RSD Awareness Month

Although not recognized by every state in the United States of America, November is considered RSD Awareness Month, in many states and other countries worldwide. Therefore, I would like to begin this article by discussing the lack of awareness of this syndrome, by patients and physicians alike. It is quite a sad commentary when going to a doctor’s office, an emergency room, or some other type of medical facility to receive help because one is experiencing extraordinary pain, as well as other extraordinary symptoms, and patients are often looked upon as not being truthful about their pain levels, or as simply seeking a way to obtain drugs for recreational purposes. It is a known fact, that when individuals are in medical school, very little time and attention is placed upon the treatment of chronic pain, or chronically painful disorders! Why is this the norm? Research has now shown that chronic pain is an illness or disease, in and of itself. It is not just a symptom of some other illness. It is an illness that needs to be taken seriously, and addressed properly by the medical community! It’s time to stand together as a united front, to bring about awareness of this chronically painful, disabling, debilitating, and life changing syndrome! That means physicians, patients, family members and friends alike, standing together to do whatever they can do, to help to bring this syndrome to the forefront of medical research. Below, I will list facts and statistics that explain the dire need for awareness to be brought about NOW. Thanks for reading this article. God bless!

  • Although complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS) was first described in Civil War veterans more than 140 years ago, it remains a poorly understood and sometimes undiagnosed disorder that may affect millions of people in the United States alone.

  • Although the actual prevalence is unknown, CRPS is not a rare disorder. According to the Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy Syndrome Association of America (RSDSA), CRPS may affect millions of people in the United States. Unfortunately, because symptoms vary so widely many people are not quickly diagnosed with CRPS.

  • Medical science has not yet determined the real cause or causes of CRPS, but a number of precipitating factors are linked to the onset of CRPS.  Most cases of CRPS begin after mild to severe trauma such as any injury, illness or procedure.
  • Treatment of CRPS requires a team approach – you, your healthcare providers, and others involved in your care. You may need a combination of treatments. These may include medication, nerve blocks, physical and occupational therapy, psychotherapy, spiritual counseling, and biofeedback. You may need more controversial and unproven interventional treatments such as permanent nerve blocks, or external or implantable pain-relief devices.

  • The long-term outcome of CRPS is usually better if it is diagnosed and treated at an early stage. 

Resource: Facts and Statistics

9 comments on “RSD Awareness Month

    • Hi Sam,

      Thank you. It’s always nice to hear from you. If you submit an entry to your local paper, I would love to share it on site, or you could just send a copy to me if that’s okay with you. Also, I would have no problem with you sharing the post, at your own discretion. You have also given me an idea of how else I could share this article. I will definitely share it on the RSD support site that I am a member of. I’ll be praying for you, that the Lord would touch your body, and I solicit your prayers.

      God bless you,

      Paulette

  1. Thank you, Minister

    This is how we learn. Thank you for educating us. Before I met you, I had no idea such a condition existed. Thanks for making me aware of how I can pray and how I can contribute towards research to helping others manage this illness.

    Still trusting and believing,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      Thank you so much for your support, your friendship, and most of all for your prayers. I experienced some very frightening symptoms, long before I had any idea what was wrong with me. To date, I have never had anyone in my life, who had ever heard of this syndrome, prior to my being diagnosed. Reading over material yesterday, and thinking on things, caused me to become a bit depressed, but I thank God for prayer warriors like you, who are still trusting and believing with me. I truly appreciate it, Ann.

      I know you have been very busy with projects of late, and I thank you very much for continuing to take the time to come by to leave a word of encouragement! Me on the other hand, I’ve been a little bit lax in getting around to my favorite blogs, but I have been struggling a lot recently, going in and out of flare ups that leave me quite debilitated and dysfunctional. So hopefully I will be able to catch up soon. Have a blessed week, and I will keep you in my prayers as well!

  2. Praising Him Paulette, thank you for bringing us such valuable information. I can’t imagine even going through this, but how much worse to not be believed or receive the right medical care. It breaks my heart but also brings me to prayer, for you and all those who suffer. God bless you and encourage you as you raise awareness today!

    • Hi Debbie,

      There are times when I do grow weary from all of the suffering! Just when I think I am at the end of my rope, here comes my Jesus stepping right in! Then of course, God has blessed me with wonderful people like yourself, Ann, and Pat, who are always there for me, and encouraging me when I need it. For that I’m grateful!

      Thank you for your prayers, Debbie! I hope your mother is managing to keep her pain to a minimum. God bless you and yours.

    • Hello Audrey,

      I’m sorry to learn you were diagnosed with RSD today. I hope you found the information on this blog to be helpful. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me. If you would prefer to contact me via e-mail, please let me know. I care, and I will try to help you in any way possible. God bless.

      Paulette

  3. I was diagnosed with rsd in 2005 , my right foot , from a accident at work. I went through physical therapy. I have been on ssd . , I have not worked since 2006. I have had flare ups when my ankle would give out. For a couple of days I would prop up my ankle and use a heating pad .i take nerotin 600 mg x4 a day. I also have L4 and L5 discs that are bulging and I have my nerve pinched in my lower back.i take narco 7.5 x4 a day for pain , I also take Prozac for depression.
    Just last month I had a flare up from my lower back , and pinched nerve. It was the first time that my rsd flared up from my back getting hurt. I get the burning and the electric hot sharp pains. At times I describe the pain in my lower leg as . It feels like someone is using a knife and cutting up my shine bone. I can not handle even the ceiling fan being on, I can not let my leg touch anything. I have to lay in bed with my arm under my knee holding my leg up. Know my rsd is up to my hip, the coldness is so extreme . It is as if my leg was dead cold.i have mussel spasms , and my foot swells. My ankle gets stiff were it is hard to bend and hard to walk.the pain is so deep in my bones, and joints. I am 44 years old , and I am in bed mostly. It is hard to think about how bad it will be as I get older. At times I am so desperate I go in to the ER . They give me a shot of moriphine . And even that does not take the burning pain away.
    I am going on a month now that my rsd is flaring still.i get so tired of hurting . I pray that others with rsd , does not have this pain like I do.

Leave a pearl of wisdom

