Thirsty For the Living Water

As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God. (Psalm 42:1-2) Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled. (Matthew 5:6) O Lord, the hope of Israel, all who forsake you shall be put to shame; those who turn away from you shall be written in the earth, for they have forsaken the Lord, the fountain of living water. (Jeremiah 17:13)  On the last and greatest day of the Feast, Jesus did and said in a loud voice, “if anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink. Whosoever believes in me, as the Scriptures has said, streams of living water will flow from within him. (John 7:37-38)

There are literally billions  of men, women, and children, living in developing countries, with very little, if any, clean drinking water at their disposal! Many nonprofit agencies ask for donations, to help provide clean drinking water for these individuals who so desperately need it! Our bodies are made up of 3/4 water. What happens when we don’t drink enough of it? We become dehydrated (Excessive loss of water from the body or from an organ or body part, as from illness or fluid deprivation.) Some of the symptoms of dehydration are thirst, chills, dry skin, increased heart rate, fatigue, muscle cramps, headaches, nausea, breathing difficulty, and unconsciousness. (For a more complete list of symptoms, click here.) We can live for a month without food, but only one week without water. Just as natural water is essential to life, so is the Living Water essential to obtaining spiritual life, and life eternal with Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior! Man-made wells will one day run dry. However, there is a fountain, a spring that will never run dry. Rather, it will cause streams of Living Water to flow from within you. I’m talking about Jesus Christ, the Savior of the world! Jesus Christ, the Living Water, is likened unto a spring which never ceases to flow. As water gives life unto wilted and dying plants, so the Living Water, Jesus Christ gives life unto we who were dead in trespasses and sins! The Living Water cleanses us from sin. The Living Water revives wilted and withered saints of the Most High! Water is refreshing, as is the Living Water! Come and drink from the fountain of Living Water, which shall never run dry! After drinking from this Water, this Living Water, you will never thirst again! The presence and power of the Holy Spirit will reside inside of you, and flow out of you as rivers of living waters! He that believeth on me, as the Scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water. (John 7:38) From the Living Water emanates grace, God’s riches at Christ’s expense! We have been given unmerited favor, undeserved favor, from God through Christ Jesus! Praise God for the wonderful gift of grace through Christ! And you hath he quickened, who were dead in trespasses and sins; wherein in time past ye walked according to the course of this world, according to the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience: Among whom also we all had our conversation in times past in the lusts of our flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind; and were by nature the children of wrath, even as others. But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us, even when we were dead in sins, hath quickened us together with Christ, (by grace are ye saved;) Ephesians 2:1-5 My soul longs for God, for the Living God! Those who hunger and thirst after righteousness, shall be filled! Are you thirsty? Are you thirsty for the Living Water? Come to Jesus right now! Only Jesus can quench that thirst, from which you will never thirst again! Only Jesus satisfies! The things the world has to offer you do not satisfy the longing within you to worship the Living God. They are temporal, and lead unto eternal death! The more you seek after the Lord, the more your soul will be satisfied. Jesus will receive you unto Himself! Come and drink from the fountain that will never run dry! Come to Jesus Right now! Feel free to drop a line in the comment box. May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and everyday!

Scripture Reading:
John 4:10-14
John 7:37-39
John13:34-35
Acts 1-2
  
Revelation 7:17

22 comments on “Thirsty For the Living Water

  1. My pearl is a big thank you to you for addressing the importance of clean drinking water. Take Africa for example; millions of people on the continent do not have clean drinking water, yet the continent is not short of water.

    Thanks for sharing. God bless.

    • Hi Noel,

      Thank you so much for adding this pearl of wisdom! πŸ™‚ It is truly a sad commentary, that millions are struggling to find safe drinking water, where there is no shortage of water. Thank God for those who are striving to make a difference! God bless you!

      (I apologize for not replying in a timely manner. I suffered a flare up of RSD.)

  2. Oh, Paulette,

    I love this scripture. I do thirst for Him!
    They that hunger and thirst for righteousness sake shall be filled! Out of your belly shall flow rivers of water!!

    Thanks you Lord for your Word spoken through your daughter Paulette.

    Thank you Paulette.

    I love ya.
    Debra

    • Hello Minister Aiken,

      God bless you! Thank you so much for stopping by, and adding a comment. Yes, my soul is thirsty for the Living Water! O taste and see, that the Lord He is good! Blessed be the name of the Lord!

  3. Praise God for his precious Holy Spirit that truly satisfies in every way and every area of our lives. Hallelujah”! Jesus is the fountain that never runs dry,and oh how I love him.I did enjoy the read wonderful post!
    Love ya πŸ˜€

  4. Thank you, Minister.

    You have blessed me greatly, as always.

    I was just making myself some oatmeal and I found I needed to add water to get to the consistency I wanted… Interesting, because I constantly need to be filled by Him so I can live at the level that brings Him the greatest glory.

    Thanks for sharing that beautiful song. Here’s one for you πŸ™‚

    Blessings
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      Amen! “I constantly need to be filled by Him so I can live at the level that brings Him the greatest glory.” Praise God! It is only being filled by Him, that we find fullness of joy! Thank you for sharing that song, one of my all time favorites! πŸ™‚ Lovely comment! God bless you!

  5. Thank you, praising and worshiping Paulette! You have evoked watery tears from my eyes with this. He touched me as I read about the effects of dehydration and then consider the effects of trying to exist without the Living Water. My heart aches for those who haven’t come for a drink from the Fountain yet. Thank you so much for focusing my prayers today! God bless you as He continues to pour through you!
    love and prayers!

    • Thank you so much, encouraging Debbie! My, my! I could “hear” your heart for God, and for the souls of His people, in your comment! God bless your heart! So many are “spiritually unconscious”, because of spiritual dehydration! May they come to drink from that Fountain, where the water will never run dry!

  6. Living here in tropical Queensland, with high temperatures and even higher humidity, we know the importance of keeping our physical bodies hydrated. Drinking water is an essential part of the day.

    Living here in this sin-scarred world, with its low morality standards and its camouflaged temptations, we know the importance of keeping our spiritual bodies hydrated. Drinking in the Living Water is an essential part of our day.

    What an amazing God that He has provided all we need! How it must grieve Him when we go our own way, ignoring His provisions.

    May we thirst for Him and drink fully at His fountain – and then go out to share His blessings with others.

  7. Pingback: Resources for John 7:37 - 39

  8. Wow paulette.This is one of the most beautiful blogs i have ever seen.I am in awe.
    Thanks to Pat for sending me the Link.
    Blessings Linda

    • Hello Linda,

      Thank you so much for visiting! I appreciate your very kind comments! God bless you! I will take this opportunity to invite you to worship with us, at “Wednesday’s Praise and Worship Session!” πŸ™‚ I’d love to have you here, worshiping Jesus in spirit and in truth! Our God is worthy! (Pat, thank you so much for sharing the link. :-))

    • Ann,

      I must admit, that Wednesdays are a highlight for me, as well! πŸ™‚ That is so very kind of you. However, I know that it is all about Him, and I absolutely love it! πŸ™‚ I wasn’t sure I would be able to post tomorrow, because of the severe flare up of RSD! I solicit your prayers!

  9. You have a beautiful blog Paulette. Thanks also for the beautiful encouragement. “To you alone may my spirit yield…” is my daily prayer. I love that song. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Hi Ula,

      Thank you so much! I’m so glad you stopped by today. πŸ™‚ Several years ago, when I was healthy, and was the worship leader at my brother’s church, that song was a favorite. It still is one of my all-time favorites! It speaks the sentiments of my heart, so beautifully! God bless you, and all you do for the Master!

  10. Pingback: If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink « bummyla

Leave a pearl of wisdom

