Some Chronic Pain Sufferers Choose To Tough It out

Antiinflamatorios-no-esteroides-300x200All too often, patients who suffer from chronic and debilitating pain are not as forthcoming as they should be with their doctors, friends, and family members. For many who suffer from chronic pain, it is an invisible disease or illness. That makes it easier for some chronic pain sufferers to suffer in  silence! Why would anyone want to suffer in this way? Well, on so many occasions, patients have not been believed when discussing, explicitly, the level of pain they experience daily. When this occurs, one is more likely to retreat to their safe place within themselves, bottling up the tears, and the truth of the matter. In one of the videos I will be sharing in this article, this type of behavior is referred to as, “toughing it out.” Rather than explaining to physicians and loved ones, fully, the severity of pain levels, some patients will make light of their pain, because they fear being labeled as someone who is simply seeking drugs, a pill popper, or an attention seeker. This should not occur at all! However, it does occur, time and time again! People who suffer from chronic pain deserve the same level of quality treatment as anyone else who is suffering from an illness!

Another way  patients try to mask their pain, is to act as if they are feeling okay in the home, in the workplace, and otherwise. To their own hurt, individuals will push themselves into doing all kinds of housework and assignments on the job, as well as push themselves to socialize with their family and friends, when they are physically and sometimes emotionally not up to it. What is the result of these behaviors? They become stressed out, which increases pain levels, they set off triggers of their pain, and often end up flat on their backs for several days at a time! Asking for help is extremely difficult. I understand, because it is very difficult sometimes to accept help when one is accustomed to being independent and self-sufficient, even when desperately requiring assistance. However, we need to learn to look at the glass as half full. We need to be thankful we have individuals who are willing to help when we are in need of assistance. There is also a lot of denial going on, which needs to be addressed. Then, when the pain becomes unbearable, patients must once again retreat into a quiet area inside of themselves, to attempt to regroup. Friends, family members, and coworkers will simply not understand, or trust what they are being told, and become even more suspicious and confused! I cannot blame this behavior on patients alone, because if this culture of disbelieving individuals who are in dire pain never existed in the first place, patients would feel safe when talking about their pain!

If you suffer from chronic pain, tell physicians and family members how limiting the pain is physically and otherwise, how severe the pain is, how progressive it has become, and how life-changing the pain actually is! Chronic Insomnia, fatigue, depression, lethargy, and moodiness, are telltale signs of a life marred by chronic pain! If one doctor does not listen, by all means go to a different doctor, and continue to do so until you find a doctor who understands your pain, and who wants to do all that can be done to help to alleviate your pain. Retreating into the darkness, the black hole of chronic pain alone, is not going to help! Shout it out if you must! Keep on talking until somebody listens to you! Remember: No retreat, and no surrender! “Pain Patients Shouldn’t Tough It Out!”

 

.

21 comments on “Some Chronic Pain Sufferers Choose To Tough It out

  1. Thanks Paulette, My daughter has begun to suffer from daily migraines. Her pain level is usually about a six. She struggles greatly but tries to “tough it out” because none of the meds seem to work for her (at least not yet). We are new to this so your post is very helpful.

    • Hello Pastor J,

      I’m really sorry to hear that your daughter has begun to suffer from daily migraines. Dealing with a pain level of six daily, is difficult for sure! Perhaps, keeping a journal, and documenting what is happening in her life, at onset of migraines, could help her to determine what triggers them. If that helps, it would be a great idea to try as much as possible to avoid those triggers. Minister Desiray mentioned in her comments, that certain foods trigger her migraines. Perhaps this could be something your daughter could look into, as well. If your daughter wants to talk to someone who suffers from chronic pain, feel free to give her my e-mail address. Or, she could leave a private message for me on my blog in the RSD lifeline widget. I will be praying for her. Thanks for sharing Pastor J. God bless!

    • Hello Pastor J,

      If you do not mind my asking, how has your daughter been feeling, as of late? Is she still suffering from the daily migraines? If so, has she been helped by anything the doctors have done recently? I do know that prayer helps, so I will be praying for. God bless.

  2. Thanks, Minister Paulette.

    My friend has constant episodes with cluster headaches. The effectiveness of the meds seem to decrease as the pain intensifies. It’s hard to watch her live through the pain, so thanks for sharing this. I don’t know whether she has heard it all before, but I hope this will help her in managing the pain.

    Blessings to you. Still praying even as you share.

    In Christ,
    ann

  3. Chronic pain is no joke I use to suffer with migraines so bad that I had to always either go to the ER for shot or my doctor’s office, but I have got to say I did allot of research about migraines and I found out certain foods which I was eating was causing it so I changed how I eat now I watch my level of stress and very rarely do I get them anymore. I know the information you put here will surely help people but often times we have to put our own health in our hands and seek answers not to say that doctors won’t give you what you need but sometimes they can’t sit down and explain everything and so that is what I did take my health into my own hands and for that I thank GOD.

    • Thank you so much Minister Desiray,

      I appreciate the information you shared here. Hopefully this will help those that have commented about having friends and loved ones who also suffer with migraines!

      Like you, I believe firmly in patients taking a proactive approach to their health care. When I finally received a diagnosis, I literally read everything I could get my hands on. It’s my hope, that this article will encourage chronic pain sufferers who sometimes do not disclose fully, the level of pain and discomfort they endure daily, to do so consistently. Not doing so, only causes problems for them later on, because family members, friends, and even physicians will find it more difficult to trust what they say about their chronic pain issues. Again, thank you very much! May the Lord bless you and keep you continually, in His loving care.

  4. Thank you, praising Him in the pain Paulette. As I read the post and then the comments, I understood better what message you wanted us to know. That it will only make it harder to be believed if those with pain don’t tell us about it all along. I want to always listen when someone is in pain and telling me about it . . .to not minimize or make them feel like they are “complaining”. (My mom sometimes doesn’t like to say anything . . .thinks it makes her bad company to say that she just hurts so badly. But we need to know . . .and I want to know! )
    God bless you and the way you always think of helping others, in His name.
    love and prayers for you today, that your voice will be heard and your needs met and your pain relieved.

    • Hi encouraging Debbie,

      I’m glad the comments helped you to better understand the essence of the post. I am connected to a support site, for individuals who suffer from RSD. Time and time again, it breaks my heart when I read stories of new patients being distraught, because of the disbelief of doctors, friends, and family members, when they tell of the pain they experience. Then, when pain becomes so severe that one has to go to the ER, doctors refuse to treat them, because they feel they are just there to get medication for recreational purposes! It is so sad! That’s why I want patients who suffer from chronic pain, to come out of the shadows, and not fear talking about the excruciating pain they suffer from! It’s nothing to be ashamed of, (I can say this now) and I don’t want patients to send mixed messages, which only causes more disbelief, distrust, and confusion.

      I will be praying for your mother, as well as her wonderful daughter! 🙂 May the blessings of our Lord, continue to rest upon your life!

  5. Thank you for sharing this post, I read it earlier but never had the chance to make it back and comment. You made some good points. I have tried so many times to tough it out or pray and hold out to I got finish with Final, made it through so many obstacles, Sometimes I keep the pain to myself, to I can’t bare it anymore. God Bless You for sharing this post. 🙂

    • Hi PJ,

      I’m glad you’re home from the hospital! God is good! There are times during our journeys, when we find ourselves “toughing it out.” However, let’s try not to stay in that place.

      It’s great that you are able to share about your pain on your blog. Let’s continue to pray for each other, that the Lord would lead us and guide us! Rest well. God bless you!

  6. Pingback: An Urgent Requirement For A Built-In Method Of Chronic Pain Management | The Back Pain Shoulder And Neck Pain Blog

  7. Pingback: Breakthrough Technology For Chronic Pain Sufferers | The Carpal Tunnel

  8. Pingback: Why share my struggles & triumphs online? « R.A. Warrior Mom

  9. Pingback: Benefits And Advantages of Yoga Described | The Back Pain Shoulder And Neck Pain Blog

  10. Pingback: Powerful Tips About Reducing And Stopping Back Pain | The Back Pain Shoulder And Neck Pain Blog

Leave a pearl of wisdom

