The God of Second Chances

And he arose, and came to his father. But when he was yet a great way off, his father saw him, and had compassion, and ran, and fell on his neck, and kissed him. And the son said unto him, Father, I have sinned against heaven, and in thy sight, and am no more worthy to be called thy son. But the father said to his servants, Bring forth the best robe, and put it on him; and put a ring on his hand, and shoes on his feet: And bring hither the fatted calf, and kill it; and let us eat, and be merry: For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found. And they began to be merry (Read Luke 15:11-24).

God is a merciful God. He is compassionate toward us, and He offers forgiveness of sins. O how He loves us! Our God is the God of second chances. How many times have we failed the Lord, and walked away from Him just like the prodigal son, while on our Christian journeys? Satan would have us to believe that when we have fallen, we cannot get back up again! Like the prodigal son, we may have thought we were no longer worthy to be called a child of God! However, because of the grace and mercy of God, we can get back up again! Our Father is waiting with arms open wide to receive us again unto Himself! Many were recidivists or backsliders, who had turned away from the Lord time and time again. Yet by the redemptive blood of Jesus Christ when returning again unto Him with a contrite and repentant heart, He will forgive our sins and give us the awesome privilege of calling Him Abba, Father, once again! When we have sinned and come short of the glory of God, II Corinthians 5:18-19 says, “And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to Himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given us the ministry of reconciliation; To whit, that God was in Christ, reconciling the world unto Himself, not imputing their trespasses unto them; and hath committed unto us the word of reconciliation.” It is not the will of God that any should perish, but that all would come to repentance. All have sinned and come short of the glory of God, but though our sins be as scarlet He will wash us whiter than snow, and restore us anew! Praise the Lord! Aren’t you glad our Redeemer liveth?

Our God is faithful, just, and willing to forgive our sins. However, we are not to continue in sin. In fact, the Word of God tells us that we are to reckon ourselves to be dead indeed unto sin. We must let not sin therefore reign in our mortal bodies, that we should obey it in its lusts thereof. Romans 6:1-2 says, “What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?” Thank God, we have been given the privilege, to rise and walk in newness of life by the power of the Holy Spirit! Therefore, we must strive to be filled with the Holy Spirit! He who the Son has set free, is free indeed! No longer must we live under the bondage of sin. – Lord, I thank you and I give you praise, for being the God of second chances! Had it not been for your grace and mercy through Christ Jesus, we would be hopelessly lost in sin! I thank you for the times you have reconciled us back unto Yourself, though we were unworthy! When we fell short of your glory, you allowed us to dust ourselves off, and to get back up again. I bless your holy name, and I say thank you! Amen. God is so good! When I think on the goodness of Jesus, and all He has done for me, my soul cries out Hallelujah! I praise God for saving me! Today, you have been given another chance. What are you going to do with it? May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

13 comments on “The God of Second Chances

  1. God is so good! When I think on the goodness of Jesus, and all He has done for me, my soul cries out Hallelujah! Praise God for His love and His great mercy that continues to give us second chances,I join you in praising our Father for He alone is worthy,very good and encouraging words Paulette.
    Love you 😀

    • Praise God Pat!

      Oh yes, our God is so, so good! “I am so grateful to have Christ in my life! What would my life be without Him? It would be dark and drear. When I’m sad, He cheers me, and when I’m lonely, He will my comfort be. That’s why I’m grateful, truly grateful, to have Christ in my life!” The lyrics of that song came to mind, as I thought on your comment. Thank you for the pingback. God bless you!

      Love you,

      Paulette

  2. Pingback: When You Don’t Know What To Do! | Pat's Letters God Inspired

  3. There was something God breathed about this post, “Oh how He loves us!” It really touched me. It is His amazing mercy, love, compassion, forgiveness that renders me helpless to go elsewhere but to Him, for that second chance. For that chance to stay with Him forever.
    God bless you, Paulette, as you fill us with His good news and love today!

    • Hi Debbie,

      “Oh how He loves us!” It is absolutely awe-inspiring and mind-boggling, that God Almighty would love me, a wretch like me! He robed Himself in flesh, that He might suffer vicariously and die, to save me! Hallelujah, what a Savior! As I thought on that, I could feel His presence! God is just wonderful, and I don’t know what I’d do without Him!

      I was blessed, as I thought on your comment! Thank you, woman of God, for being a blessing unto me! God bless you!

      Paulette

  4. Thank you also Paulette,I am so full and happy “Hallelujah”!! Truly what would we do without Him. I too am grateful,grateful for all He’s done for me and for all He’s brought me through.
    Love you much BFF 😀 😀

  5. I simply love this teaching, Paulette! You did a great job with it! This parable to me is one of the greatest lessons on the love of God. Did you notice that when the prodigal returned from the pig pen ( which made him unclean to the Jews ) the father did not wait to clean him up before he put the best robe on him, he treated him as if he were cleaned up. Just as our Father does for us! And he didn’t wait to give his son the ring which gave him power over the affairs of his wealth. As soon as the son repented, the father gave him power over his affairs. He put sandals on his feet which indicated he was family (since servants and slaves did not wear sandals) What kind of love is that? Who can understand it? Who deserves it? Yet God SO loved the world, that he gave his Only Son to die………………

    • Hi Marianne,

      I always enjoy hearing from you! Thank you so much for your addition to this stream of comments. The teaching was excellent! Nothing else need be said. It was truly a blessing to me!

      May the Lord continue to bless you richly, and keep you in His loving care!

      Paulette

  6. Thank you, Minister!

    “Today, you have been given another chance. What are you going to do with it?”
    What oh what would we do if He was a ‘3 strikes’ God?! I am GRATEFUL!! at the extent of His love and forgiveness. Don’t know why my God loves the way He does but I am mighty glad!!

    He knows all we go through. The Word teaches that our God is not distant but He has full understanding of our faults and failures. He knows we’re prone to sin yet He “willingly and lovingly forgives!” What kind of Lover is that? Only the God of second chances could care for us this way!

    Blessings much, Minister. You make me want to dance again!

    Grateful,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      I am truly thankful, that God is not a “3 strikes” God! “The extent of His love and forgiveness” is absolutely mind-boggling!” Yes, the Lord knows me, and He still loves me with an unimaginable love! Thank you Lord! Glory to God! Just thinking on His love, His goodness, and His mercy, causes my soul to cry out hallelujah!

      Ann, God is truly moving by His spirit! Imagine my surprise when I went to your blog early this morning, only to find that you were also speaking of God’s forgiveness, and the fact that He is the God of second chances. (If only you could have seen the expression of surprise on my face as I read your prayer.) My heart is leaping! 🙂

      Thankful,

      Paulette

  7. Second chances . . . and third, fourth, fifth . . . . . and eleventy-eighth . . . . . and yet there’s more . . . never ending!

    Oh there is one exception to that “never ending” ~~~ God’s grace is freely extended to all, but for those who reject His grace, the offer runs out when life ends. For those who do not respond to His grace, there will be a time when He will say “Too late”. Lord, keep us willing to share Your Word with all we meet.

    Thank You for all the second chances You have given me.
    What an amazing God!

    • Hi Angela,

      Amen! As usual, a thought-provoking comment, filled with Biblical truths! Thank you so much for your input here! “For those who do not respond to His grace, there will be a time when He will say “Too late”. Absolutely true!

      Lord, I thank you for being the God of a second, third, and fourth chance, and so on. Your compassion faileth not!

      What a mighty God we serve!

Leave a pearl of wisdom

