Change Your Mind

            Chameleon panther-chameleon-3_1

            panther-chameleon-1_1 400px-Veiled_Chameleon

Chameleons are small slow moving lizards with a prehensile tail (capable of grasping), long extensible tongue, protruding eyes that rotate independently, and a highly developed ability to change color. The ability to change colors was always thought to be for the purpose of camouflage, or to blend into its environment as a means of safety from predators. However, scientists have now determined this adaptation did not occur primarily for that reason. Scientists believe the principal reason for this adaptation is to communicate with other chameleons. The various changes of colors are said to indicate mood  such as anger, a mating signal, or when chameleons find themselves in conflict with predators, as well as adjusting to temperature and light changes. Now you may be asking yourself, “What does this have to do with Changing Your Mind?”

The Bible speaks of sects known as the scribes and Pharisees. The Pharisees were a group of extremely devout Jews who were intent on being obedient to the laws of Moses. However, they were known to talk the talk, but they did not walk the walk! They were sanctimonious and self-righteous! They had a form of godliness, but denied the power thereof! They had an outward appearance of holiness, but inwardly they were as filthy sepulchres. Figuratively speaking, it seemed they were able to “change their colors” at will; at one moment, representing holiness, but the next moment, very self-serving and hypocritical! In our times, many profess to be “born again”, “saved”, and “filled with the Holy Spirit.” Professing salvation, because of having shook the preacher’s hand, and reciting the “sinner’s” prayer without an inward transformation of the heart, is not what the Lord requires of us. There must be a change of mind, a complete turning away from sin. Like chameleons, “changing colors” is not acceptable in God’s sight! We are not to live one life on Sunday mornings, and a totally different lifestyle every other day of the week! Matthew 15:8 says, “This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me. But in vain do they worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men.”

When Christ looks at us, He wants to see Himself! Philippians 2:5 tells us to, “Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus.” In this chapter, we are admonished to be Christ  “like-minded”, or to think the way Christ thinks. We are to lose our minds, and gain the mind of Christ! Our thoughts should no longer be “our” thoughts, but His. We are to lean not upon our own understanding, but to acknowledge Him in all our ways, that He might direct our paths! Jesus was the epitome of humility. He was fully God and fully man, yet He made Himself of no reputation and took upon Himself the form of a servant. Not only was He humble in life, but He humbled Himself and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross! When Christ’s mind has been “implanted” in us, God’s Word tells us to, “Be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” We are to walk and talk like Jesus. We are to  strive to be like Jesus! We are to reckon ourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord. Sin must no longer reign in our mortal bodies, that we should obey it in the lusts thereof! We are to reflect Jesus in everything we do and say! We must be holy, because Jesus Christ is holy! We are able to live a lifestyle of holiness, because of the grace of Almighty God. We must live a Spirit filled life. We must walk after the Spirit, and not after the things of the flesh. Our minds must change! Have you been born again of the water, and of the Spirit? Come to Jesus right now. He will save you! “But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, to fulfill the lusts thereof.” May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

philippians25 

.

14 comments on “Change Your Mind

  1. Hello Paulette,how I do praise and thank God for His precious Holy Spirit He’s the one that brings about the changes in our lives.I do not have to wrestle any more trying to be Holy-no Jesus has paved the way,and He is the way. Wouldn’t it be good if we all could live like Jesus did,but because we can’t Jesus came and He makes the difference in our lives for sure. I enjoyed the read and I hope you rest well tonight.
    Love you

    • Hi Pat,

      Isn’t God good? Yes, we are to live like Him and to be holy, but the Lord knew we were not able to defeat sin and the flesh on our own! That’s why He sent His precious Holy Ghost! Acts 1:8 says, “But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you! Lord, thank you for the power, that is within my soul! Praise God!

      Thank you for such a rich word! Be blessed!

      Love you back!

  2. I wondered where you were going with chameleons and love the way you turned it. The first response is to think “Oh yes. I know people who are so changeable – like the Scribes and Pharisees. I know people who are sweet Christians one day and friends of the world the next”

    THEN – WHAM! Then, I was caused to consider MY OWN walk. How changeable am I at times? Do I always seek God’s way first? Do I always reflect His light?

    God has done a fantastic work of changing me. I am certainly not the person I was 53 years ago – but He still has a long way to go! I need to change from the “Let this mind be in you” to “We have the mind of Christ” 1 Cor 2:16

    • Since I posted this article, my thoughts have been, “Lord help me to decrease, that You would increase in my life!” “Help me to draw nigh unto You, that You would draw nigh unto me.” “Lord help me to die daily to the flesh, and the things of the flesh.” I don’t even want to give the devil an inch, because of course he would not be satisfied with that!

      Yes, what a great change the Lord has wrought in my life, but as you said, “He still has a long way to go!” I love the Scripture you added to this stream, I Corinthians 2:16! That is my goal, praise the Lord!

      As always, thank you so much for imparting unto us your wisdom and insight! 🙂

  3. Hi Paulette, It is a blessed thing to be in the place of having my mind renewed! It is amazing to me how Jesus works. I look back on my life and can see that this man is not the man I once knew. He is changing me! Hallelujah! Your blogs have been an encouragement in the recent process He has been bringing me through! Thanks

    • Hi Pastor J,

      Praise God! We serve an awesome God! I love the way He uses us to encourage and strengthen each other! To God be the glory!

      May the Lord bless you and keep you, and cause His face to shine upon you!

  4. You have such a way of letting Him come through here. I am humbled once again as I think of the times I do not reflect Him. But I want to, more and more and more. Longing for Him to continue His work in me. God bless you, dear Paulette, as you call us into living a life transformed by Christ!

    • Hi Debbie,

      ” But I want to, more and more and more.” The sentiments of my heart, exactly! It’s not about me, but it is ALL about Him! It is my desire to continually draw nigh unto Him. God bless you, as you continue to allow the light of the Lord to shine brightly through your life!

      Paulette

  5. Good post! I have been guilty of this and it is hard to stick to your convictions 100% of the time, thank God for grace, mercy and Jesus! God Bless. -WATW

    • Even though we have the best of intentions, the Word of God tells us, “All have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” Had it not been for the Grace and Mercy of God, where would we be? I am so grateful, because the compassion of God faileth not. Morning by morning, new mercies I see. I need every one of those mercies, each and every day. Praise God!

      Thanks so much for stopping by, and sharing your thoughts with us. God bless you!

      Paulette

  6. Minister Paulette,

    I was just wrapping up preparations for an event tomorrow when you crossed my thoughts. I don`t know why, but know that I am praying for you. I was told some time ago that when someone crosses my thoughts I should pray, so I am praying.
    I feel the Holy Spirit is encouraging me to pray for peace, so I am praying God’s peace over you and everything that concerns you. May He hold you in the cradle of His arms tonight and give you restful, comforting thoughts. I pray the mind of Christ would be yours tonight as you fall back and let Him love on you.
    Trusting Him to be all you need in this moment and the moments to come.

    Blessings,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      Thank you so much for your prayers! God is truly Omniscient, and He is a wonder in my soul! It’s amazing how God will use His people from near and far, to intercede on behalf of His children! I suffered another debilitating flare up, which is why I did not respond sooner. Truly, I needed the peace of God to rule and reign in my life at that time. So, thank you again, Ann. 🙂

      I praise God for your obedience to His will, without questioning it! May the peace of God rest upon your life today, and may His face shine upon you! God bless!

      Paulette

  7. P.S. What Deb said.

    I so want to become what He wants me to be! Praying I will let Him change me, even when His plans for me are different from what I want for me.

    Praying too for a heart that follows Him without question. If I can let Him lead, the changing process won’t be so painful.

    Reflective,
    ann

    • ” Praying I will let Him change me, even when His plans for me are different from what I want for me. Praying too for a heart that follows Him without question.” Ann, this is where I am, exactly! I know you won’t mind that I prayed that prayer as well.

      It has been difficult, which is putting it quite mildly, since I have suffered so many things, because of RSD. However, I know that God is in control of my life, and I choose to trust Him. “The road is rough, the going gets tough, and the hills are hard to climb. I started out, a long time ago, and there is no doubt in my mind. I’ve decided to make Jesus my choice!”

      Trusting Him,

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

