Lord, Double My Anointing

And Samuel said unto Jesse, Are here all thy children? And he said, There remaineth yet the youngest, and behold, he keepeth the sheep. And Samuel said unto Jesse, Send and fetch him: for we will not sit down till he come hither. And he sent, and brought him in. Now he was ruddy, and withal of a beautiful countenance, and goodly to look to. And the LORD said, Arise, anoint him: for this is he. (I Samuel 16:11- 12). But my horn shalt thou exalt like the horn of an unicorn: I shall be anoined with fresh oil (Psalms 92:10). Moreover whom He did predestinate, them He also called: and whom He called, them He also justified: and whom He justified, them He also glorified. What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us (Romans  8:30-31). 

What is the anointing? What does it mean to be anointed? To anoint means to smear a person, usually with oil, for the purpose of setting apart, as a sign of official appointment to office, and as a symbol of God’s power resting upon an individual, that God might perform wondrous works through that person. God will also place His anointing upon us miraculously, without the laying on of hands! After King Saul had been rejected by the LORD, because he did not perform the commandments of the LORD, Samuel the prophet was instructed by the LORD to anoint David to be king, although not at that time. God had in mind an appointed time to place David on the throne, as King over Israel. “Then Samuel took the horn of oil, and anointed him in the midst of his brethren: and the spirit of the LORD came upon David from that day forward.” David was also a gifted musician. He was a cunning player on the harp. After the spirit of the LORD departed from Saul, and an evil spirit from the LORD troubled him, the servants of Saul sought out a man who was a cunning player on an harp. David was the man. In I Samuel 16:23, it is said, “And it came to pass, when the evil spirit from God was upon Saul, that David took an Harp, and played with his hand: so Saul was refreshed, and was well, and the evil spirit departed from him. (Read I Samuel: 15-16:1-13) In I Samuel: 17, David, a ruddy young lad went forth in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom Goliath had defied; slew Goliath, a champion out of the camp of the Philistines, with a stone and a sling! Truly, wondrous works are wrought, when the anointing, or the Spirit of the Lord is upon one’s life!

In the New Testament, when one has been filled with the Holy Ghost, the anointing, or presence and power of God, indwells the believer. God uses anointed and chosen vessels, to perform wondrous works on the earth, all to the glory of His great and matchless name! Everyone has not been anointed to pastor, or called to preach from the pulpit. Some have been called to be apostles or prophets. While others are called to minister through music, whether a choir director, a psalmist, a songwriter, or musician. Some have been anointed to operate in the areas of gifts of healings, and of helps. Some have been called and anointed to teach the gospel of Jesus Christ, while others have been called to exhort. Ephesians 4:11-13 says, “And He gave some, apostles; and some, prophets; and some, evangelists; and some, pastors and teachers; verse 12 says, For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, the edifying of the body of Christ: verse 13 states, “Till we all come in the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, unto a perfect man, unto the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ.” Although it is expedient that we operate in the anointing, If we do not operate in the gifts that the Lord hath given unto us out of love, which is  interpreted charity, we become as sounding brass, or a tinkling symbol. When anyone has been anointed by God, it is important that they stay in the presence of God, that God would continue to fill them with His presence and power. To carry a weighty anointing on one’s life, there must be great sacrifice, suffering, and self-denial. It takes studying to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of truth. We must lay aside every weight, and the sins that doth so easily beset us. So, the body of Christ has been fitly joined together, and as such, we must operate in the gifts and callings that have been assigned to our hands. Although we may be gifted and talented, if we are not filled with the anointing power of the Holy Ghost, our gifts will not be effective. I admonish you to strive to the filled with the power of God, His Holy Spirit! Then you will have this testimony: “For it is not I, but it is Christ, who worketh within and through me.

Lord, double my anointing! I want to be anointed with fresh oil! I want my heart, my mind, and my soul, to be smeared with the anointing power of the Holy Ghost, that I might be used  by Thee, O God! It is the anointing that makes the difference in our lives! “God’s presence and power are resident in the anointing!” If you want the anointing power of the Holy Ghost to rest upon your life, stay in the presence of the Lord! Seek His face, not His hand. Keep your ear to God’s mouth! Fast and pray without ceasing! Much prayer, much power! Some prayer, some power! No prayer, no power! Are you walking in your calling? Are you walking in the anointing power of the Holy Ghost? Today, why not ask the LORD to double your anointing, so that the “Kabod of God”, His weighty presence, will rest upon your life? Feel free to leave a comment. May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

Resource: Holman Bible Dictionary

9 comments on “Lord, Double My Anointing

  1. LORD, DOUBLE MY ANOINTING!!! Oh . . . My . . . WOW! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this devotional for it spoke the sentiments of my heart. God had been dealing with me on being obedient/ walking in obedeince for obedience is better than sacrifice. He completely and totally removed all fear and replaced it with His Word and the many promises He has spoken over my life. And now I am able to walk in boldness and confidence. My desire is to be pleasing in God’s eyesight and be who He has called me to be. I believe that there has been a release in the atmosphere! It’s harvest time! The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few. We have been anointed, appointed and called for such a time as this, and the time has come – the time is now! “Lord, release your power and let your presence fall!”

    • Hi Crystal,

      It’s always great to hear from you! It’s wonderful to see that you are still on fire for the Lord! You are very gifted, but more importantly than that, I know that the anointing rests upon your life! God has not given you or anyone else, the spirit of fear, but of power, and of love, and a sound mind! Praise God!

      “It’s harvest time! The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few.” Amen, Amen! It most certainly is harvest time! I’m so glad to hear that your desire, is to be pleasing in God’s sight! Stay focused, and don’t lose heart! Your gift will make room for you, but it is the anointing on your life that is going to make the difference! Keep in touch. I’ll be praying for you, and I solicit your prayers. Tell your mom that I said hello! God bless you, and go for God, with all of your might!

      Love you,

      Paulette

  2. Oh Paulette this is such a rich article to read… you are bringing forth spiritual food full of Truth. A joy to read. I fully agree. I will give a link to this article on my blog as I want others to be blessed by these teachings. And the painting of young humble David with the ugly jealous looks of his brothers is so telling. Some people are jealous of the anointed ones.But God will make room for our gifting, It’s over 30 years since I was baptised with the Holy Spirit and started writing songs and playing instruments.It was all of the LORD… yet there have only been a handful of times where I have had an opportunity to sing in a “church” setting. It seems too late. Where else can I share except here and on Youtube? Yet the internet is unlimited! Such an opportunity. WOW!

    Oh if only new beleivers can get good teaching about the Holy Spirit and how to work with the Him … and yes, keep that anointing on their lives. It is worth more than the expensive perfumed oils the woman poured out on our Lord’s feet.
    It is worth turning off the TV for…. or what price????? The Father is so long suffering and forging as we struggle and learn to walk in His ways… forsaking our own ideas and agendas.

    Can I please ask you to pray for me to receive a “double portion” as I seek to face the video camera. There is also the technical side of videoing etc that I still have to master and keep putting off. Only the anointing breaks the yoke. “Psalmists” are a dime a dozen these days… but it’s not just being a singer… it’s bringing forth the Lord’s Song as Living Words from a heart that is in Holy Communion with Him. There are so many songs to share and I have had panic attacks and fear of rejection and doubts to deal with. I know through more prayer, tears and worship it will come forth… and I admit I have been too lax. There is no one else to ask for prayer from on this level… it’s actually to help release me into public ministry after years in the closet. There had never been a laying on of hands to appoint me to this or recognition from a pastor / authority. The acknowledgement and training up in the Gifts of the Holy Spirit can be pretty pathetic in many churches. The “Pastor” does it all. You know what I mean. There is so much greiving of the Holy Spirit!

    That is why I ONLY look directly to the Father and Yeshua / Jesus for their “spiritual covering”. This is their calling and doing in my life. I spent years searching for a pastor and church family but there was none. I am to minister rather than look to be ministered to. Time alone is all preparation. All GLORY to God. I have an open door here and I must gather His strength to walk through it. It has seemed impossible but is getting closer to coming into reality. An overdue baby! LOL

    I have set my heart since yesterday on doing it FOR HIM and for those who he wants me to minister to… and try to forget about myself. Yes it is about self sacrifice. You know what I mean. I only want to help build up the Body of Messiah in Love.The days are flying by… millions are going to hell because we haven’t done enough. (sorry for long post)

    Bless your heart after God… Amein Susan.

    • Susan,

      Thank you for your kind words, and for linking to this article. It is the anointing power of the Holy Ghost, that makes the difference in our lives! It isn’t enough to be extraordinarily gifted and talented! It is the anointing that breaks every yoke of bondage! It is the Holy Ghost within us, which is the agent of change, and it is the difference maker in the lives of God’s people! It takes being in the presence of Almighty God daily, that the anointing may rest upon us! Yes, it means sacrificing and spending time in our secret closets, turning off the television sets, turning off the cell phones, and spending time in the presence of the Lord, that we might be used by Him! “It is worth more than the expensive perfumed oils the woman poured out on our Lord’s feet.” So, so true!

      I will definitely touch and agree with you, that the Lord would give you a double portion of His anointing power, that you might go forth in His power! – “Psalmists” are a dime a dozen these days… but it’s not just being a singer… it’s bringing forth the Lord’s Song as Living Words from a heart that is in Holy Communion with Him. – Again, I must agree with you on this point. What God has for you, it is for you. God has not given you the spirit of fear, but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind! Go forth, as you are lead of the Lord to do so! You will definitely be in my prayers. God bless you!

      Paulette

  3. Pingback: The Anoining of the Holy Spirit – LINK to Paulette’s Blog | Bride of Messiah

  4. When I felt the anointing of the Lord today I began to write, and as I looked back at some of my other postings and writing I didn’t experience the same anointing – some of them were just about me, so I want to have a double portion of anointing so I can be an effective minister of writing and that God will not only bless me, but bless the hearts of the people I am writing to.

    • Hello,

      Thank you for stopping by. I enjoyed your comment, and I really appreciate you taking the time to write it.

      It is truly my desire, to be a blessing to all who visit this site. It is my hope, that God’s presence would be felt, and that lives would be touched and changed, after having read what the Lord has given me to write. I will pray that the Lord will give you a double anointing, that you might minister under His mighty power, to those He sends your way! God bless you, and please visit again!

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

