What about Repentance?

aranho_u-turn_icon1In those days came John the Baptist, preaching in the wilderness of Judea, And saying, Repent ye: for the kingdom of heaven is at hand (Matthew 3:1-2). The people which sat in darkness saw great light; and to them which sat in the region and shadow of death light is sprung up. From that time Jesus began to preach, and to say, repent: for the kingdom of heaven is at hand (Matthew 4:16-17). Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord (Acts 3:19). The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some men count slackness; but is long-suffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance (II Peter 3:9).

A concept that parents, grandparents, principals, teachers, coaches, Sunday school teachers, etc., have always attempted to instill in children at a very early age, is to say “I’m sorry”, when settling an altercation, if they are guilty of an offense. Do you remember being placed in that uncomfortable and often embarrassing  position when you were the aggressor, and your parent instructed you to say, I’m sorry? Obediently, you repeated those words to the individual that had been on the receiving end of your fury. When you repeated those words, did you really mean it? Were you really sorry for what you had done? Or, were you trying to avoid a punishment, or something a bit more painful? So many times, children are not sorry, and they feel absolutely no remorse for their actions. They simply do as they are told, to diffuse the situation. Although this is a very important lesson for children to learn, they should also be taught, that those words should be uttered, only when coming from a place of contrition.

Today, the biblical teachings on repentance are not the focus of many sermons, as they once were. These teachings are very often considered to be unpopular by many, in the world of Christendom! However, our Lord and Savior commanded that we repent of our sins. During Jesus’ earthly ministry, the scribes and Pharisees questioned His disciples saying, “How is it that He eateth with publicans and sinners? When Jesus heard it, He  saith unto them, They that are whole have no need of the physician, but they that are sick: I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.” Jesus came to seek and to save that which was lost. So many have exhibited an outward show of receiving salvation, without an inward transformation of the heart, the mind, and the soul, much like a child who says, “I’m sorry”, without remorse. Repentance requires change; a change of heart, a change of relationships and lifestyle, and a change of mind. Change is not always easy, nor is it always welcomed! Repentance is, “a change of mind; it means to turn around. In the Biblical sense repentance refers to a deeply seated and thorough turning from self to God. It occurs when a radical turning to God takes place, an experience in which God is recognized as the most important fact of one’s existence.” The Word of God tells us, that faith cometh by hearing, and hearing the  Word of God. When a sinner hears and accepts the Word of God, they are convicted in their hearts. They acknowledge that they are sinners, and they begin to see themselves as Paul described himself in Romans 7:24, when he said, “O wretched man that I am! Who shall deliver me from the body of this death?” When Isaiah saw the LORD, he said, “Woe is me! For I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the LORD of hosts.” When in the presence of Almighty God, we see ourselves as wretched, undone, and unclean! When turning to the Lord, there is a feeling of remorse, one becomes sorrowful because of their sinfulness, and sin is abhorred! There is a turning away from sin, and turning to Christ! It is wonderful to know, that when we come to the Lord with a contrite spirit, He will in no wise cast us out. God will not banish us to a deserted island, to complete this transformation ourselves! No indeed!  Come to the Lord, that your sins might be blotted out. Allow God to work a work on your heart, your mind, your attitude, and your soul. I was dead in trespasses and sins, but praise God I have been made alive through the grace and mercy of God through Christ Jesus! Repent ye therefore, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand! I read an article which said, in true Biblical repentance, there will be three things to occur as God does a work of grace upon the sinner’s heart:

     ~ Conviction – When sin is admitted (Psalm 32:5)      

     ~ Contrition – When sin is abhorred  (II Corinthians 7:10)

     ~ Conversion -When sin is abandoned  (Proverbs 28:13)

turn-around

Scriptures: Acts  2:38, Luke 13:1 Hosea 14:1, Jeremiah 3:6

   

    

16 comments on “What about Repentance?

  1. Thank you so much Paulette for this post!

    True repentance is not preached enough from our pulpits any more. We have replaced conviction with psychobabble and sanctification with self-help! As you said “In the Biblical sense repentance refers to a deeply seated and thorough turning from self to God. It occurs when a radical turning to God takes place, an experience in which God is recognized as the most important fact of one’s existence.”
    Oh I am so glad I came to the place where I realized I could not help myself and that I NEEDED GOD! May a great host read this post and turn from teachers who tickle their ears.

    • Hello Pastor J,

      Amen! Too often, biblical doctrine has been replaced with the doctrine of man! It is expedient, that everyone studies the Word of God for themselves.

      “Oh I am so glad I came to the place where I realized I could not help myself and that I NEEDED GOD!” Praise God, praise God! I was lost and without hope in this world! I praise God for the transforming power of the grace of God through Christ Jesus! He is my everything, and without Him I am absolutely nothing!

      Thank you so much for sharing today, Pastor J. I am always blessed by your comments, as well as your blog! God bless!

    • God bless you, Pat!

      You are a constant source of encouragement to me. I thank God, for allowing our paths to cross. May God continue to bless you, beyond measure!

      Paulette 🙂

  2. OH, this is such a wonderful post, Paulette! I love how you ended with the three C’s…
    Conviction
    Contrition
    Conversion
    Once I was saved I realized I had much work to do, and those three steps were the basis of working towards true redemption. Thank you for sharing!
    Take care, I hope you are feeling well.
    God bless!

    • Hi Barbee,

      Thank God for His mercy and grace! We are all sinners, saved by grace! Isn’t it wonderful that He looked beyond our faults, and saw that we were in need of a Savior. He was willing to sacrifice ALL, to procure salvation for mankind! What a Savior Jesus is! I love Him so!

      Recently, I have been struggling a bit with the RSD. I solicit your prayers, and I will continue to pray for you! Our God is able to do exceedingly abundantly, above all that we can ask or think! God bless you!

  3. Sad to say, the “R” word is hardly heard in our pulpits today.

    Too many people are like young Tommy . . .
    Tommy had trouble pronouncing the letter “R” so his teacher gave him a sentence to practice at home. He had to say constantly “Robert gave Richard a rap in the ribs for roasting the rabbit so rare.” Some days later the teacher asked Tommy to say the sentence and he rattled it off quickly: “Bob gave Dick a poke in the side for not cooking the bunny enough.”

    A lot of people go to great lengths to avoid the “R” word but GOD REQUIRES REPENTANCE. Without repentance there can be no forgiveness. When Christ appeared to the eleven after His resurrection He charged them “that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in His Name among all nations”

    Angela

    • Hello Angela,

      Thank you for such a wonderful comment! It was truly a very clever way to discuss a serious topic, with a bit of humor! 🙂 Enough said!

      God bless you!

  4. Thank you, Minister Paulette

    Beautiful post in a day and age when the Scriptures are being twisted to a state of irrelevance. Thank you for sharing!

    “Repentance requires change; a change of heart, a change of relationships and lifestyle, and a change of mind. Change is not always easy, nor is it always welcomed! ”
    Resisting change may not be the song I sing now but there was a time that I did!! I thought I had repented and I was sure I was saved … I just insisted on doing things my way.:-)

    I was born and raised in a Christian home. Salvation for me was a matter of ‘when’ , never ‘if’. I followed the script and went through the motions without being sure of who I was, who He is or why I needed to follow Him. It wasn’t until I found my back against a wall and a painful option pressing me in that I realized I truly needed Him and that the only way to Him was through full repentance.

    Repentance is a step that cannot be missed. It is such a necessary part of the story. Why would He go off and sacrifice His life so we could live the same sinful way?

    Thankful that there is only one Way and that I didn’t have to earn my keep!

    Blessings,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      It is so true, that Scriptures are being twisted to a state of irrelevance! Many purport themselves to be angels of light, when they are indeed angels of darkness. They are false teachers, presenting a watered-down gospel, and a gospel that is mixed with the doctrine of men.

      “Repent ye therefore, and be converted, that your sins may be blotted out, when the times of refreshing shall come from the presence of the Lord.” It is the will of God that we all come to repentance. Unfortunately, many are in the state of, “Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof.” The Word of God says, “from such turn away.”

      “Repentance is a step that cannot be missed. It is such a necessary part of the story.” Ann, thank you for sharing such a thought provoking comment!

      God bless!

      Paulette

  5. Repentance is something we must do all the time..I know for me everyday I ask Jesus to forgive and I repent of my sins…for there are times that I know I am sinning and then there are times when I am not sure if I am sinning and I for one don’t want to be left out of not repenting so I make sure I do that first before I even being to pray.

    Great post and thanks for visiting my site and leaving your comments. Have a great day

    • Hello Chosenwoman,

      Thank you for adding this thought to the conversation. It is true that we must repent daily! Like you, at the beginning of prayer, I repent and ask the Lord to forgive me for any sin, that I have or may have committed. I ask Him to shine a light from heaven on my soul, and if He finds anything that shouldn’t be, to take it out and strengthen me.

      Thanks for stopping by. God bless you!

  6. I was “saved” by the grace of God in 1990. After I accepted the Lord as my personal savior. When I walked out the door of the house I was in, the air was different and the trees, just everything. Something Transformed inside of me. Although new to me, I accepted it, went and bought a bible I could understand and read a NIV version and was on fire for the Lord. I repented and turned away from my old life and was created new and loved unconditionally by Jesus that day forward. I was a “babe” in Christ and now in 2011 I am still learning, growing and repent of my sins. I praise God that He is my personal savior daily.

    • Hi Jackie,

      At the moment we are pricked in our hearts, and we fall under conviction of the Word of God, that is the beginning of a new life in Christ Jesus! Old things are passed away, behold all things become new. However, as you said, we must continue to go on to follow after the Lord, that we may continue to learn of His precepts, of His principles, and His teachings. May we all continue to follow on to know the Lord.

      Thanks so much for stopping by. God bless you!

      Paulette

  7. I love how that what we cannot do, God has provoided a way for us. It is not by following rules and rugulations, but Galatians 2:20 says it so well: “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I that live, but Christ living in me: and that life which I now live in the flesh I live in faith, the faith which is in the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself up for me.” What I cannot do, Christ now lives it through me.

    Praise God for his amazing work in my life. Thanks, Paulette, for the wonderful teaching you continue to do!

    • Thank you, Sam,

      The grace of God is absolutely amazing! I am so grateful for the miraculous work of the grace of God, in my life! The scripture you quoted, sums it up so beautifully! “What I cannot do, Christ now lives it through me.” Praise God!

      It was nice to hear from you. I thought about you one day last week, and I wondered how you were doing. I hope you’re feeling better. God bless you, Sam!

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

