Praise and Worship

praise_and_worshipII Chronicles 7:1-4, tells of the Consecration of the Temple that was built by Solomon. It speaks of the manifestation of the presence of the Lord in the Temple. “Now when Solomon had made an end of praying, the fire came down from heaven, and consumed the burnt offering and the sacrifices; and the glory of the LORD filled the house. And the priests could not enter into the house of the LORD, because the glory of the LORD had filled the LORD’s house. And when all the children of Israel saw how the fire came down, and the glory of the LORD upon the house, they bowed themselves with their faces to the ground upon the pavement, and worshipped, and praised the LORD, saying, for He is good; for His mercy endureth for ever. Then the King and all the people offered sacrifices before the LORD.” When the body of Christ worships corporately, burnt offerings and sacrifices, are not brought to the temple. Instead, we are to present our bodies unto the LORD. Romans 12:1 says, “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.”

We were made to worship the LORD! We were created to give God glory! When we worship Him in spirit and in truth, be it in our secret closets, or when we worship corporately, we too are blessed, after having been in the presence of Almighty God! I am passionate when it comes to praise and worship! The Word of God says, “In His presence is fullness of joy! At thy right Hand, there are pleasures for evermore.” There is nothing that can equal the awe-inspiring, majestic, magnificent, and breathtaking experience, of being in the presence of Almighty God! As a Praise and Worship Leader, I had the awesome privilege of ushering the saints of the Most High God into His presence! The fact that I am a true worshiper, from the very core of my being, was one of the characteristics that qualified me for this job. A true worshiper, is familiar with the fragrance, or the aroma of the anointing! In fact, “We are the fragrance of Christ to this world, the fruit of the Spirit.” It is important, that a Praise and Worship Leader be familiar with being in the presence of God, as well as to be anointed and filled with the power of the Holy Spirit. It is the Spirit of the Lord, that smears us with the anointing, which destroys every yoke of bondage, and makes the difference in the worship service. That means spending quality time in the presence of God, that His anointing power rests upon us! It means fasting and seeking God’s 1857face, and going into our secret closets and worshiping the Lord daily! We need a word from the Lord! When we stand before the saints of God, we must decrease, so that God can increase! A Praise and Worship Leader will not serve effectively, if they are not regular visitors to the Throne of Grace! It is also vitally important, for Praise and Worship Leaders to be familiar with the “language” of praise and worship. This familiarity is developed by studying the Psalms, and other Scriptures that give praise and worship to God. These Scriptures should be meditated upon, and memorized, so the ministry will be more efficacious. The Word of God says, “Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” The Music Ministry is also an integral part of the worship experience, because the musicians are a part of the worship team, and as such, must press into the presence of the Lord, as well. We must strive to be with one accord, in order to go before the congregation as a united front. When serving in this capacity, one must be sensitive to the presence, direction, and move of Almighty God! I give myself away, so He can use me! When we praise God, we are giving thanks unto Him, for what He has done in our lives! When we worship, it is because we are acknowledging God, because of who He is! We are not asking God for anything! We are simply speaking well of Him, adoring Him, and rendering unto Him heartfelt admiration, because He is God! I should also interject, that not only should Pastors, Church Leaders, and Praise and Worship Leaders spend quality time in the presence of the Lord, but the body of Christ in general should present their bodies as living sacrifices, holy and acceptable unto God, our reasonable service. Then, when we come together corporately, we become a strong army of worshipers, giving God praise, glory, and honor! I Peter 2:9 tells us, “But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should show forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvelous light.” Praise our God!

 II Corinthians 14:40, says, “Let all things be done decently and in order.” However, Church Leaders often get a bit too caught up in maintaining order in the sanctuary, and rigidly following the program for a service, to the point of literally forgetting about God, and that He should be the center of the worship service! Well, sometimes the Lord has something to say about that! Sometimes, the Lord wants to take center stage, as is His right! After all, praise and worship are all about God, and not about us! He is the King of kings, and Lord of lords! He wants His train to fill the temple, and He wants to fill the house with smoke!!! When we come together corporately, we come together so that God can meet with His people. Sometimes God wants to do a new thing in the lives of His people! Pastors and Church Leaders should also be sensitive to the move of the Spirit of God in the service! At times, the preacher may not be able to render a sermon during a service, because God wants to move in a special way! The choir may not be able to sing, and the secretary may not be able to give the announcements. Have you ever been in attendance during a service, when the Lord just stepped in and took over the proceedings, thus negating protocol? I can attest to the fact, that it is a glorious experience! The Doxa of God, or the glory of God, permeates the atmosphere! You leave the sanctuary, knowing without a doubt, that God had orchestrated the service, and the congregation was blessed beyond measure! The Bible says, quench not the Spirit! When we do, we are refusing to follow His leading! That is why on many occasions, the LORD of the house, God Almighty, is not in attendance! We forget about God, which causes a service to be arid, boring, uninspiring, and without anointing, and we leave the sanctuary the same way we entered; broken, hurting, depressed, lost, and without hope! “These things ought not so to be!” Let God have His way in the service, and we will be changed by His mighty power! May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

Resource: 20090531_AM_What_is_the_anointing.pdf

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 comments on “Praise and Worship

  1. Thank you, Minister Paulette 🙂

    “II Corinthians 14:40, says, “Let all things be done decently and in order.” However, Church Leaders often get a bit too caught up in maintaining order in the sanctuary, and rigidly following the blueprint or program for a service, to the point of literally forgetting about God, and that He should be the center of the worship service!”

    A friend once told me never to yearn for the creation more than the Creator. I think that’s an important thing to bear in mind…

    I am learning that praise and worship is a lifestyle. I am trying to ensure it is not conditional on where I am or who I am with. It’s hard if I do it on my own 🙂

    Those around may not understand why I jump or shout or sing or dance the way I do. I don’t always get it either but I love the freedom that comes with being able to worship Him from my whole heart, soul, body …

    Israel Houghton has a fantastic song that says
    ” To worship You I live
    To worship You I live
    I live to worship You …”
    If this is true, then I ought to live my worship and worship as I live. Not easy on my own but I’m learning to let the Holy Spirit lead 😉

    Blessings and thanks for the sparks!
    ann

    Big fan of giving myself away 😉 to be used by Him. Thanks for the link! Here’s one of my faves back to you.

    Israel Houghton “Away”

    • Hi Ann,

      When we worship from the heart, we lose track of time, of space, and of who is around us, because nothing else matters other than being in the presence of the Lord!

      As I read your comment, I thought of King David, and how he danced before the LORD with all his might, when the ark of the LORD was returned to the City of David. When Saul’s daughter looked through a window, and saw King David leaping and dancing before the LORD, she despised him in her heart. It didn’t matter to King David, what she thought of his worship, because he was worshiping his God, with all he had within him! When we worship the LORD, we must have an attitude of worship like unto King David!

      I am familiar with Israel Houghton, but I’ve never heard this song of worship before. Thank you so much for sharing it! I enjoyed the song, as well as your comment. May the Lord continue to bless you, richly!

      Paulette

  2. Thank you so much, Paulette, for taking us back to the roots of worship, for what it is meant to be and how it is to be lived out in our lives. 🙂
    Ann’s comment has me thinking of the song Undignified by Matt Redman. 🙂 Praying to let my worship be all about Him. I heard of a sad situation recently that probably goes on much too often, where the congregation criticized rather meanly the praise and worship leader, critiquing how he looked, how he dressed, and the octave he sang in. It saddened me for this young man and for the people of the church who would come to judge rather than worship.
    God bless you and keep you always in His service! You lift me to a better place!

    • Hi Debbie,

      Thank you so much, for adding such a thought-provoking and heartfelt comment! Oh yes, we were created to worship the Father! “Praying to let my worship be all about Him.” So, so good! Worship is all about God! May we worship Him in spirit and in truth. I thought of a song as I read your comment, titled, “My Worship is For Real.” If I’m not mistaken, Ann told me about that song. 🙂

      The situation you mentioned in your comment regarding the praise and worship leader, is a sad situation indeed! So often, man looketh on the outward appearance of a person, when God is looking at the person’s heart!

      I am always very encouraged by your comments. Thank you! May God bless you! 🙂

      Paulette

  3. To be in a Church service where God is truly in control as you have described would be awesome. I experience this in my private devotions and meditation, but never as part of a Church family. Yes, there are times when His presence is truly felt and He blesses in an amazing way, but I believe He wants even more. Maybe one day . . .

    • Hi Angela,

      I do hope that you will one day experience the move of God, wherein God saturates the atmosphere with His mighty presence when worshiping with your Church family! I know I did not do justice to describing this awesome experience! It’s not about being emotional, but it is all about being in the presence of God, and experiencing the “Kabod of God “, or His “weighty presence.” There is no experience like unto being in the awe inspiring presence of Almighty God!

      In addition to the experience described in I Chronicles 7:1-4, Acts 2:1-4 comes to mind, which describes the experience in the upper room, on the day of Pentecost, when all who were in attendance, were filled with the Holy Ghost, and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance.

      Thank you so much for sharing this comment with us, Angela. May God continually bless you, and keep you in His loving care!

      Paulette

  4. Oh that more pastors may lay down their “sermons” and announcements and bow down before the LORD… for our meeting together is to hear the Word of the Lord… but firstly to come into His Presence. He is the Living Word as well as the written Word. Some forget that the Father Himself can minister to us and teach us Himself in that time of worship!
    I have never been in a meeting as you describe.Oh what will heaven be likethen?… talk about clouds of Insence!
    I’ve felt the Holy Spirit grieving inside me… sometimes for days afterwards when I’ve gone to a meeting and started to get a prophecy but no time was allowed to bring it forth for the edification of the Body of Messiah… because it was “time ” for the offering or something else on the programme. How many in the Bride are languishing for spiritual sustenance? How many ministers realize they are boring and ineffective?
    Thank God we can come to Him at home or any time we desire by simply coming into the Holy of Holies in our own hearts… where the Holy Ruach Spirit dwells. What a Mystery this is. The Holy Communion of YAHVEH with His worshipers! Yeshua called the Samaritan woman at the well to this… John 4
    Blessings from Susan… a singer of the Lord’s Song.

    • Hello Susan… a singer of the Lord’s song,

      I enjoyed your comment. Thank you so much for stopping by. You are so right! When we come together corporately, we come to hear a word from the Lord. Sometimes, the Lord wants to do a new thing in the lives of His people. Sometimes, the Lord wants to minister to us, in a special, special way, during the worship experience!

      “When we all get to heaven, what a day of rejoicing that will be. When we all see Jesus, we will sing and shout the victory!” After reflecting on those services, wherein the Lord simply stepped in, filled the house with smoke, and literally saturated the atmosphere with His presence I can only wonder, because I cannot begin to imagine what it will be like in heaven! My, my, my! “Thank God we can come to Him at home or any time we desire by simply coming into the Holy of Holies in our own hearts.” Spending time in our secret closets with the Lord, and allowing Him to move by His spirit, is an awesome experience, indeed! I believe that in order for the Lord to move by His spirit in the corporate worship, the type of experience I attempted to describe, begins with the Leader/s of the congregation, and sprinkles down upon the congregants. Some church leaders may simply prefer worshiping in their secret closets.

      It will be my pleasure, to fellowship with you. I will visit your blog again soon! May the Lord continually bless you, and keep you in His care.

      Paulette

      • You are a blessing to me already Paulette..thank you..
        I had a special day yesterday and spent all night writting about it for my blog /website. It has left me with a new way of praying… by starting with my “nothingness” and only tears of repentance to offer the LORD for His Holy Vials.Then He guides into prayer and the New Song or even prophecy. I have been singing a new song of you guessed it… “Holy Holy…Lord God Almighty…we are yours LORD, we are yours…”Just read Rev. 14 ! a sound from Heaven like a great waterfall or the rolling of mighty thunder..it was the singing of a choir accompanied by harps!… they sang a wonderful new song in front of the throne of God…” (LIVING BIBLE VERSION)Wow…we are just practicing! My heart feels very stirred and full now.
        Thank you for your Love towards me today… very EDIFYING after years alone with little fellowship or encouragement… good timing sister. Looking forward to more as the Holy Spirit leads.
        I have committed myself to do more websites for the Father…to share about His Beloved Son. They have done all they can…they await willing servants and friends to work with, in and through.on this earth…until He comes for us… His Precious Bride. HalleluYAH
        Love and blessings from Susan

        • Hi Susan,

          It is truly a blessing to me, as well as a humbling experience, whenever the Lord uses me to bless someone else! Thank you for your words of kindness!

          It is wonderful that you are seeking to decrease, that the Lord would increase in your life! Like you, I recognize my “nothingness”, apart from Almighty God! My heart’s desire, is to worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness, to surrender my all unto Him, and to honor Him with the fruit of my lips, giving thanks unto His great name! He alone is worthy of all praise and glory! Bless His holy name!

          You are so right. We are just practicing now! May the Lord bless you as you continue to share the love of Jesus, that is ostensibly overflowing in your heart!

          Paulette

  5. WOW!! Thank you for sharing the link that has brought me to this post! So much to say about this awesome word! I LOVE order, and so does God. However, we must understand that His thoughts are not our thoughts, and His ways are not our ways. As a matter of fact, everything about Him is far above what we have the capacity to be, do or comprehend. So what we deem out of order, may be acceptable in the sight of the Lord. A sincere worship, though it may disrupt the flow MAN has intended for a service, is NOT out of order. To feel the obligation to stand and preach a word that I have prepared after a mighty, undeniable move of God is prideful and suggests that I believe that I have something to add to what God has already accomplished. I LOVE this post and will be printing it to read again during my time of meditation. You have known me since my beginning in music ministry and I remember when the shift occurred. When it ceased to be about the music, and ministry became my focus. When I became more concerned about what God wanted to hear, than what songs were most popular at the time. There is no greater honor than to be used by God. I can recall times where I would be sitting at the organ, playing and singing unto the Lord and feeling like I was floating in the air. Just the weightless feeling of His presences, where none of my troubles, cares, or circumstances matter. While God does inhabit the praises of His people, worship gives you an opportunity to go to Him. To gain a reprieve from the cares of this world and simply bask in his glory. I wrote a song that to some would sound suicidal, but it was truly about the place of worship. The lyrics are “I wanna be where you are/I wanna be where all pain disappears/I wanna be where it’s all about you and I/Lord I wanna be where you are.”

    I think if we could make one small adjustment to our approach to entering the house of the Lord, it would make a world of difference. If you build me a house, put my name on it, and tell me it belongs to me, then you should expect me to be there when you arrive and YOU would be MY guest. If we expected God to be home when we arrived at His house and were more concerned with Him welcoming US into His home than vice versa, we may get different results. We may then be able to live out Psalm 100 because we are not walking into an empty house and asking the master of the house to come home. We are coming to His house and asking that He allow us to come in and spend some time with Him.

    I was working on a sermon entitled “Created to Rule the Night,” and it talked about creation and how God created the two lights (greater/lesser). If we could understand our role as the lesser light, or the moon, we would understand that we are incapable of generating our own light. The only way we can truly glorify God and be effective vessels is to remain in His presence. The light that we shine is merely a reflection of the light that He produces! That is why men see OUR good works, but HE gets the glory. It is not about us, the the God that shines through us! I cannot lead the people if they cannot see my light (His light on me).

    I could go on and on, but you have blessed me yet again!!! I love you Auntie!!

    • Hi Tim,

      This is yet another beautiful expression of your heart for worship! I love what you said about recognizing when the shift in your music ministry occurred! You knew exactly when it stopped being about the music, and it started being about “What God wanted to hear.” Awesome!

      “And the priests could not enter into the house of the LORD, because the glory of the LORD had filled the LORD’s house.” The fact that the Lord would feel unwelcome in His OWN house, is problematic. Tim, your comment was wonderful, and it was definitely a blessing to me!

      Love you back! 🙂

Leave a pearl of wisdom

