What A Debt I Owe

Scriptures: Give unto the LORD the glory due unto His name; worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness (Psalm 29:2). Give unto the LORD the glory due unto His name: bring an offering and come into His courts. O worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness: fear before Him, all the earth.

The world’s economy is in crisis! Wall Street has been hit hard, investors are losing their investments every day, people are losing their homes, their jobs and other possessions, because they are unable to pay their bills. As a result, many find themselves inundated with debt! Assets are becoming liabilities. Loans are being defaulted upon, and for many who have made purchases on credit, they are only able to pay the bare minimum monthly payments, which usually covers the finance charges, but nearly nothing is paid on the balance of the original loan amount. Debt is all around us. People are struggling to find employment, in order to get back on their feet, and to dig themselves out of debt! The debt is onerous, a heavy burden, or like heavy yokes around the necks of so many! Getting one’s self out of  financial debt, is the number one priority, and is on the minds of thousands upon thousands! However, you can depend on God to bring you through the difficult times. God is able. Well, What About the Debt We Owe Unto the Lord? I’m in debt. What about you? You see, I am in debt to the Lord, because I owe God praise! I have fallen short of rendering unto God all the praise that is due unto Him! I owe God a debt of gratitude! I owe God a thank you Lord! I owe Him a hallelujah, a glory to God, and I owe Him a thank you Jesus! I owe God praise! He has done great things for me, whereof I am so glad! I can’t thank my Lord and Savior enough! Debt is a sum required, that is obligated to be paid, plus interest! I am indebted to God, and I owe Him praise, plus interest! The lyrics to the song, "He Paid a Debt He Did Not Owe", expresses this so beautifully:

He paid a debt He did not owe; I owed a debt I could not pay; I needed someone to wash my sins away. And, now, I sing a brand new song, “Amazing Grace.” Christ Jesus paid a debt that I could never pay.

He paid that debt at Calvary. He cleansed my soul and set me free. I’m glad that Jesus did all my sins erase. I, now, can sing a brand new song, “Amazing Grace.” Christ Jesus paid a debt that I could never pay.

One day He’s coming back for me, to live with Him eternally. Won’t it be glory to see Him on that day! I, then, will sing a brand new song, “Amazing Grace.” Christ Jesus paid a debt that I could never pay. Yes, Jesus paid a debt that I could never pay. (Ellis J. Crum)

 

Psalm 8:3-4 says, "When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him? And the son of man, that thou visitest him?” Almighty God, who created the heavens and the earth, loves us so! Who woke us up this morning? Who supplies all of our needs, according to His riches in glory? When we wake up in the morning, do we take time  out to say thank you Jesus for waking me up? As we go about our day to day routines, is there a praise in our hearts, and on our lips? How many times has the Lord answered our prayers? How many times has the Lord healed our bodies? How many times has the Lord performed the miraculous in our lives? How many times did we tell Him thank you, for all He has done for us? God is so good unto us. We are not worthy, yet morning by morning, new mercies we see. Great is the Lord’s faithfulness unto us, the sometimes unfaithful. We should have an attitude of gratitude at all times, because our God makes ways for us when there doesn’t seem to be a way. He opens doors no man can close, and He closes doors no man can open! He’s our everything, and we are indebted unto Him! We must never  neglect to tell the Lord thank you, over, and over, and over, and over again! In Luke chapter 17 the Bible speaks of ten lepers, that had the privilege of meeting Jesus. "The symptoms of leprosy range from white patches on the skin to running sores, and to the loss of digits on the fingers and toes. For the Hebrews it was a dreaded malady which rendered its victims ceremonially unclean – that is unfit to worship. Anyone who came in contact with a leper was also considered unclean. Therefore, lepers were isolated from the rest of the community." When Jesus entered the village where these lepers were, they lifted up their voices, and said, "Jesus, Master, have mercy on us.” When Jesus saw them, He told them to go show themselves unto the priests. As they were on their way, they were cleansed! However, one of the ten lepers, when he realized he was healed turned back and with a loud voice glorified God! He fell down on his face at Jesus’ feet, giving Him thanks! Jesus questioned him saying, "Were there not ten cleansed? but where are the nine?" Only one leper returned to give glory to God! Let us not be like the nine lepers who were healed and transformed, yet they went on their merry way, without returning to tell Jesus thank you! Oh, we are in debt! Let us begin to praise our way out of debt today! Let us begin to thank God for what He has done, what He is doing, and what He is going to do in our lives, this day, and from this day forward!  Always give thanks with a grateful heart! Our God is worthy, and we are indebted unto Him! What a debt I owe! Give your financial burdens to the Lord, and He will take care of you! Praise Him in advance for delivering you out of your struggles, because you can count on Him to see you through. May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

Resource: Holman Bible Dictionary

8 comments on “What A Debt I Owe

  1. Oh Paulette . . .you completely caught me off guard. My how my heart tore at the thought that I have a debt of praise I owe our Jesus! Oh yes I do! And then my heart soared as I began to pay that debt and praise Him. Praising Him for you who so wonderfully keeps bringing us to His feet, in worship!
    God bless you as you lead us in worship to our King!
    love, deb

    • Hi Debbie,

      I really enjoyed reading your comment! It was beautiful! I am praising God with you!

      You lifted my spirit! At times, my heart aches and breaks, because I sorely miss being able to serve as a worship leader, and serving in other ministries, as well. When I read your words, “God bless you as you lead us in worship to our King”, my heart soared! I realized, that God was still using me to serve as a worship leader! To God be the glory! I never thought of it that way, and I thank you so much for those enlightening words of kindness and encouragement!

      God bless you, as you continue to allow God to use you to share the love of Jesus, with all whose lives you touch!

      Paulette

  2. The most amazing, incredible thing in the whole world is that Jesus would pay my debt for me . . . that He would TAKE my sin and GIVE me His righteousness! What an exchange! What a Saviour!

    I owe Him an enormous debt of praise – not just for paying my debt and giving me a home with Him for all eternity, but for His abiding presence each and every moment of each and every day; for His continual guidance, encouragement, challenge, enabling, providence, peace, security . . . everything!

    Thank You to my loving heavenly Father!
    Thank You to my loving Saviour!
    Thank You to my Guide and Teacher and Enabler, the Holy Spirit!

    Thank you Paulette.
    Angela

    • Hi Angela,

      Absolutely awesome word! My soul was stirred! What else can I say, except AMEN!

      Thank you for blessing us over and over again, with your words of wisdom and truth!

      Paulette

  3. Hi Paulette, how right you are that we should focus on the debt we owe God. How easy it is to forget God when we are in the midst of our temporary problems. We focus on things that we need to just surrender to his power and strength. We forget that while we will always have troubles in this perishing world that God alone holds our breath in his hands. We are still living because of his will and his power! Too often we look at our problems and make them bigger than our God. And yet for believers, he will cause all things in our lives to be conformed for our good and his glory. Nothing is out of his power or possibility. For that reason, we are to give thanks to God for ALL things.

    Your messages are always powerful. I have added you to my blogroll. God bless you, my sister!

    • Hi Marianne,

      You are such an encouragement to me, and I appreciate all of your words of kindness! Thank you so much for adding my blog to your blogroll. I am truly humbled!

      “The LORD bless thee, and keep thee: The LORD make His face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: The LORD lift up His countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.” Amen.

Leave a pearl of wisdom

