Thankful Living

Giving thanks and praises unto God is so easy to do when everything is coming up roses in one’s life! Praises just flow out of you, like a beautiful waterfall cascading down weather beaten rocks. There’s a smile on your face, pep in your step, and everything is “all good.” Sounds a lot like Thankful Living right? Well, not exactly. You see, Thankful Living is also about giving thanks and praises unto God, even when everything isn’t coming up roses. Sometimes, everything just isn’t “all good.” There is often a misconception, or preconceived notion of how life is going to be after one surrenders their life to Jesus, and is born again, a new creation in Christ Jesus. It is often believed that we will go through life on a flowery bed of ease. What examples did Jesus leave in the Scriptures on this subject?

1.To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in His steps. “He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in His mouth.” When they hurled their insults at Him, He did not retaliate; when He suffered, He made no threats. Instead, He entrusted Himself to him who judges justly. (I Peter 2:21-22 NIV) 2. Therefore, since Christ suffered in His body, arm yourselves also with the same attitude, because he who has suffered in his body is done with sin. As a result, he does not live the rest of his earthly life for evil human desires, but rather for the will of God. (I Peter 4:1-2 NIV) 3. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider Him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. (Hebrews 12:2-3 NIV)

I am usually not very forthcoming when it comes to sharing about the emotional roller coaster that has become a fixture in my life. Pain, depression, and emotional mayhem are my constant companions. Though uninvited, they are always present. Each day seems to bring a different hurdle to be cleared! Often, there are tears streaming down like a drenching rain. Somehow, someway, through it all, I render heartfelt praises of Thanksgiving and Worship to my God! Thankful Living in the midst of the pain, the struggles, and the emotional upheavals are what get me through the storms of life! What about you? It’s believing God, standing firmly on His promises, and praising Him in spite of the the pain in my body. I know I’m not the only one who is going through something. I’m not the only one who is enduring pain, heartache, depression, and the like. If Jesus Christ, the Son of the living God suffered in the flesh, what about us? When I think about all Jesus suffered and endured for our sakes, even when I’m going through, and I just don’t understand it all, I have a praise down in the city of my soul! A praise that carries me through the difficult times. Praise God! But He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon Him, and by His wounds we are healed. (Isaiah 53:5 NIV) Jesus suffered and endured the cross, for the joy that was set before Him! Are you willing to take up your cross and follow Him? I will close with this Scripture: And the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will Himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. (I Peter 5:10 NIV) May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

9 comments on “Thankful Living

  1. Hi Paulette
    Even before I saw the song,that thought came to my mind,for surely “I Never Would Have Made It”!! If the Lord had not been on my side,where would I be. But God is not only on my side but He lives in me “Hallelujah”! The joy and peace that comes from God can take us through any thing,of course at the time of fiery trials we sometimes forget to whom we belong. But the Holy Spirit will remind us! Wonderful post of pain,struggle,depression and victory in Christ Jesus.I totally enjoyed the read.
    Love you much Twin πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    • Hi Pat,

      Amen! I truly don’t know where I would be, and how I would handle all I go through, had it not been for the Lord who was on my side! That’s why I just can’t help myself. I’ve got to praise Him! I love being in His presence, and in order to be there, I must praise Him, because He dwells in the midst of praise! He inhabits our praise! Oh bless His mighty name! Yes, sometimes it gets difficult to praise God when I’m going through depression, but before too long, Here comes my Jesus stepping right in! You stirred something in my soul, and I feel like praising Him!

      God bless you, my sister! Love you too!

  2. Hi Paulette, nothing gives more glory to God than when we can sing his praises in the the midst of our pain and struggles. Look how much God was able to do for Paul and Silas when they were severely beaten and thrown in prison. Instead of crying or complaining, Paul and Silas both began singing praise to God. As we found out, God sent an earthquake that released them from their shackles and the prison doors flew open. The Jailer was humbled by Paul and because of all he saw, he and his family became believers. That is what God can do with the faith of one person who can give thanks to God no matter how bad things are in their lives.

    God bless you, my sister!

    • Hi Marianne,

      Thank you so much for stopping by, and sharing this message with us! The passage of Scripture that tells of the experience had by Paul and Silas when imprisoned, is one of my favorites! Thank you so much for adding it here! We never know who is looking at us, and watching the way we respond to the trials and tribulations we face, on this Christian journey.

      It always does my heart good, to see you here. I will be visiting your blog soon! May the Lord bless you, and keep you in His loving care!

      Paulette

  3. Minister Paulette.
    “If Jesus Christ, the Son of the living God suffered in the flesh, what about us?”
    Thank you for sharing! If He went through it, He will take me through it. I have to believe! Praising in the pain ain’t easy, sister, but that’s the way out. We have to pray through!

    I bought into the myth that Salvation meant freedom from the issues of life. I humbly submit that I seem to have more problems now than before I started walking with Him. πŸ™‚

    Today was an absolutely wonderful day in His presence. I will be sharing on it in the morning. I hope you can wait until tomorrow πŸ˜‰

    Thanks again for sharing πŸ™‚

    Blessings,
    ann

    Here’s my all-time favourite group. I imagine Daddy singing this song over me: The Winans – When you cry.

    • Hi Ann,

      This message was truly a blessing to me! “If He went through it, He will take me through it.” So true. Love this!

      A broad smile came across my face, as I read about the wonderful experience you had in His presence. I’m looking forward to reading about it! You are such a tease! πŸ™‚

      I have played this song over and over again tonight. What a blessing. I have always loved the Winans! Thanks so much for adding the video to the comment stream!

      God bless!

  4. You have such a precious and powerful testimony and ministry . . .this praising in the pain, Paulette. I don’t have the words but can sense it deep within me. And want to join you! It’s contagious. The way you describe the extent of what you suffer, the roller coaster affect, and yet He gives you a praise down in the city of your soul. . .that is a special gift, a special grace.
    I’m reading in 2 Corinthians and thought of you in this . . .”working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory . . .” I believe He is working His glory out in your life.
    God bless you and tenderly minister to you today!

    • Hello Debbie,

      Wow! When I saw your comment come in, and I began to read it, the presence of the Lord washed over me again. I had already been basking in His presence, and your comment resonated with me so deeply! Particularly, when I read the Scripture you mentioned from II Corinthians, oh the tears came pouring out again! Another one of my favorite Scriptures! It just touched me in such a profound way tonight, and my soul was blessed! I tell you, I had an awesome time in His presence this evening! Like Ann said in her post, if I could build a tabernacle to live in His presence, I would. However, I am so glad that I am the temple that He dwells in! When you are in His presence in such a way, you just don’t want to leave there!

      Thank you so much encouraging Debbie! You have such a sweet, sweet spirit. You are right about the anointing and presence of God being contagious! May the Lord pour out His Spirit upon you, that you might continually dwell in His presence!

      Love,

      Paulette

  5. Pingback: Face To Face « It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a pearl of wisdom

