Joy or Happiness

(A Re-blog)

Have you ever experienced a time in your life when you should have been distraught, with tears streaming down your face? Things were not going well by any stretch of the imagination, and yet there was a song bubbling up on the inside. There was something on the inside working on the outside, that people around you just couldn’t understand. They knew you were going through hardship, and all was not right in your world, yet by looking at you, it would have appeared nothing could have been farther from the truth. Is there a difference between experiencing joy, and experiencing happiness in our lives? Let’s look into the Scriptures, to see what is said about JOY.

Thou wilt show me the path of life: in thy presence is fullness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore. (Psalm 16:11) And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. (Luke 2:10) My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations; knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. (James 1:2)  Rejoice ye in that day, and leap for joy: for, behold, your reward is great in heaven: for in the like manner did their fathers unto the prophets. (Luke 6:23) If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in His love. These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full. (John 15:10-11)

“Therefore, joy is a state of delight and well being that results from knowing and serving God. Joy is the fruit of a right relationship with God.” It isn’t something we can create ourselves. Money can’t buy joy. When the earth appears to be crumbling beneath our feet, and our world is being rocked because of great trials and tribulations, people don’t understand how we can walk around with a smile on our faces, and a song of praise unto the Lord in our hearts. They don’t know we have the joy of the Lord, which is our strength. They don’t understand what it means to have joy unspeakable and full of glory, because they haven’t experienced an intimate relationship with the Lord. Yes, they might be religious, but there’s a distinct difference between being religious, and being in relationship with God! To know Jesus, is to love Him! Glory to God! To know Him is to experience joy deep down in the inward parts! Even when we are weeping during the darkest of night, when in relationship with Jesus, we can rest assured that joy is going to come in the morning light! Praise God! As a youngster I remember singing a song that says, “This joy I have the world didn’t give it to me. The world didn’t give it, and the world can’t take it away!” Joy is not of this world, but it is a result of knowing WHO created this world! Psalm 30:4-5 says, Sing unto the LORD, O ye saints of His, and give thanks at the remembrance of His holiness. For His anger endureth but a moment; in His favour is life: weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning. Happiness can be defined as good fortune, contentment, and pleasure. It has been said, that one can create his or her own happiness. Happiness and joy can exist simultaneously. Happiness is from without, while joy is from within!

Happiness is fleeting. It can be here today, and gone tomorrow. However, as long as you are in a right relationship with the Lord, you can have joy that will never end! My question today is, if you had to choose, would you rather be full of joy, or full of happiness? May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

Resource: Holman Bible dictionary

 

24 comments on “Joy or Happiness

  1. God Bless you, Paulette–today I am thinking of Him with both Joy and Happiness. Hope you have a lovely holiday weekend! love, sis Caddo

    • Amen, Caddo! Happiness in Jesus can exist with joy unspeakable and full of glory! Enjoy His presence today! I hope you have a wonderful weekend too! πŸ™‚ Love, Paulette.

  2. Joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart—down in my heart to stay!! No matter how deep the valley…we CAN have joy. Just as Apostle Paul said often…” count it ALL joy when you fall into bad situations and hard times” (my paraphrase). Thank you for this!!
    Much love in Jesus~~blessings!
    Stephanie ~streim~

    • God bless you! He is the joy of my salvation, yes He is! Thank you so much for adding Paul’s message! I like your paraphrased version of the Scripture! πŸ™‚ Be blessed, as you live in His joy! Hallelujah!

    • JESUS CHRIST, the center of my joy! Thank you so much for stopping by, and commenting! You have been a huge source of inspiration and encouragement to me! Blessings!

      • Lili , 3, loved the joy song and calls it the birthday party song. She’s writing you a special note of thanks: jnmtnntykyiyhghktkktfylkjhhjhjjogkkkuiu ijhhmkylt
        God Bless You, Paulette!

        • Awwwww, please tell Lili that I said, “she’s very welcome!” πŸ™‚ Let her know, that her note put a huge smile on my face πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’m glad she loves the song. Lady Deidre, thank you very much for sharing this special note with me. That was so nice of you, and I’m very appreciative! πŸ™‚ God bless!

  3. Happiness is fleeting, depending on circumstances and/or other people. Happiness flies at the first sign of troubles. I can’t be “happy” when I’m having troubles, but I can (and do) have joy – the joy that comes from knowing the Lord Jesus and knowing that my loving Father God is working on my behalf, and knowing that no matter what happens, He is in control, and knowing that He will use this time to “mature” me and draw me closer to Him.

    What an amazing God!

    • Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on this topic. I always appreciate the wisdom you impart throughout blog land! “I can’t be β€œhappy” when I’m having troubles, but I can (and do) have joy.” Amen, Angela! God bless!

  4. Loved this, praising Paulette! I do like feeling happy, but I love that Jesus Joy that is my strength when there isn’t anything to be “happy” about . .. and gets me to praising Him! God bless you, sweet friend full of Joy and Worship for her King! love and prayers!

    • I like feeling happy also, but so often life gets in the way of my happiness. It is during those times, that I am so acutely aware of the joy that abides on the inside. Praise God! It’s during those times when a song comes up, when there is outwardly nothing to sing about! God is just so good to us! Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Encouraging Debbie! Love and prayers! πŸ™‚

  5. This is an Excellent post Minister Paulette. It seems to me that joy you spoke about so eloquently is not always with us. It overwhelms us when we least expect, and it radiates inside out. It is in-explainable, and we have no control over it.

    I thank you a lot for sharing. God blesses!

    • Amen, Noel! So true! At times, it feels as if the joy of the Lord is all too elusive! I’m so glad for the morning light, that comes after the darkness of night! Our God is an on time God, yes He is! πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. Your input is always greatly appreciated! God bless you!

  6. So true Paulette, with the right tools and mindset we can be happy but without Yeshua we can never experience true joy and the shalom that proceeds from it. I’m praying that this will be a more enduring reality for us all. xxx

    • Beautiful comment! Thank you so much for sharing! “Without Yeshua we can never experience true joy and the shalom.” Amen! May the peace that passes all understanding, dwell in you in abundance!

Leave a pearl of wisdom

