Suffering As a Christian

Suffering can be defined as misery resulting from affliction; feelings of mental or physical pain; psychological suffering, or states of acute pain. Suffering is also defined as distress, inconvenience or loss; torment and agony. Some pose the question “Why would a loving, compassionate, and merciful God allow so much suffering in this world?” Others further question why the Lord would allow Christians to suffer. On many occasions Christians have to withstand being placed under a microscope of scrutiny by society in general, and even the body of Christ. Some are very quick to be contentious, or quick to criticize in a judgmental way. Questions such as, “Did you sin?”, “Is God punishing you?”, “Are you trusting God enough?”, and “Why isn’t God answering your prayers?”, are asked of individuals who are already suffering miserably, and in pain, whether physically, financially, emotionally, psychologically, or in some other way.

The 9th chapter of the book of John tells of the man blind from birth. The young man was known of his neighbors to sit and beg. When Jesus and His disciples passed by where the man was, the disciples asked Jesus, “Master, who did sin, this man, or his parents, that he was born blind? Jesus answered, Neither hath this man sinned, nor his parents: but that the works of God should be made manifest in him. When He had thus spoken, He spat on the ground, and made clay of the spittle, and He anointed the eyes of the blind man with the clay, And said unto him, Go, wash in the pool of  Siloam, (which is by interpretation, Sent.) He went his way therefore, and washed, and came seeing.” Yes, sometimes when we suffer, we suffer because we bring things upon ourselves, but God also uses suffering to manifest His works in the earth. God uses suffering to work a work in our lives, and that we might bring glory and honor unto Him! Sometimes, our circumstances don’t change, but the change occurs within us!

Christians who suffer, are often embarrassed needlessly. We are not our own, but we have been bought with a price. We can’t hurry God. Sometimes we just have to wait on Him, no matter how long He takes. God is Sovereign, and He is in control of our lives. I Peter 4:16 says, “Yet if any man suffer as a Christian, let him not be ashamed; but let him glorify God on this behalf.” The 12th chapter of II Corinthians tells of Christ’s strength being made perfect in our weakness. Paul was given a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet him. He besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from him. However, God’s response was, “My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.” Paul decided he would rather glory in his infirmities, that the power of Christ would rest upon him. He took pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake, because he knew that when he was weak, he was strong through the strength of the Lord Jesus. So, hold on to God’s unchanging hands. Though we suffer with Christ, we shall also reign with Him. Therefore, let us glorify God through our suffering. Jesus will bring us through, and that with a mighty hand. If you are suffering, wait on the Lord, and be of good courage. Allow the Lord to strengthen your heart. Some of the lyrics of a song by Tre’ Nelson titled, “Bad Days” are “When you’re above the clouds someone needs to see you. And when you’ve hit the ground someone there will need you. Everyone feels pain. Sometimes it’s for somebody else to see that you’ll make it through, and they’ll be inspired by you. Praise Him while He takes His child through tests and trials.” Allow the Lord to get the glory out of your life. Wait on Him. Persevere! Be very courageous! Jesus will bring you through. May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

Read: John 9:1-27; II Corinthians 12:1-10; I Peter 4:12-19

20 comments on “Suffering As a Christian

    • God bless you Pat,

      The Bible tells us to “count it all joy.” Yes, that is difficult at times, but I’m so glad He will not put any more on me than I can bear, though I feel weighted down at times, I have to trust God and take Him at His word! Praise God!

      Thanks for your encouragement. It is always appreciated! 🙂 🙂

  1. You can’t purify gold without fire. You can’t reign with Christ unless you suffer with him. You can’t have resurrection life power unless you die daily. None of these are pleasant, but all necessary.

    • Welcome, Newgenesis Resurrection Ministries!

      I’m so glad you stopped by today. Thank you for leaving such a powerful message. It’s wonderful to know that after we come through the refiner’s fire, we will come forth as pure gold. Praise God! “Yes, not pleasant, but necessary.”

      I visited your site, and I look forward to visiting again soon. http://newgenesisres.wordpress.com/ God bless you!

      Paulette

  2. Thank you kindly, Minister 🙂

    “Christians who suffer, are often embarrassed needlessly. ”
    I could make a nest right here and write many books and sermons on this… I do not say this lightly… It hurts. God knows it, but I choose to let Him be lord of my circumstances (as painful as they are!)

    Thank you for ministering His words to me tonight. The sufferings of this present world will truly not compare to what He has in store for us. And while we wait here and live through it, we have His promise that He will never leave, nor forsake us. I shall not be overwhelmed.

    God bless you. Do keep being His voice in this age.

    Blessings much,
    ann

    • Thank you Ann,

      Pat shared with me about Christians suffering in silence, for fear of what other Christians will say and I add, even think about them! I certainly agree, that we are supposed to be walking in love, and not in judgment of others! I do appreciate you sharing about your own personal experiences with this issue!

      I give God praise and glory, that those few words were used to minister to you! Praise God we are still standing, because we are standing on a solid foundation, the promises of God!

      May the Lord ever comfort your dear heart today, and every day!

      • Amen once again my dear Twin!! “Hallelujah” for we are surely “Standing on A Sure Foundation”!! Jesus Christ the “Solid Rock”!! When I think about all he’s done for me and all he’s kept me from, surely my soul cries out “Hallelujah”! Thank you Jesus. Paulette your friendship means more than you will know now,but as we meet someday face to face we will.
        Love you 😀 😀

        • Pat,

          I just wanted you to know, that I was truly blessed by your comment! You touched my heart in a special way. It means so much to know that the stone the builders rejected is the Chief Cornerstone, and we are STANDING ON THAT ROCK, a sure foundation, Jesus Christ!

          Thanks Pat. I truly appreciate the support and friendship we share! It’s great that all of us can encourage one another, to stand, having done all TO STAND!

          Love you back!

  3. Thank you so much for ministering to us, our Praising-Him-Paulette! Loved the song and the message, to not be embarrassed by our afflictions and sufferings. It doesn’t mean that we are outside of His will for us, but just being used in a different way. ( like changing the term disabled to differently-abled) You have strengthened me tonight and brought me renewed joy! 🙂
    God bless you as you shine and share Him, even through the trials!

    • A beautiful summation Debbie! Thank you very much! I’m glad you enjoyed the song.

      I have come a long ways. Initially when I became ill, I didn’t want to leave the house for fear of someone seeing me and staring. Outside of my close family members, I really don’t remember even discussing the syndrome. To be sharing on this blog about RSD, is a huge step for me! Thank you Jesus! I love what you said about changing the term disabled. Beautiful! You too, have strengthened me! For that, I thank you.

      God bless you, as you continue to encourage His people today! 🙂

  4. Amen! I thought about two scriptures, the first James 1:2-4 which reads, “2 Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3 because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4 Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything” Then I considered Romans 5:3-5 which states, “3 Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4 perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5 And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” Everything God does and/or allows has purpose! I can hear my wife singing right now “He meant it for my good…” For those of us who truly love Him, and are the called according to His purpose, even the suffering that we bring upon ourselves He is able to use it for His glory! I am a witness!

    • Hi Tim
      I’m Paulette’s dear friend and I just wanted you to know I was blessed by your comment and the singing your wife does.
      Love you brother 😀

      • Pat:

        Thank you for the encouragement. Paulette’s writing is SO inspirational that it just pulls things out of me. It is beautiful to read God-inspired writing and it is undeniable that this blog is just that!

        I love you as well my dear sister!

        God bless

    • Amen Tim,

      Wonderful message! Thank you for sharing those scriptures! I believe most Christians, and people in general, can relate to having been blessed by receiving God’s grace and mercy after bringing some suffering upon ourselves! I know I can! He is just that kind of God! We are blessed, and God is glorified! Thank you Lord!

      Tim, just a few days ago Gerry and I were talking about the song “He Meant It for My Good”, and how the anointing fell during a function, when your wife sang that song. (BTW, tell her I said, “Praise the Lord.”) I couldn’t help but smile, after I read that part of your comment. 🙂 Since you began visiting the site, you have been nothing other than a blessing unto me, and all who read your comments, and for that I thank you nephew! Continue to go higher and higher in the Lord, as I know you will! I’m just sitting here smiling, LOL!

      Love you,

      Paulette

  5. Thanks for the post Paulette! John 9 is one of my favourite chapters in the Bible. The disciples saw the man and immediately looked for someone to blame for his suffering. “Was it his fault or his parents’ fault?” But, gently Jesus pointed them to what they really should be looking at. The man’s misery is not to be seen as a specimen to inspect under a microscope, but an opportunity for God to be glorified! It helps me to remember this when I go through hard times myself and it also helps me when I look at the suffering of others. God bless you! I loved this post.

    • Amen, Ula! Our God is so merciful and kind! As you said, “But, gently Jesus pointed them to what they really should be looking at.” This was an opportunity for the works of the Lord to be made manifest in the earth! Praise God! This Scripture provides encouragement to those who are suffering. We should always respond with love and compassion, to the suffering of others!

      I was encouraged by your words of wisdom! Thank you so much for visiting today, and commenting! May the Lord richly bless you, today and every day!

      Paulette

  6. Thank you for the visit! Yes I agree, Christians go through things but it is a learning/growing process. God will do what He will do IN HIS TIME! Being a Christian comes with trials and issues but there is also victory and blessings and through it all God gets the glory!
    Be Blessed!
    Regina

    • Hi Regina,

      Amen! Thanks so much for this encouraging message. “God will do what He will do IN HIS TIME!” So, so true! We must learn how to simply wait on the Lord, and be of good courage. He will strengthen our hearts! And through it all, God WILL get the glory! Praise God!

      Thanks for stopping by, and commenting. May the blessings of the Lord rest upon your life!

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

