Breathe on Me, Breath of God

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Fill me with life anew,
That I may love what Thou dost love,
And do what Thou wouldst do.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Until my heart is pure,
Until with Thee I will one will,
To do and to endure.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Blend all my soul with Thine,
Until this earthly part of me
Glows with Thy fire divine.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
So shall I never die,
But live with Thee the perfect life
Of Thine eternity.

(Hymn written by: Edwin Hatch)

18 comments on “Breathe on Me, Breath of God

    • Hello Sherline,

      Thanks so much for stopping by. Clint Brown has an awesome music ministry! Iā€™m glad you enjoyed the video! šŸ™‚ God bless you!

  1. Praise God for his Holy Ghost power that he has given freely to us,and it is he that causes us to praise and worship our Father. Beautiful song!
    Love you šŸ˜€

    • Hi Pat,

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the song! I’m grateful for the Holy Ghost power, which is abiding in my soul! God bless you! Love you back! šŸ™‚

  2. It is now a number of years since I have sung this hymn in Church but it was always one of my love/hate hymns . . . love the concept but soooooooo challenging.

    The words that got me every time:
    “Until with Thee I will one will” . . . O Lord, that would be so wonderful! Just think how amazing life would be if our EVERY thought and desire was exactly as His!
    What a challenge!

    • Hi Angela,

      You are so right! A very challenging concept, indeed! “Lord, only with your help, will we be able to bring our every thought and desire, into perfect harmony with Yours!” Transform us, today God! Help us to lose our minds, and to gain Yours! Amen.”

      Thank you for sharing, Angela. Your comments always stretch us, as we strive to be like Him! “What a challenge!”

  3. God bless you, Minister

    Thanks for this simple but profound worship-surrender song. I’ll be singing it all day.

    Sharing one He woke me with this morning ….

    Blessings
    ann

    • Hello Ann,

      I have already listened to this song more than once, this morning! “All honor, all glory, all power to You.” Praise God! He alone is worthy! Thank you so much for sharing! What a great way to start your day! šŸ™‚ Have a blessed day! Keep on singing in your heart! šŸ™‚

  4. Good morning auntie! I LOVE hymns! Reminds me of a Fred Hammond song I used to listen to all the time! I am going to try and post it here:

    • Good morning nephew,

      Thanks so much for stopping by! I have been a Fred Hammond fan for years! I truly enjoyed this song! Thank you for sharing! Have a blessed day!

      Love you,

      Auntie šŸ™‚

  5. Breathe on me was one of my favorite songs earlier on in my Christian life. It used to be a regular # on the Sunday morning Praise and Worship list. I have not heard it for quite a while, so it was very refreshing to hear it again.

    Thanks for sharing. God bless you.

    • When I thought of God breathing on me, I thought about the valley of dry bones, and how I was like those bones, until God breathed the breath of life on me, and into me! Praise God! I’m glad the song brought back wonderful memories for you! God bless you, and have a wonderful day!

Leave a pearl of wisdom

