Come to the Potter’s House

The word which came to Jeremiah from the LORD, saying, arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause thee to hear my words. Then I went down to the potter’s house, and behold, he worked a work on the wheels. And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it. Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying, O house of Israel, cannot I do with you as this potter? Saith the LORD. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, O house of Israel. (Jeremiah 18:1-6) But now, O LORD, thou art our father; we are the clay, and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand. (Isaiah 64:8)

What a powerful word from the LORD! Jeremiah the prophet was sanctified or set apart, to be a prophet unto the nations. The theme of Jeremiah’s prophecies was judgment, but he spoke of repentance and forgiveness, as well. Just as God Almighty is able to do unto Israel and other nations, as the potter can do unto the clay that is marred in his hand, so can He also do unto mankind, His creation! A vessel which is marred in the hand of the potter, is damaged, impaired, or broken. He has the power, as the potter over the clay, to mold and make us into something beautiful, and fit for His service. If Israel or any other nation must repent and turn from their evil ways, so that the wrath of God will not come upon them, so must every one of us repent, or turn from our sinful ways, and ask the Lord for forgiveness. David said to the Lord in Psalms 51:10-11, “Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy Holy Spirit from me.” David sinned against the LORD, when he committed adultery with Bathsheba, and then had her husband Uriah killed on the battlefield. He asked the Lord to have mercy upon him, because he truly had a repentant heart for the sins he had committed. He asked the Lord to cleanse him from the sin that had beset him. He went before the Lord with a contrite spirit. He expressed sincere remorse and sorrow, for what he had done. He prayed that the Lord would deliver him from the bondage of sin. There is no need to be afraid or ashamed to come to Jesus. He came into this world, to seek and to save that which was lost. As the potter does to the clay vessel that is marred in his hand, Jesus can make us another vessel, a vessel unto honor, and not dishonor. He can heal your broken heart. For the spirit of heaviness, He can give you the garment of praise! Come to the Potter’s House and be made whole. He will wash away your sins, and cast them into the depths of the sea, to be remembered not again! You can cast all of your cares upon Him, because He careth for you! Not only does He care for us, but the word says, “We are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.”

When you are living according to the Word of God, and you pray and believe, God will answer your prayers. He will never leave you, nor forsake you. Come to Jesus, with your sin issues and dilemmas. Is there anything too hard for the Lord? He can do anything but fail! If you are not walking according to the will of the Lord, and your life is in pieces, like the marred vessel in the potter’s hand, the LORD can put your life back together again! Come to Jesus, that you might receive salvation! You can be born again, of the water and of the spirit. Stop by the Potter’s House! The LORD will lead you and guide you, into all truth and righteousness! He is Jehovah Jireh, the Lord will Provide. Our God is Jehovah Shalom, the LORD is our Peace. He is Jehovah Shamma, the LORD is There. He is Jehovah Raah, the LORD is my Shepherd. He is Jehovah Tsidkenu, the LORD our Righteousness. He is Jehovah Rapha, the LORD that Healeth thee. He is El Shaddi, the all Sufficient one. He is Elohim, the Creator. Everything you need is in Jesus. He will supply all of your needs, according to His riches in glory. Give your life to Jesus. Do you feel alone? Are you experiencing a difficult time in your life right now? Jesus is the answer, for the world today. Come to Jesus right now. “The Potter wants to put you back together again.” Lord, because you are the Potter and we are the clay, mold us and shape us into who you have called us to be. As the clay on the potter’s wheel, make us again, another vessel. Amen. May the Lord bless you, today and every day!

The Potter’s House-Be Blessed!


10 comments on “Come to the Potter’s House

  1. Oh yes, I love the analogy of the broken clay pot! I was the worst of sinners, completely broken and ashamed, yet our loving Lord did not give up on me. He remolded me and completely changed my life.
    “Jesus can make us another vessel, a vessel unto honor…”
    Praise His Holy Name!!
    Thank you for this wonderful post, and God bless you!!

    • Hi Barbee,

      Bless His holy name! We are all sinners, saved by His grace! I was a wretch undone! I praise God, because Jesus came to save that which was lost! I can truly say that I was lost, but thank God I’m found! He took me and made, something beautiful out of my life, and your life! 🙂

      Thank you so much for your comment. My soul was stirred!

      Paulette

  2. Awesome post, Paulette. It reminded me that I can take rest knowing that the Potter is molding and shaping me for his purpose. It is not of me so I cannot boast. It is his power and his will that is working in me. And the best part of it is that my weaknesses don’t matter for he is able to make me strong.

    Thanks for this wonderful word!

    • Thank you, Marianne.

      Yes, it is such a privilege to know, that when our hearts are pliable, God can mold us and shape us, according to His good pleasure! All glory and praise to God alone! Bless His name! ” And the best part of it is that my weaknesses don’t matter for he is able to make me strong.” I would have to agree. God’s grace is sufficient for us, and His strength is made perfect in our weaknesses! What a mighty God we serve!

      Thank you for stopping by, and for sharing your thoughts with us! God bless!

      Paulette

  3. Thank you, Minister Paulette 🙂

    “A vessel which is marred in the hand of the potter, is damaged, impaired, or broken. He has the power, as the potter over the clay, to mold and make us into something beautiful, and fit for His service. ”
    In a sense, the Potter’s House is not my most favourite place … I don’t like walking around with chips and cracks but going on the wheel is not something I look forward to – even though I ought to! Going through this may be tough but the end result will all be worth it. Thank you for adding the dimension that I am His, to be made into whatever He wants me to be 🙂
    The thought of the pot hopping onto the wheel to mend itself seems quite absurd yet there have been countless times I’ve tried to fix me … how terribly odd of me. Thanks for the beautiful reminders, Paulette.
    My ‘thankful’ today is for the Holy Spirit . I’m even more thankful now – for sending me over here to read this today.

    This Hawkins song was a favourite of the choir at my old church for many many years. Thanks for adding it … the memories are pleasant. 🙂

    Blessings much,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      “In a sense, the Potter’s House is not my most favourite place … I don’t like walking around with chips and cracks but going on the wheel is not something I look forward to – even though I ought to! Going through this may be tough but the end result will all be worth it.” Thank you so much for sharing your perspective on this topic. It’s true, that it isn’t always a pleasant experience to visit the Potter”s House. Sometimes, while we are being molded and made into vessels unto honor, being on the wheel isn’t a comfortable place to be. However, the end results will most definitely be worth it all! There is not much more I can add to this post! As always, you have shared the contents of your heart, so beautifully! For that, I thank you, again.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the video. It has blessed me over and over again. May God bless you, Ann! Continue to share the message of Salvation!

      Paulette

  4. Hi Paulette
    Another challenging and encouraging blog.

    We have both spoken on the Potter’s house before. While we might not like being thumped and shaped at times, we are sooooooo veeerrry thankful for His work and the perfection of His results. We can look back on the times when He has had to “work” us, molding us back to His likeness, and thank Him wholeheartedly for the experience.

    Angela

    • Hi Angela,

      How have you been? How are your projects coming along? I pray all is well with you and yours.

      A few lyrics of a song come to mind: “Please be patient with me. God is not through with me yet. When God gets through with me, I shall come forth as pure gold.” Often times, while we’re being shaped, it seems that the process is endless! However, the finished product, will have been well worth the experience, as well as the wait! To be molded after His image, and His likeness, means a lot of chipping away of those things that are not like Him, and adding characteristics, that are more like Him. “To be like Jesus, how I long to be like Him!!! So meek and lowly, so humble and holy, how I long to be like Him.”

      God bless!

      Paulette

      • Hi Paulette
        Those projects were finished long ago, but more and more seem to keep coming and I am so pleased about that. I love to keep busy, using the gifts and talents the Lord has given.
        Take care
        Angela

        • Angela,

          I’m glad to hear that more projects are on the way! Keep up the great work. It is wonderful to be able to stay busy, doing the Lord’s work! The harvest is truly plenteous, but the laborers are few!

Leave a pearl of wisdom

