Jehovah Rapha

Scriptures: And said, If thou wilt diligently hearken to the voice of the LORD thy God, and wilt give ear to His commandments, and keep His statutes, I will put none of these diseases upon thee, which I have brought upon the Egyptians: for I am the LORD that healeth thee. (Exodus 15:26) He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from Him; He was despised, and we esteemed Him not. Surely He hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem Him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted. But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon Him; and with His stripes we are healed (Isaiah 53:3-5).

Pain is an unpleasant sensory and emotional experience! Pain manifests in many ways. Tears streaming down one’s face, a frown or facial expression, a sigh, someone screaming, someone bent over and wrapping their arms around themselves, difficulty breathing, or depression can be indicative of an individual experiencing pain. The pain can be of a physical nature, which is brought on by an injury, or suffering from some type of illness, the pain can be of an emotional nature, which can be brought on by heartache and sadness, and from suffering from mental anguish. There is also pain of a spiritual nature! This pain occurs, because one is sin sick! When pain has invaded our bodies, whether physical, emotional, or as a result of “soul” sickness, it is an uninvited and unwanted guest, that we most certainly want to simply go away! What does one do, to eradicate the pain in their lives? Might I recommend going to God in prayer, diligently? After all, our God is Jehovah RAPHA, “The Lord that healeth Thee.” God first revealed Himself as Jehovah RAPHA in Exodus 15:26. It was during this time, that the Lord had miraculously dealt with Israel! He delivered them from their enemies by using Moses to lead Israel through the Red Sea, and they entered the desert of Shur. For a period of three days, they traveled in the desert without finding water. When they came to Marah, they were unable to drink the water, because it was bitter. Then the Israelites began to grumble against Moses. Why, after God had brought them through so many hardships and pain, didn’t they believe God could provide water for them? He had already worked miraculously in so many ways to bring about deliverance from Pharaoh, and the taskmasters that were set over them to afflict them. When they grumbled and complained, God could have cut them off, but He is a merciful God! Then Moses cried out unto the LORD; “And the LORD showed him a tree, which when he had cast into the waters, the waters were made sweet. It was there that the LORD proclaimed Himself to be Jehovah RAPHA, “The LORD that healeth Thee”, after turning the waters of Marah from bitter waters to sweet waters.” (Read Exodus, chapter 15) Sometimes God will use our bitter waters of troubles and fiery trials of sickness and pain, to mold us and to make us. He will use our bitter waters of despair, to cause us to trust Him all the more! Our pain draws us closer to the Lord. Our pain causes us to grow stronger in the Lord, and the power of His might! Pain will bring sin sick souls to the foot of the Cross! God gives purpose to our pain!

God is the creator and healer of our bodies. At times, God will heal miraculously, just as He healed the bitter waters of Marah in an instant, and just as He healed the woman who had the issue of blood, for 12 long years. In faith, doubting nothing, she reached out and touched the hem of His garment, and she was instantly made whole! Jesus used Peter and John when He healed the man that laid lame at the gate of the temple called Beautiful. However, the Lord also uses doctors to bring about healing to our bodies! God does answer prayer! It is easier said than done, but we must learn to wait faithfully and patiently on Him! During Jesus’ earthly ministry, He went about healing all manner of sickness and diseases. He cast out devils from those who were tormented. Jehovah RAPHA also came to heal sin sick souls! In the ninth chapter of Matthew, Jesus sat down to eat, and the Pharisees took issue with Jesus eating with sinners and publicans. The Pharisees questioned His disciples, but when Jesus heard that, He said unto them, “They that be whole need not a physician, but they that are sick.” Jesus also said, “For I am not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” Jesus came to seek and to save that which was lost. I came to Jesus just as I was, weary, wounded, and sad. I found in Him a resting place, and He has made my heart glad. Come to Jesus, just as you are! He will heal your sin sick souls. So, no matter the sickness and pain in your life, Jehovah RAPHA is our God that healeth Thee! He may not intervene in the way we would want Him to, but we must always be in remembrance of the Scripture that says, “For as high as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” God is in control. God has a plan for all of our lives, which sometimes does not line up with the plans we have for ourselves! Who am I going to trust? I choose to trust the LORD! I choose to trust Jehovah RAPHA, “The LORD that healeth Thee.” Give your life to the LORD. God doesn’t always take away the pain, because He sometimes wants our pain to change us into who He would have us to be, and to become! I say unto you, have FAITH in God. Trust and believe, that God is able to heal all manner of sickness, perhaps not when you want Him to, but He’ll give you the strength to endure it until He says, ENOUGH! Our God is the God that healeth our bodies, our minds, and our sin sick souls! Enjoy the song by Kirk Franklin, “He’ll Take the Pain Away.” May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!
12 comments on “Jehovah Rapha

  1. There was pain I experienced for many years that I now know was a gift. Without it I would not be who I am now; I would still be a lost soul wandering in the desert without hope.

    • Hi Patricia,

      Thank you so much for stopping by, and for leaving a comment! It is wonderful that you can look at your pain retrospectively, and know that it was a gift! God does work in mysterious ways! Even when we don’t realize it, He is working things out for our good!

      God bless you.

      Paulette

  2. Thank you, Minister Paulette

    I hear your heart in this. Praying for the day when He will truly take it all.

    “God is in control. God has a plan for all of our lives, which sometimes does not line up with the plans we have for ourselves! Who am I going to trust? I choose to trust the LORD! I choose to trust Jehovah RAPHA, “The LORD that healeth Thee.” ”
    I don’t know if emotional pain hurts more than physical pain but I am thankful that He has the authority and the power to take it all away!

    Father, there are days I hurt beyond imagination. There are times I wonder if I can make it to tomorrow. I am so thankful that You know what I feel and that You carry me even in the moments I feel like rolling over and giving up. It gets hard at times but I know I am in Your hands… I will not cave under the pressure. “I choose to trust You!” Amen

    Blessings much,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      God bless you, my sister! Both physical and emotional pain are definitely uninvited and unwanted guests! Usually, when one suffers from physical pain, emotional pain is linked to it, especially when the physical pain is of a chronic nature. Ultimately, both are absolutely life-changing, disabling, and extremely painful! Like you, I am so glad, that God can take it all away! Praise God!

      Thank you so much for sharing that prayer! It literally spoke the sentiments of my heart!

      God bless,

      Paulette

  3. I am blessed with exceptionally good health but my sister is just the opposite. She is in agony with every movement and yet she is one of the happiest and well adjusted people I know. Yes, she is a Christian and I know her attitude is due to Christ’s work in her life.

    I greatly admire my sister and you and others I know who endure physical pain. You are an inspiration to me and are a lesson to me if ever I feel hard-done-by or dissatisfied with my circumstances. Thank you. I know our great God will continue to bless you and use you to bless others.

    • Hi Angela,

      I’m so glad you stopped by today. It is truly a blessing to be in good health, and it’s unfortunate that many take it for granted. Many live their lives frivolously , as if good health is guaranteed to them, indefinitely. For some, that just isn’t the case. God should be praised and glorified each day, for even a reasonable portion of health and strength!

      I know it is only the Lord, who is carrying your sister through those painful times, because I know it’s the Lord who is carrying me, as well. Bless her heart! You are an inspiration to me, as well. Thank you so much for your words of kindness.

      God bless you,

      Paulette

  4. Oh Paulette . . .this is a treasure for us, as you are. A deep well, filled with His healing balm. That you suffer such pain and write yet of His healing and trust Him so completely, blesses and strengthens us who have lesser pains to deal with. You blaze the way for us!
    You also have me thinking about being sin sick. When I’m not feeling quite right with Him, this is often the case, there is something that I need to bring to Him for forgiveness and to be healed of.
    Thank you so much and God bless you as you praise Him all the more!

    • Hi Debbie,

      You are such an inspiration to me, as well as to all whose lives you touch, I’m sure! You are a genuine encourager, the real deal! You remind me of my older sister. 🙂

      Truly, if it had not been for the Lord who was on my side, I don’t know where I would be, or what I would do! Being able to communicate online with you and so many other friends I’ve met on WordPress, was just what the Dr. ordered, Dr. Jesus! I certainly receive my share of encouragement, and I am so happy to be able to extend the same, in some small way! Just as Ann said a while back, I do believe it was all by Divine Design!

      May the Lord bless you and keep you, in His loving care!

      Paulette

  5. Another wonderful word. I instantly thought about Paul praying to God about his thorn. Not realizing that it was this spiritual affliction that kept him seeking the face of God. I used to have a saying, “If I didn’t have a need that only God could meet, then I wouldn’t have a need to meet God.” Though the process of allowing God to be Rapha can be painful, the bible shows the benefit of patience in in James 1:4 But let patience have her perfect work, that ye may be perfect and entire, wanting nothing. The process of healing is directly related to the process of wholeness. As with everything related to our relationship with Christ, we have to decide to allow God to do what He needs to do to get us to purpose. I really enjoyed reading this post as it speaks to so many experiences in my life. Most recently my need for an increase of faith and a true posture of submission to the will of the Lord. I require healing and I first had to acknowledge that fact. I was one of those people who simply locked things away rather than deal with the pain I experienced. Now is the time for ME to get to know my God as Rapha! Thank you again Auntie! I love you!

    • Hi Tim,

      Thank you for such a rich word! Like you, as I was writing this article, I thought about Paul praying to the Lord, to remove the thorn from his flesh. It’s quite amazing, that hearing a Word from the Lord can change our perspectives on situations so completely! That passage of Scripture has anchored me on so many occasions since I have been ill.

      “If I didn’t have a need that only God could meet, then I wouldn’t have a need to meet God.” I love that saying! It is true, that sometimes it is the need in our lives that only God can meet, that causes us to hold a ” Prayer Meeting” with the Lord. I pray that the Lord will send healing your way, as only He can. God bless you! Thank you so much for stopping by nephew! 🙂 I love you too!

      Auntie

  6. Paulette, I am so glad He is the healer! I am thankful that when we pray He is faithful to put us on His road to healing. You are right, it may not always be in the way or in the time we want but it will BE! He knows best the pathway of our healing and He has marked every step of the way. Thanks for reminding us!
    JE

    • Hello Pastor J,

      Amen, amen! The Word tells us, “The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD: and he delighteth in his way.” When we surrender wholly and completely, “He is faithful to put us on His road to healing.” Thank you for that. We serve a wonderful God. He is faithful, even when we are not! I love Him so! Thank you for that encouraging word! God bless you, Pastor J.

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

