Don’t Sweat It

images

Matthew 6:25  Therefore I tell you not to worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and your body more important than clothes? Verse 33: But seek ye first His kingdom and His righteousness and all these things will be given to you as well. Verse 34: therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:25-34) NIV

Are you heavy laden with burdens, and the cares of this life? Are your knees buckling under the pressures from without and within? I want to remind you of the fact, that you have a friend in Jesus. God’s Word tells us to cast our cares upon Him, because He careth for us! He loves us so! When we are weak, then we become strong in the strength of the Lord! God’s grace is sufficient for us, and His strength is made perfect in  weakness. Jesus wants us to seek Him first, and His righteousness. He wants us to humble ourselves, seek His face, and turn from our wicked ways. Then He will forgive our sins, and heal our land. (Read II Chronicles 7:14) He will heal our broken hearts, and He will heal our hurts. He may not always move our mountains, but He will give us the strength to climb those mountains. He will supply our needs, according to His riches in glory. Don’t get stressed out and bogged down, because we can go to God in prayer, and tell Him all about our troubles! His line is never busy, and He is a present help in trouble. Jesus knows how much we can bear.

Stress is anxiety, pressure and tension. When stress builds up, we become anxious and we worry. Stress causes mental and emotional strain. It is a known fact, that some people develop high blood pressure, while others may experience a pounding heart, dizziness, restlessness, and ulcers, as well as other health issues due to being stressed out. When suffering from pre-existing illnesses, stress will exacerbate those symptoms. So it is in our best interests to turn everything over to Jesus, and let Him work it out. My mother said to me the other night, “If you’re going to pray don’t worry, and if you’re going to worry don’t pray!” In Matthew 11:28-29 Jesus tells us, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Jesus can work it out. He knows what’s best for us! Don’t sweat it. Give it to Jesus. Give Him your burdens, your cares, your troubles, your illnesses, your financial struggles, your family issues, and any other struggle that comes to your mind. Put your trust in the Lord! God is able! He won’t fail! May God bless you abundantly, today and every day.

Smokie Norful-God Is Able

14 comments on “Don’t Sweat It

  1. Thank you so much for confirming what He has always told me . . .don’t worry! I love what your mom said too! A wise woman, like you! Sometimes I don’t realize that I am stressed . . .but He does. And He’s had a word for me lately . . .relax. 🙂 (you mean I can, Lord? It’s okay too? ha!)
    God bless you as your reach out with His word to others today as we all cast our cares on Him!

    • Hi Debbie,

      God definitely has a way of confirming His word. He doesn’t allow His word to return unto Him void. He is just awesome that way! Since my siblings and I were children, my mother has always instilled in us, that if we were going to pray, we shouldn’t worry, and if we were going to worry, then why pray. Every now and then, we still need to be reminded of this fact. I love the word that the Lord has for you, “relax.” It is wonderful to know, that we can just relax and rest in Him, isn’t it?

      Thank you so much for stopping by, and leaving a beautiful comment! God bless you, as well!

      Resting in Him,

      Paulette

  2. Hello my dear friend I’ve enjoyed the read here and so well done,God is such a present help to us in all of our troubles,right now I’m feeling so bad from the pain in my body but I know God is with me and he will never leave me Amen. Have a wonderful evening and keep up the good work.
    Love ya 😀 😀

    • Thank you, Pat.

      The arms of flesh will fail us, even when one has the best of intentions, but Jesus never fails! God is with you, as you go through this painful time. He knows how much you can bear. He will not leave you comfortless. I will keep you in prayer. God bless you! I hope you’ll feel better soon.

      Paulette

  3. Thank you, Minister Paulette

    We are so prone to forget even these basic of truths…. thank you for the reminder.

    I like what your mother said also 🙂 (I take it she is a minister as well? ) I was once told that when we worry we make God a liar because He says He can bear all our burdens but we prefer to carry some ourselves. 🙂 I don’t know if there’s a biblical basis for this, but I think it bears thinking about.

    “He may not always move our mountains, but He will give us the strength to climb those mountains.”
    I like this mucho!! 🙂 (I prefer to think He should move them but sometimes He wants me to build muscles by climbing over. 🙂 )

    Blessings much, Minister P
    ann

    • Thank you Ann,

      Sometimes, it is important to get back to the basics. Forgetting about the little details, can be disastrous. When I would have been an emotional wreck, it was the saying of my mother that would come to me, that would make things once again “right in the world.” (Yes, my mom is a minister. :-)) “I was once told that when we worry we make God a liar because He says He can bear all our burdens but we prefer to carry some ourselves.” Now that is food for thought. Thanks for sharing that.

      Like you, I would much rather the mountains that are in my life, be moved. However, sometimes God has something different to say about that. I would have to agree, that God sometimes wants us to build and tone our spiritual muscles! During the climb, the muscles get sore, but the outcome is wonderful!

      Thank you for such an uplifting comment. God bless!

      Paulette

  4. # Rule number one is, don’t sweat the small stuff. Rule number two is, it’s ALL small stuff.

    Corrie ten Boom said – Any concern too small to be turned into prayer is too small to be made into a burden.

    Worrying is like a rocking chair, it gives you something to do, but it gets you nowhere.

    Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, it only saps today of its joy.

    You can never worry your way to enlightenment.

    Do not be afraid of tomorrow; for God is already there.

    I agree that worrying is calling God a liar. I have quoted my little ditty before but I’ll repeat a few lines of it –
    Fear is faith in satan:
    Faith is fearing God.
    Fear says God may fail me!
    Faith knows He keeps His Word.

    • Hi Angela,

      I thought to use, “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff”, as the title of this post. I enjoyed your comment. I really like rule number two! So true! The quotes were great! I also love the way you contrasted Faith and Fear.

      This post was a simple reminder, about what stress does to us, and to remind us that we don’t have to become so stressed out, because we can turn our troubles over to Jesus! When I get stressed out now, the stress will literally throw me into a severe flare up of the RSD! I think this post was more for me, than anyone else, actually. 🙂 I appreciate you, and all who commented, because the comments were helpful to me!

      Take care. God bless!

      Paulette

  5. Hi Paulette, this post was a much-needed reminder for me to cast all my burdens on the Lord. I get a little stubborn and want to fix things on my own, and you have reminded me who is really in charge. God bless you for your wisdom!
    Hope you are doing well, take care!
    Bee

    • Hi Barbee,

      God always has a way of letting us know, “who is really in charge.” I tend to want God to fix things in my time, rather than in His perfect timing! He may not come when I want Him to, but He is an on time God, oh yes He is. Sometimes, the waiting just seems so hard, but I know that God is working things out for my good, when I see the good, and when I don’t see it! God is in control! Thank you for that encouraging comment!

      I hope you are also doing well. God bless you!

      Paula

  6. Hi there auntie! I’m sorry I have been absent for a while. My job is set up on a July-June year, so I just finished the busiest time of my year! I was drawn to this particular post because of the title. When I saw “Don’t Sweat It,” I was instantly reminded of a night on 38th Street when I was having a bad day for whatever reason. As soon as service was over I rushed towards the stairs in the back of the sanctuary to make a speedy exit. You met me there, looked me in the eyes and very calmly said, “Don’t ever let the devil see you sweat.” Those eight words snapped me back to reality, and reality for us as believers is that there is no problem, situation, or circumstance, that is bigger than our God! Just a few weeks ago I was watching Joseph Prince and he said something similar. He said, “Don’t ever say anything that would make the devil think that he is winning!” So I know that even when I FEEL defeated, I DECLARE victory! Aunt Gerry used to sing “These old battles might get hard sometimes but God’s on our side so in the end, we win!” Sometimes it is easier said than done, but we have to trust that even when the night is at its darkest, the sun/Son is still shining.

    Thank you for this encouragement!

    • Hello Nephew!

      It’s great to hear from you! I remember that night on 38th St. It certainly was not by happenstance, that I met you as you attempted to make a speedy exit from the sanctuary that night. God had ordained a “Divine Hook Up”, so there was no getting away from me, LOL! 🙂 Of course, I had not planned to say those eight words to you, but isn’t that just like the Lord? He knows exactly what we have need of, and as always, our God is faithful. What a mighty God we serve!

      “Don’t ever say anything that would make the devil think that he is winning!” So true!!! Thank you. I have been encouraged, and my heart has been made glad. You have brightened my day, and brought a smile to my face. God bless you, Timothy! May the Lord continue to bless you, beyond measure!

      Love you,

      Auntie

  7. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    • Hello Ike,

      Welcome! I’m glad you stumbled upon the blog. I’m glad you enjoyed this post, and I truly hope you were blessed by it. Thank you very much for the compliment! I hope you stumble across the blog again soon! 🙂 May the Lord bless you, and keep you in His care!

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

