really missing when it comes to worship. The bible says that those who worship the Father must worship Him in spirit and in truth.

    I have got to say Sunday was a very cleansing crying time for me…and I thank God for it don’t know why He had me crying so long but only He knows…AMEN

    • Minister Desiray, thank you so much for sharing! So many attend Sunday worship services expecting the praise and worship team to usher in the presence of the Lord. Rather than being active participants in worshiping the Lord, some are spectators, looking forward to being entertained. The message you shared here is powerful! Again, thank you. God bless you, in Jesus’ name!

  7. Pingback: Developing Habits of the Worship Life | painting frescoes in pink pajamas

  8. Beautiful piece, Minister Paulette,Worship Leader 🙂

    “We can develop habits of worship just like we develop any other good habits.”
    Simple but profound!

    Worship is indeed a lifestyle.

    Blessings
    ann

    • Thanks so much, Ann! 🙂 The greatest way we can worship our God, is to live a life which honors Him. Lord, help me to strive to please You in all that I do, in all that I say, and in all that I am! Amen! God bless you, Co-Worship Leader! 🙂

  9. Amen! I admit, I get a bit testy at times if anyone interrupts my time with God. 🙂 Not exactly a Christ like trait, but my time with the Lord is worth fighting for.
    God Bless you & yours!

    • I would have to agree with you! My time with the Lord is definitely worth fighting for! Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! God bless you, in the name of Jesus!

  10. One of the first lessons I learned in my spiritual life was the absolute necessity of setting aside a time to be “alone” with God early every morning. OK I admit the “early” part might not suit everyone, but I find that giving Him the FIRST part of every day suits me. As I grew in the Lord, I found the day crowded in on my quiet time and another time had to be scheduled AS WELL AS the early morning, so the FIRST one is primarily worship and two-way communication, and then a second time is usually spent later in intercession.

    What a tremendous privilege is ours that He actually DESIRES to meet with us!

    What an amazing God!

    • Sometimes it truly boggles the mind, that the Lord would actually want to meet with me. I thank Him for this marvelous privilege, oh yes! Thank you Angela, for sharing your thoughts. Your idea is an excellent one! It’s practical, and can be easily implemented! God bless you!

  11. Each day when I awaken I greet Him first, thank Him for another day, and stop to praise and worship. Then I ask Him to help me make my day a prayer and gift to Him.Thanks for this post.

    • Amen, and Amen Kate! This is absolutely wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing in this stream of comments! I appreciate your dropping by, and commenting! God bless you, and may heaven smile upon you!

    • Hello Josephus-Joppa,

      Thank you so much for the re-blog! It is very much appreciated! Also, thank you very much for your comment! I apologize for not replying in a more timely manner. Please fault my head for this error, and not my heart! 🙂 May God bless you, abundantly!

Leave a pearl of wisdom

