Worship and Praise Music

Worship and praise music ushers us into the presence of Almighty God! It sets the atmosphere for heartfelt  worship and praise. The response is one of love, admiration, adoration, and glorification. Tears streaming down one’s face, bowing in the presence of a Holy and Righteous God, laying prostrate before Him, clasped hands, and hands up raised in reverence to Him, are outward expressions of the inward experience of worship and praise. We begin to give God the fruit of our lips, giving thanks unto His name. We begin to speak well of Him. As we listen to, and sing songs of worship and praise, an inward transformation of the heart and soul occurs. Worship and praise music takes us into a new dimension of worship. The anointing of the Holy Spirit falls upon us, and we are taken from glory to glory! I like to have worship and praise music playing softly in the background, when going before the throne of grace. It helps to block out other things that may be going on around me, which could be a distraction. The lyrics cause me to think on the goodness of  Jesus, as I begin to give thanks with a grateful heart, and to worship Him in spirit and in truth, because of who He is! Worship and praise music is not sung or played exclusively within the confines of a Sanctuary on Sunday mornings. Psalm 34:1 says, “I will bless the Lord at all times: His praise shall continually be in my mouth.”  

“It is a good thing to give thanks unto the LORD, and to sing praises unto thy name, O most High: To show forth thy lovingkindness in the morning, and thy faithfulness every night, Upon an instrument of 10 strings, and upon the psaltery; upon the harp with a solemn sound.” (Psalm 92:1-3) “Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.” (Ephesians 5:19)

The enemy of our souls is a cunning adversary. It behooves us to keep our minds stayed and centered upon the Lord. Let us leave no place for the enemy. While driving in your cars, saturate the atmosphere with praise and worship music. Sing a song or listen to music that glorifies God when you are doing your housework or your morning exercise. Whisper or hum a tune along the way during your day. Take a song of worship and praise, a hymn, or a spiritual song with you, everywhere you go. Share one of your favorite songs here. May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day! 

21 comments on “Worship and Praise Music

  1. A-men Paulette! I so agree as the PSalmist says “From the lips of infants and children Thou hast ordained praise to silence the foe and the avenger!” Psalm 8

  2. Amen echo, Minister Paulette 🙂

    I woke up this morning with The Gaither Vocal Band -“I Then Shall Live” on my heart. I have been playing it non-stop 🙂 A heart that understands the love of The Eternal God cannot help but sing His praises!!

    Blessings to you as you live out your praise and worship!

    Praising,
    ann

    • ” A heart that understands the love of The Eternal God cannot help but sing His praises!!” Thank you so much Ann! I love the way you phrased that! Beautiful! Thank you for sharing the song today! It ushered me right into His presence, praise the Lord! Hallelujah! Right now, there is a praise in my heart, and on my lips for the Lord most High!

      Glory, glory!

      Paulette

  3. It is well with my soul,it is well with my soul “Hallelujah”!! It is well to give God praise as often as we think of Him Amen. “Wonderful post Paulette”!! Love your new look 😀 😀
    Love ya

    • Hi Pat,

      Beautiful song! I thought of the Scripture that says, “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.” Praise God! Thank you so much for sharing. Also, thanks for the compliment on the new color scheme.

      I’m so glad you are feeling better! Our God is an awesome God! Yes He is!

      Love you back. 🙂

  4. Hey auntie! So you KNOW I had to chime in on this one! As I read this message I could not help but wonder how many Praise & Worship leaders understand their AWESOME responsibility and take it seriously. As a worship leader, I consider it an honor to stand before God’s people every week and usher them into His presence. Of course this means that I must know how to enter His presence myself. This is not a position that is based on talent and/or ability, but rather a heart and spirit that is truly interested in glorifying God and edifying the body of Christ. It is not a position of glamor, fame, or notoriety, and those who seek these carnal “rewards” are ineffective in what they are truly supposed to be doing. Also, as you stated, this is not a practice that is relegated to the sanctuary, nor should it begin in the sanctuary! We come together to do corporately what we have already done individually. Everyday is a day of thanksgiving, and we who know Him have cause to praise and worship Him on a daily basis. I LOVE to bask in His presence. To feel the warmth of His embrace and the refreshing wind of His movement. God is SO awesome and I think often of 2 Chronicles 5:2 All the Levites who were musicians–Asaph, Heman, Jeduthun and their sons and relatives–stood on the east side of the altar, dressed in fine linen and playing cymbals, harps and lyres. They were accompanied by 120 priests sounding trumpets. 13 The trumpeters and singers joined in unison, as with one voice, to give praise and thanks to the LORD. Accompanied by trumpets, cymbals and other instruments, they raised their voices in praise to the LORD and sang: “He is good; his love endures forever.” Then the temple of the LORD was filled with a cloud, 14 and the priests could not perform their service because of the cloud, for the glory of the LORD filled the temple of God. (NIV) This passage paints such a glorious picture of the presence of the Lord invoked by anointed musicians and singers!

    • Hi nephew!

      I thoroughly enjoyed your comment! I definitely agree, that those who have been anointed to operate in this office should not take it lightly! When the musicians and singers are anointed, not simply gifted or talented, it is the anointing on their lives that makes the difference in their ministry.

      I’m going to add a link to a different article which I posted a while ago, titled “Praise and Worship.” Crystal posted a beautiful comment, that I unfortunately deleted when I revamped the post. I tried to retrieve it, but was unable to. I hope you’ll enjoy the other article. Your comment also ties in beautifully with it. It’s always great to hear from you, nephew! You brought a smile to my face today! May the Lord bless you, and keep you and yours in His loving care!

      https://pbus1.wordpress.com/2011/07/10/praise-and-worship-2/

      Auntie

    • Hi WATW,

      Thank you for stopping by, and commenting! I am passionate about Praise and Worship. It is what is helping me to get through this difficult time in my life!

      God bless!

      Paulette

  5. Dear Praising and worshiping Paulette . . .thank you! I appreciated how you showed us that praise and worship protects us from the enemy. Praise and worship music is all I really want to listen to, music wise. 🙂 You are such a blessing and help to us, as you worship Him!
    Here’s a song that I have been singing lately . . . God bless you and your heart of worship for Him!

    • Hi Debbie,

      Thank you for such an uplifting comment! Recently, I have been struggling a lot physically and emotionally, and the two are definitely linked. It’s a cause-and-effect type of connection. Truly, my hope is in the Lord, all day long. I’m so glad to have a place of refuge in the presence of the Lord! Praise and worship music helps me to arrive there! Thank you so much for sharing the beautiful song with us!

      God bless you, my friend!

      Paulette

  6. Hi pbus1, this is my first time on your blog and I’m so blessed. I’m so glad you’ve yielded your heart to God’s will. Your work for God is blessing thousands worldwide. thank you

    • Hello Watchman,

      Welcome! Thank you so much for stopping by. It blesses my heart, to know you were blessed by something you read here! Your words of encouragement are appreciated, more than you know.

      I enjoyed my visit to your site. I truly felt the presence of the Lord while there! You are a blessing to the body of Christ! I hope this won’t be your last visit here, and I will definitely be visiting you again soon! May the Lord continue to richly bless you, and keep you in His loving care!

      Paulette

  7. Great message, Paulette! I can’t tell you how many times, when I am stressed and overwhelmed, how it helps me to just start singing of the power of Christ to help me. I usually just make up the words as I go along and the truth of what I am singing just resonates in my heart. I think that somehow sends the enemy fleeing! Nothing pleases God more than to hear one of his weary saints singing praises to him in the midst of their pain.

    • Hello Marianne,

      Your comment was truly a blessing! “I think that somehow sends the enemy fleeing!” It’s wonderful to have the weapons of worship and praise in our arsenals. When we are stressed, and our hearts are overwhelmed, I believe we confuse the enemy of our souls, because we respond with worship and praise, when we are under pressure and being attacked on every side! Also as you said, it pleases the Lord when we sing praises to Him in the midst of our pain! Praise God!

      I’m always happy to hear from you, because I know your message is going to be up lifting and encouraging! I’m glad the Lord allowed our paths to cross, my friend! I look forward to hearing what the Lord has to say through you, in your next post! God bless!

  8. Pingback: THE POWER OF PRAISE AND WORSHIP | bummyla

  9. Pingback: Worship Is Sacrifical | bummyla

  10. Pingback: Sing a New Song 122211 « Mennonite Preacher

Leave a pearl of wisdom

