Bible Class: In Search of a True Worshiper

John 4:23-24 says, “But the hour cometh, and now is, when the true worshipers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father seeketh such to worship Him. God is a Spirit: and they that worship Him must worship Him in spirit and in truth.”

First of all, the distinct differences between Praise and Worship will be discussed, as well as the commonalities between them. Praise is one of humanity’s many responses to God’s revelation of Himself. “Praise” comes from a Latin word meaning “value” or “price.” Thus, to give praise to God is to proclaim His merit or worth. Many terms are used to express this in the Bible, including glory, blessing, thanksgiving, and hallelujah, the last named being a transliteration of the Hebrew for “Praise the Lord.” The modes of praise are many, including the offering of sacrifices, physical movement, silence and meditation, testimony, and living a holy life. Praise is almost always invariably linked to music, both instrumental and, especially, vocal. (Holman Bible Dictionary)

When we praise God, we thank Him for what He has done, what He can do, and what He is going to do in our lives. When we praise God, we eulogize, or speak well of Him. Praise is a high commendation, or an expression of approval. It is the very act of glorifying God. David’s Psalm of thanksgiving, tells us to give thanks unto the Lord, to call upon His name, and to make known His deeds among the people. It is a good thing to give thanks unto the Lord, and to sing praises unto His name, The Lord most high: to show forth His lovingkindness in the morning, and His faithfulness every night. Hebrews 13:15 says, By Him therefore let us offer the sacrifice of praise to God continually, that is the fruit of our lips giving thanks to His name. We are to bless the Lord at all times, and His praise should continually be in our mouths.

We worship God, not because of what He has done for us, or what He can do for us, but we worship Him because of  WHO HE IS!!! When we worship, we arrest God, therefore calling attention to ourselves as though we have God’s undivided attention!!! We complement God! The essence of worship is to celebrate God, because He is God!!! He is the King of kings, and the Lord of Lords; our God is the Great I Am that I Am! He is Immanuel, which is a personal name, meaning, “God with us.” We worship, to ascribe to God, His supreme worth. Worship in the broadest sense, is a meeting between God and His people! Worship affects God. Worship draws people into the very presence of God! Worship captivates the minds of the saved and the unsaved! The only cure for the world’s ills is to enter into God’s presence!!! During corporate worship, there should be no spectators in the sanctuary. There should be no people watching going on. Instead, the true worshipers should be with one accord, rendering a worthy praise, unto a Worthy God! “As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so my soul after thee, oh God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God.” We should spend time in the presence of God, on a daily basis. When we are taking a walk, doing the laundry, when we are on our jobs, or basically going about the daily routines of our day, we should have the spirit of worship upon us.

When planning a worship service, we should consider the following: 1.Will the worship glorify God? 2.Will the worship be Christ centered? 3.Will the worship edify the believer? 4.Will the worship appeal to visitors? Again, it’s all about Jesus, and worshiping Him in spirit and in truth!  O the sweet sound, and fresh anointing of the Holy Spirit! There is no other aroma, like that of the Holy Spirit! I bless His holy name! Are you a true worshiper? Do you worship the Lord in spirit and in truth, no matter the circumstances you are facing? Do you lay prostrate before the Lord, submissively and humbly, overcome by being in the presence of Almighty God? Do tears fall from your eyes, simply because you are meditating on Jesus the Christ? Do you offer up the sacrifice of praise, even when you don’t feel like it physically, or even emotionally? Do you love to be in the presence of the only Holy and Living God? Do you exalt Him, revere Him, adore Him, bow before Him, lift up holy hands before Him, and glorify Him? For the Father seeketh such to worship Him.  Are you that WORSHIPER? May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day! Feel free to leave a comment.


9 comments on “Bible Class: In Search of a True Worshiper

  1. Hi Paulette,

    And with all this, we know that when we see Him as He is, everyone will bow their knees in worship…. People become blinded with self-centeredness and all our earthly woes…. But, God is still God and always will be…. Our worship and praise in all circumstances is facing the reality of who God is and all He has done for us in Jesus Christ…. So much could be said and you made many good points….

    Hope you have a most blessed Resurrection Day!

    Love,
    Margaret

    • Hi Margaret,

      I agree, that people become blinded with self-centeredness, and all the cares of their lives! However, God is worthy of all praise, glory, and honor, no matter what state we find ourselves in!

      Being in His presence, here on earth, is literally joy unspeakable, and full of glory! But, when I see Jesus face to face, and I am able to literally worship at the feet of my Savior, oh what a time, what a time, what a time, that will be! “For I reckon, that the sufferings of this present time, are not worthy to be compared with the glory that shall be revealed in us.” Hallelujah!

      Thank you, Margaret. God bless you!

      Paulette

  2. This article is a re-post. Lately, my posts have been dealing with worship, the anointing, and being in the presence of Almighty God! This article came to mind, as a follow-up to the previous posts. I pray, that all who read will be abundantly blessed!

    Paulette

  3. Thank you Minister Paulette.

    After I read your post and listened to the song, I went a hunting on YouTube… you have encouraged me towards P&W this morning 🙂

    “Do you worship the Lord in spirit and in truth, no matter the circumstances you are facing? Do you lay prostrate before the Lord, submissively and humbly, overcome by being in the presence of Almighty God? Do tears fall from your eyes, simply because you are meditating on Jesus the Christ? Do you offer up the sacrifice of praise, even when you don’t feel like it physically, or even emotionally? ”
    Praise flows when life is good. I have no trouble lifting Him up and spending considerable time in worship when life is going the way I want it to. Different story when the painful times come. I have to be like David and ‘will myself’ to bless Him – regardless. It is easier to say it than it is to do it but I will bless Him anyway. I choose to praise Him today.

    One of my favourite songs is Alvin Slaughter’s Sacrifice of Praise … I find it helps to lift my spirit to a whole new level and the things that bug me fade to nothingness as I zone in on lifting Him up. When I can’t find words within me, I dive into the scriptures or seek out something that has already been written that expresses the way I feel. Thank you for this post today.

    I thank you for your ministry, Sister Paulette. May He always bless and keep you and pour His peace upon you over and over again.

    Blessings,
    ann

    Sidebar: I told my sister I was hiding from your blog. He is working something through/in me and you keep standing on my toes. (thank you!) If you lived anywhere near me, I would be sure you passed by my window and heard our discussions 🙂
    I am thankful for the God we serve… the one that can bring support, encouragement and confirmation from the one closest to us or from one miles and miles away. Thank you for being obedient to Him 🙂

    • Hi Ann,

      “Praise flows when life is good.” This is true! But as you also said, sometimes we have to “will” ourselves to worship the Lord! Quoting this Scripture isn’t enough, “I will bless the Lord at all times, His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” Saying it is one thing, but doing it is something else, altogether! Worship is a lifestyle, not just something we do, when it suits us. Even when we find ourselves in the valley, our God is still worthy to be praised, and we must worship Him in spirit and in truth! Oh yes! It might be tight, but it’s right!

      You did it again! The song is absolutely beautiful! Are you familiar with the Music Ministry of Earnest Pugh? The song “Father I Worship You” is awesome! A few days ago, my sister told me about this particular artist, when I asked her for suggestions for Gospel Artist of the Week. When you have a moment, I would appreciate you going into your treasures, and sharing some of them, on the Gospel Artist of the Week page. (Please???) 🙂

      Parts of the sidebar made me chuckle. I’m sure you can figure out which parts. 🙂 Seriously though, may the Lord continue to work through, and in you, as you willingly place yourself on the Potter’s Wheel, to be molded into who the Lord has called you to be, by “Divine Design!”

      “I am thankful for the God we serve… the one that can bring support, encouragement and confirmation from the one closest to us or from one miles and miles away.” That is so true! You have been an encouragement to me, more than you will ever know! I thank God for you!

      May we all continually strive to come to a lifestyle of worship and praise, regardless of our circumstances!

      Paulette

  4. Absolutely awesome teaching, Paulette! I read it twice to take it all in. Worship is birthed in the heart that honors God. We are told in Scripture God knew those who “came to him with words but their hearts were far from him.” It starts with surrender and then praises God for who he is!

    Great message, Paulette!

    • Thank you, Marianne. I truly appreciate your words of encouragement. “Worship is birthed in the heart that honors God.” So true and beautifully stated! You described the heart that God seeketh after. Yes, worship begins in the heart, and manifests outwardly. I agree, that it starts with total surrender unto our Lord, after which praise and worship flows out of our hearts, and goes to our Lord, as a sweet aroma in His nostrils! Praise God! He’s awesome!

      I always enjoy your comments, as well as your posts. I get so much out of them, and I am so grateful for that! I look forward to reading your upcoming blog post. May the Lord continue to bless you, and to use you for His glory! 🙂

      Paulette

  5. I’m so glad that you re-posted this! I didn’t realize I hadn’t subscribed to you, but will . . .so I don’t miss anything. You have a very worshipful spirit and blog and I would imagine, life. 🙂 I desire my worship to be something that I live out every day. Thank you so much for ministering to us. God bless you as you praise and worship, even in the difficult trials you face.
    love,deb

    • Hi Debbie,

      ” I desire my worship to be something that I live out every day.” Wonderful! These words speak the sentiments of my heart! “My soul thirsteth after thee O God.” I thought of the song titled, “My Worship Is for Real.” Staying in the presence of the Lord, and worshiping Him in spirit and in truth, are what is carrying me through this difficult trial! Bless His holy name!

      Thank you, Debbie! You have encouraged my heart, once again! May God bless you!

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

