You’re Being Followed

Have you ever had the feeling that you were being followed? You looked over one shoulder, then the other, but didn’t see anyone. Perhaps, your gait went from a slow pace to a slow jog, then from a slow jog to running. If so, that would be a natural reaction. The “fight or flight response” kicks in, when a person experiences a feeling of imminent danger. During this response, the nervous system signals for adrenaline, and other hormones to be released in the blood. The hormones prepare the body to either confront the danger, or to flee from it. Also, the individual experiences an increased heart rate, dilated pupils to improve vision, and sends increased blood to the muscles to prepare the body for the confrontation, or for the swift retreat! Sometimes after it’s all said and done, it’s just someone you know sneaking up on you. Then you share a hearty laugh! 

From a biblical standpoint, you are definitely being followed. Sometimes you may sense it, and sometimes not. In the book of Psalms, chapter 23, we find a wonderful example of the extraordinary providence of God at work  in our lives, as well as in the world. A derivative of the word providence, is provide. From the very first verse of this chapter, the Word of God says, “The Lord is My Shepherd, I shall not want.” The job of a Shepherd, is to care for his sheep. The Lord is our Shepherd, He is our provider, He is our protector, He is our guardian, and He is our keeper. An excerpt from Psalms 100 says, “We are His people, and the sheep of His pasture.” This lets us know that God is taking care of us, providing for us in our times of need, and making ways for us, when there seems to be no way out of a situation or circumstance. Because the Lord is our Shepherd, we have everything we need. Sometimes when a sheep begins to stray from the flock, the Shepherd will gently guide it back to the fold with his rod. Have you needed any gentle prodding lately? “All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned everyone to his own way; and the LORD hath laid on Him the iniquity of us all.”

David said, “Surely GOODNESS and MERCY shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD for ever.” GOODNESS and MERCY are our constant companions! When we awaken from sleep in the mornings, GOODNESS and MERCY are there. When we fall asleep at night, GOODNESS and MERCY are there. We are being showered with the blessings and mercies of God daily, even when we don’t deserve it. Ecclesiastes 3:22-23 teaches us that, It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. Psalm 23:5 says, Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. In this verse,anointing oil is the “symbol of gladness.” My cup runneth over indicates “an abundance of Spiritual blessings.” These blessings “are prepared for the children of God who may feast in spite of his enemies, confident that this favor will ever attend him. This beautiful Psalm most admirably sets before us, in its chief figure, that of a shepherd, the gentle, kind, and sure care extended to God’s people, who, as a shepherd, both rules and feeds them.” Even when we are unaware, God is working things out  in our lives for our good. His goodness and mercy, His kindness, and His generosity, abound toward His people.  So you see, you are being followed!

Resource: BibleStudyTools.com (Psalms 23:5) 
10 comments on “You’re Being Followed

  1. A beautifully written blog – or I should say an inspired blog, because I am sure the Lord guided your thoughts as you wrote.

    Something unique about Psalm 23 is that it has absolutely NOTHING for a non-believer – apart that is, from the example of how God cares for His children.

    The mind boggles when we try to comprehend the way our perfect heavenly Father cares for us. How can we possibly understand the depth of His love and His abiding presence, provision, protection and guidance? How can we accept the fact that there is not one split-second that He is not there: not just “there” but intimately involved in all that happens? We can’t, and yet we KNOW it is true because we experience it.

    • Angela,

      I apologize for not responding to such a beautiful comment. “Something unique about Psalm 23 is that it has absolutely NOTHING for a non-believer – apart that is, from the example of how God cares for His children.” Thank you for sharing that observation.

      Thank you for being a constant source of enlightenment, as well as support.

      Paulette

  2. Thank you for sharing this blog! As I was reading, all I could think about was a song the Winans sang which simply says “Wherever I go, let your Spirit, follow me!” It is not to say that we want God to walk behind us for we are indeed being a led and guided by Him. But it is a request that His Goodness and Mercy follows us, covers us, protects us, watches our backs! We know that when we put on the whole armor of God, only the front half is covered. But what about the back half? What about those things that we are not expecting that tend to come from behind and catches us off guard? As recorded in Ephesians 6, we must have on our helmet of salvation, breatsplate of righteousness, loins girt about with truth and our feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace. We are also instructed to take the shield of faith and carry our sword of the Spirit (the Word of God). God made/ prepared the way ahead because Goodness and Mercy have followed us; and so He saw that hurt, He saw that pain, He saw that attack from a mile away! To the question the commercial asks, “are you covered?” we, the Believers, can confidently reply, “Yes, I’m covered” for God offers FULL coverage!

  3. Hi Minister Paulette

    I do hope this episode passes swiftly. I don’t understand the pain you go through but I I will keep you in my prayers. I’m praying this will end soon.

    Thank you for this post. We’re hosting guests this week so the house is much busier than normal. There are more footsteps and shadows than normal but we don’t get alarmed because we know our guests are moving around. Your post reminds me of how He shadows us … we don’t always see His shadow and we don’t always hear His footsteps but we know that He’s there anyway.

    Blessings much,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      Thank you for your comment, and your words of encouragement. “He shadows us … we don’t always see His shadow and we don’t always hear His footsteps but we know that He’s there anyway.” I love that. So true, as well as comforting!

      Thank you for your concern. I am doing better, but all symptoms have not fully subsided, as of yet. Thank you so much for your prayers!

      God bless you!

      Paulette

  4. Thanks Paulette! I am so glad He follows me. I am so glad that when I get ahead of Him he is faithful to outflank me and bring me ’round right! Oh, I so need His ever watchful eye and persistent presence! Thanks for reminding me I have it. 🙂
    JE

    • Hello Pastor J,

      “Oh, I so need His ever watchful eye and persistent presence!” This is true for all of God’s children! I don’t know what I would do, without the persistent presence of Almighty God!

      Thank you for stopping by, and for leaving a comment. I always enjoy the way you share your thoughts, and I appreciate your thoughtfulness!

      God bless!

      Paulette

  5. Amen,amen! God is so good to us and it’s truly a blessing to know that he is always with us. Good word,good word my sister,I enjoyed the read.
    Love ya 😀

    • Hi Pat,

      Thank you so much for dropping by, and for leaving such an encouraging comment! I agree, that it is truly a blessing to know that He is always with us! What would we do without Him?

      God bless you. Love you.

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

