Four Reasons to Face the New Year without Fear

God’s Word brings us a comforting promise, along with an insightful command as we face a new year: “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, I will not fear what man shall do unto me” (Hebrews 13:5-6).

We can live this coming year without fear if we apply these four incredibly wonderful truths to our lives and root them deep into our hearts.

The Contentment of His Provision

Contentment is not getting what you want, but it is wanting what you already have. 1 Timothy 6:6-8 says, “But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and raiment let us therewith be content.” If you know Jesus Christ, you have contentment. If you’ve got clothes on your back, something to eat, and Jesus Christ in your heart, you’re rich!

Do you know why we have fear? Because we think our needs or the needs of someone we love are not going to be met. Or we fear that the things we think are meeting our needs are going to be taken away from us. The deepest need of your heart can only be met in the Lord Jesus Christ.

The Companionship of His Presence

I don’t know what I’m going to face next year. But there’s one thing I know, He will never leave me. Are you a child of God? He will never leave you either. Isn’t that wonderful!

What’s another reason we may fear in the coming year? Because we’re afraid we’re going to have to face something we don’t understand, and we’re going to have to face it alone.

When God’s Word promises that God will never forsake you, it literally means that He will never abandon you. He will not give up on you. We need to practice the presence of the Lord this coming year. When the devil comes and knocks at you heart’s door, you can simply say, “Jesus, please go answer the door.”

The Confidence of His Promise

We’re going to zero in on a little phrase in our verses in Hebrews, “He hath said.” A promise is no better than the one who makes it. Who says, “I will never leave thee nor forsake thee”? It is the omnipotent, omniscient, omnipresent God. This is the confidence of His promise.

In the coming year, when you say, “God, I just don’t have the strength.” The omnipotent God will answer, “I will never leave thee nor forsake thee.” When you say, “God, I’m afraid of what is going to happen.” The omnipresent God says, “I will never leave thee nor forsake thee.” And when you say, “God, I don’t know what to do.” The omniscient God will respond, “I will never leave thee nor forsake thee.” He himself hath said it.

The Comfort of His Protection

Hebrews 13:6 promises, “So that we may boldly say, the Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.” Now, put that with verse 5, which says, “He hath said.”

Like I said earlier, I don’t know what you’re going to go through this coming year. But I know you can boldly say, “The Lord is my helper, so I will not fear what man shall do to me.” When you find your contentment, companionship, and confidence in Jesus. Then, you’ll find your comfort and courage in Jesus.

Written by: Adrian Rogers/Love Worth Finding
Resource: BibleStudyTools.com

23 comments on “Four Reasons to Face the New Year without Fear

  1. He will never leave me or forsake me. How fitting? Thanks Paulette for a wonderful post to kick off the new year. It is amazing how your fears disappear when you trust God. As Christians, we often tend lean on our own understanding but once we come our senses and solidify our trust in God, we realize how in-signification we are without Him. Thanks for sharing. God bless

  2. Dearest Paulette,
    Thank you for this wonderful post…many blessings for you in the New Year.
    Hope your holiday pain level is not too high; mine kicked in to overdrive, so
    I am having nerve blocks tomorrow. Very exciting way to start the New Year!
    Bee well, my friend. (p.s. Although I cannot blog every day, I think of you often.)

    • Hi Barbee,

      Thanks for stopping by today. Many blessings for you in 2012, as well! I have been in a severely debilitating and painful flare, since just before Christmas day. Thankfully, the symptoms are finally starting to subside. I hope the nerve blocks will help to ease your pain.

      Barbee, I think of you too. Let’s continue to pray for each other. God is able! Take care! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Great thoughts any time but very timely at the start of a new year. I don’t make resolutions but I do have a “verse for the year” this year it is Joshua 1:9. Fits right in with your thoughts.

    Looking forward to the new year with your blog.

    • Joshua 1:9 “Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest!” Amen, Amen! Thank you for sharing your verse for the year with us! It is such a comfort to know, that the LORD our God is with us, wherever we may go!

      My heart has truly been encouraged by your comment. God bless!

  4. “The deepest need of your heart can only be met in the Lord Jesus Christ.” Praying that I go fearlessly into 2012, knowing all by needs are already met in Him. Thank you so much, praising Him Paulette. I find this more helpful than the goal setting and resolution advice. ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you and your heart of worship for Him.

    • Hi encouraging Debbie,

      Amen! So, so true! Your comment was beautifully stated, and filled with wisdom. As always, I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us! ๐Ÿ™‚

      May the Lord bless you and keep you as you enter 2012, knowing all your needs are already met through Christ Jesus!

  5. Wow…

    “In the coming year, when you say, โ€œGod, I just donโ€™t have the strength.โ€ The omnipotent God will answer, โ€œI will never leave thee nor forsake thee.โ€ When you say, โ€œGod, Iโ€™m afraid of what is going to happen.โ€ The omnipresent God says, โ€œI will never leave thee nor forsake thee.โ€ And when you say, โ€œGod, I donโ€™t know what to do.โ€ The omniscient God will respond, โ€œI will never leave thee nor forsake thee.โ€ He himself hath said it.”

    Thank you Minister Paulette…. I am speechless. The year has barely started and already, God has speaking to me through my blogging friends. I have been waiting for the manifestation of a promise and there are days I don’t want to wait to anymore. The reminders have been swift and sure : He WILL do what He says.

    God bless, you Minister. Thanks again for your ministry to me.

    Happy 2012!

    Blessings,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      All glory and praise to the King of Kings, and the Lord of lords! Aren’t you glad we serve a God who loves us unconditionally? It’s awesome the way He manifests His love toward us!

      May the blessings of Almighty God overtake you in 2012! Thank and praise Him in advance! Do you have your tambourine ready? ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Paulette, this is such a beautiful way to still all our fears that we may have for the unknown that sometimes inevitably comes with the dawn of a New Year. Thanks for the post! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Ula,

      Thanks so much! I’m so glad we are able to stand on the promises of Jesus. He promised never to leave us, nor forsake us, so we can rest in Him, knowing He is Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end! Praise God!

      Thanks for stopping by today! May the Lord bless you in 2012, and beyond!

  7. I love that last statement: “When you find your contentment, companionship, and confidence in Jesus. Then, youโ€™ll find your comfort and courage in Jesus.” I am reminded of Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart”. We so often skip over the first part of that verse to get to the second, yet it’s the first part that unlocks the truth of the verse.

    • Hello Matthew,

      I really like the Scripture you added here, and your statement after the Scripture. So true! Thank you so much for stopping by, and commenting! May the Lord bless you and keep you in His loving care!

      Paulette

  8. Paulette, so much truth here – truth we know, but tend to “forget” when we take our focus off the Lord.
    When we have His Provision, His Presence, His Promise and His Protection – and His Peace, and His Power – and so much more – what else do we need? Nothing! He is sufficient. He is able. He DESIRES to be our all. If I don’t look to Him and allow Him to undertake for me, the fault is mine, not His.

    What an awesome God!

    • Hi Angela,

      Amen, and Amen! Your comment is a perfect summarization of the essence of the article! “What else do we need?” Absolutely nothing! God bless you! God is truly an awesome God!

  9. Wow, what a blessing! I am really glad to have found your site. Thank you for posting this Paulette!

    The Lord has identified for me several areas in my life where my dependence is on the flesh and the world for solutions to problems, so my prayer for the coming year is to learn how to place my dependence in Him and not and no longer rely on my own solutions which are always inadequate anyway.

    • Hello John,

      Welcome to “A Place of Worship.” Sometimes, handing over the reins of our lives is difficult to do. We are left feeling vulnerable and insecure. The Scripture that comes to mind is, “Trust in the LORD with all thIne heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths. As you seek the face of the Lord, I’m sure He will lead you in the way you should go, according to His perfect will for your life. God bless you. Thanks so much for stopping by today! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

