Praise Your Way Through

Have you ever found yourself going through great trials and tribulations, suffering heartbreak, heartache, and pain, and the last thing on your mind was praise and worship? Well, that’s if it entered into the equation at all, during those times. Have you ever felt like you couldn’t praise your way out of a paper bag? When your spirit is broken, your back is up against the wall, and it seems like the cares of life are closing in on you, and you don’t see a way out, what’s next? Do you cave in and give up on God?

Let’s look at how Job responded to extreme adversity. Job loved and served the Lord. The Word of God says, “And that man was perfect and upright, and one that feared God, and eschewed evil.” Job was living the good life! He was a man of great wealth and stature. Job was the father of seven sons and three daughters. His substance included various animals that numbered in the hundreds and thousands, and his household was very great. All seemed right in Job’s world, until one fateful day, when the unthinkable began to happen. Job was faced with one tragic event after another. He lost nearly everything he had and held dear, all in one day! After hearing the last tragic and most devastating event of that day, Job got up and tore his robe, and shaved his head. What he did next, would probably surprise many! Rather than sob uncontrollably during this most tragic and distressful time in his life, Job fell to the ground in worship and said: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I will depart. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised.” Even through all of this, he did not sin by charging God with wrongdoing. (Read the first chapter of the book of Job) Job worshiped the LORD, though his world had crumbled all around him. May we learn from his example, to worship the LORD, even when our worlds have been turned upside down, and inside out! Regardless of our circumstances, God is worthy to be praised! In the difficult times, don’t give up, and don’t give out! Praise your way out! Hebrews 13:15 says, “By Him therefore let us offer the sacrifice of praise to God continually, that is, the fruit of our lips giving thanks to His name.” We must worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness, when we feel like it, and when we don’t feel like it. Our worship and praise unto the LORD, is not predicated upon our feelings. It is simply because He is God, and He is WORTHY! Now Job had no prior knowledge of the conversation that had taken place between the LORD and Satan. (Read Job 1:6-12) During this conversation, God would make this statement: “Hast thou considered my servant Job, that there is none like him in the earth, a perfect and an upright man, one that feareth God and escheweth evil?” Job had been tested mightily, and he passed the tests! Have you ever considered when going through fiery trials, that a conversation such as the conversation about Job, may have taken place about you? Have you ever thought that it could have been that God was bragging about you, trusting that you would pass every test set before you with flying colors? Praise your way through, because there is a blessing, on the other side of THROUGH.

Enjoy the video. This song, “Praise Is What I Do”, carried me through a very difficult time in my life! I played this song over and over and over again, even when my heart was filled with despair, and the tears were streaming down my face! And no, I didn’t understand my circumstance, but it didn’t even stand a chance, because my heart was filled with praise unto God, in spite of what I was going through! It is my true praise and worship unto the LORD, my intimate relationship with Him, that is carrying me right now! Praise is what I do, and it is who I am! Bless His holy name! God is worthy to be praised, to be worshiped, to be revered, to be adored, just because He is God! Oh, blessed be the name of the Lord! Praise God! May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

12 comments on “Praise Your Way Through

    • Hi Pat,

      Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised! In the city of our God, and the mountain of His Holiness! He’s worthy!

      God bless you, my friend! Thanks for stopping by, and for your comment!

      Love,

      Paulette

  1. Thank you, Minister Paulette

    (The toes are healing nicely 😉 )

    “And no, I didn’t understand my circumstance, but it didn’t even stand a chance, because my heart was filled with praise unto God, in spite of what I was going through! ”
    Reading your post made me want to grab a tambourine! I feel a dancing coming on 🙂 Praising Him as I ‘go through!’

    Blessings much,
    ann

    • Ann,

      Praise His holy name! I know exactly what you mean! When I was well, I played a mean tambourine! 🙂 If I could, I would be dancing along side you!

      (By the way, I’m glad your toes are healing! :-))

      Thank you for brightening my day!

      God bless you!

      Paulette

  2. Paulette, I am praising God for using you to witness to His almighty keeping power here on WordPress! We serve an amazing God. I am sure He uses your testimony to challenge many and I know He will continue to bless and use you in His ministry.
    Angela

    • Hi Angela,

      Thank you! God knows what we need, and when we need it most! Recently, I have been feeling a bit discouraged, as it relates to walking in my purpose fully. I thank God for using you, to speak words of encouragement into my life! Yes, we do serve an amazing God! Our God is just simply awesome!

      Thank you so much for my dose of encouragement today! God bless you!

      Paulette

  3. “We must worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness, when we feel like it, and when we don’t feel like it. Our worship and praise unto the LORD, is not predicated upon our feelings. It is simply because He is God, and He is WORTHY” How true this is Paulette! THANK YOU!
    I, too, have learned to praise God in very difficult circumstances these last seven months. He has been my hope, my stay, my shield and my buckler! Praise really does silence the foe and the avenger!

    • Hello Pastor J,

      Psalm 34 tells us, “I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” Yes, Praise will silence the foe and the avenger, as you stated! Praise during the difficult times confounds the enemy! Praise God!

      Thank you for stopping by Pastor J, and for your comment. God bless!

      Paulette

  4. Yes nothing can happen to us without the Father’s knowledge and permission.. even what we regard as bad or sad things. “No sparrow falls.. He knows the number of hairs on our head… etc.
    I reminded someone yesterday that Satan was allowed to put boils on Job… but it was all a test. The Lord chastises every son… for our own good. All we can say is “You are the potter I am the clay”
    Maturity means we are able to say “Not my will but thine be done” and mean it. Bless you girl for your love and persistance to follow the Lord through thick and thin. That’s a smack in the face for the accuser. Halleluyah. Susan.

    • Hi Susan,

      Amen, Amen! What else can I add, to such a beautiful comment? Thank you so much for stopping by, and for sharing your thoughts with us! You are like a ray of sunshine, on a cloudy day! I appreciate your kind words, and your friendship!

      God bless you!

      Paulette

  5. Yet another wonderful post. It reminded me of the song we often sing in praise and worship that says, “In the good times, bless His name/In the bad times, do the same/In everything, give the King of Kings all the praise.” In other words, no matter where I find myself, and what the circumstances of my life may be, I have a responsibility to praise Him both because of and in spite of. I have learned that there are really only two positions for the believer anyway. Either I am in a place where He has already worked it out, or in a place where He is working it out. Either way He is in control and I only see victory in the end. God can’t fail, and because I belong to Him, He can’t fail ME! So I can rejoice in not because of what I see, but because of what/who I know!

    I always loved the story of Job. Thank you for this word this morning!

    • God bless you Tim,

      There’s nothing more to be said here! 🙂 As always, your addition to the stream of comments, is a tremendous blessing to all! I look forward to hearing from you again soon!

      Love you,

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

