Stay Connected

2dlosnaI am the True Vine, and my Father is the husbandman. Every branch in me that beareth fruit, He purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit. Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you. Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me. I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing. If a man abide not in me, he is cast forth as a branch, and is withered; and men gather them, and cast them into the fire, and they are burned (John 15:1-6).

"The scene must be kept in mind. The Lord and His disciples had just eaten the last supper. He had said, "Arise, let us go hence" (14:31). They had risen, but were still standing in the room. On the table, from whence they had just risen, was the "fruit of the vine," and the Lord had said He would never drink it again upon the earth. In the Old Testament, the Vine is often used as the type of Israel, planted and tended by the Almighty as the husbandman. See Isa. 5:1 Psa 80:8-16 Jer. 2:21 . Israel, however, had proved a wild and fruitless Vine. Instead of it, therefore, Christ had now been planted by the Father as the True Vine."

life-in-the-vine-2Jesus the True Vine, is the source of life, of the branches! We, the disciples of Jesus, the body of Christ, are the branches! Unless we are connected to the True Vine, we are good for nothing, except to be burned in the fire! We are lifeless, without the life-giving source, as a branch that is disconnected from the vine. A branch that is disconnected from the vine, withers away and dies, as it has no source of nourishment. However, the branch that is connected to the vine is fruitful, healthy, and full of life! That branch, beareth much fruit! Likewise, the believer that remains connected to Jesus, bears much fruit! The husbandman cares for the vineyard, by pruning and dressing the branches, causing them to be healthy, and to bring forth much fruit. He cuts away the unfruitful branches. God our Father, the husbandman, also purgeth, or purifies, cleanses, and frees from sin, the "branches" that are connected to the True Vine, Jesus Christ.The unfruitful branches are severed. Jesus said to His disciples, "Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken  unto you." Then, He instructs His disciples to abide in Him. He reminded them of the branch, that if not connected to the vine, is unable to bear fruit of itself. So must they be connected to Him, that they bear fruit, for without Him, they are nothing! We must abide in Him. We must "remain, have our abode, reside, or dwell", in Him, if He is to continue to abide in us. Let nothing come between your soul and your Savior. Stay connected! Let nothing sever your most precious relationship with Jesus Christ, the Savior of the world, and giver of eternal life! We must let nothing pluck us out of His hands! We must let nothing separate us from the love of God! Romans 8:35 says, "Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or distress, or peril, or sword?" Verse 37 says, "Nay, in all of these things we are more than conquerors through Him that loved us." It is only through Christ, that we are more than conquerors. Therefore, we must have God Almighty, abiding on the inside of us. We must be filled with His Spirit! With His spirit dwelling on the inside, we have the power to overcome every obstacle, every trial, and every temptation, that might cause us to become disconnected from the True Vine. "If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love." As Jesus remained joined to the Father by a life of perfect obedience to Him, so  must we keep His commandments, that we abide in His love.

Therefore, children of God, stay connected to the True Vine, that your fruit may remain, and that you bear much fruit; the fruit of the Spirit, Galatians 5:22, the fruits of righteousness, Philippians 1:11, and the fruit of repentance, Matthew 3:8, that ye may bring glory, honor, and praise, to God Almighty! Remember, ye are known by your fruit, Matthew 7:15-20. May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

i-am-the-vineabide

1. Resources: BibleStudyTools.com

2. Holman Bible Dictionary

21 comments on “Stay Connected

  1. As always, Paulette, a very thorough application of this favourite (and challenging) passage.

    I am sure most of us have had the experience of running ahead of the Lord and tackling something in our own way, in our own strength, only to be pulled up short, wondering what went wrong. Why is it that we are sometimes so slow to learn?

    We are nothing and can achieve nothing, but as you quote (from my most favourite chapter of the Bible) we are more than conquerors through Him. As we allow His life to flow through us we will accomplish His will in His enabling and power, but without Him we are nothing and can do nothing.

    Angela

    • “As we allow His life to flow through us we will accomplish His will in His enabling and power, but without Him we are nothing and can do nothing.” Thank you, Angela. So, so true! Jesus truly is my all and all! Without Him, I am absolutely nothing! “For in Him we live, and move, and have our being.” He is my Source!

      God bless!

      Paulette

      • Acts 17:28 “For in Him we live and move and have our being” is not a verse we hear quoted very often and I wonder why. It really sums up the Christian life, doesn’t it?

        Very soon after I became a Christian, my friend (later to become my husband but still my best friend) gave me a book and wrote that verse inside the cover. It spoke volumes to me and still does. When we “live and move and have our being” in Him we have perfect security.

        • Angela,

          “It really sums up the Christian life, doesn’t it?” I would definitely have to agree, a resounding Yes!

          I was touched by your remark. Thank you for sharing!

  2. “As Jesus remained joined to the Father by a life of perfect obedience to Him, so must we keep His commandments, that we abide in His love.”

    Thanks for this and the many other reminders you brought me this morning. I jumped over at Ann’s suggestion and am so glad I did!
    Thanks for posting !
    je

    • Hi je,

      Welcome! I’m so glad you stopped by. πŸ™‚ Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life! All that we need, is found in Him! As long as we abide in Him, He will continually abide in us! Praise God!

      Thanks for visiting, and subscribing to the site! I really appreciate that. I look forward to sharing with you, out of God’s Word! (Ann, thank you for thinking of me! :-))

      God bless you!

      Paulette

  3. Thank you, Minister Paulette.

    “Stay connected! Let nothing sever your most precious relationship with Jesus Christ, the Savior of the world, and giver of eternal life!”
    Pruning is not something I run to with open arms but I know that it is necessary. Mind you, there are days when I feel like I’m my own master gardener but that never works out. πŸ™‚
    The sacrifice of staying connected to Him will be more than worth our while. (Where do we get off thinking we can make it without Him anyway?!

    @ Angela : “but without Him we are nothing and can do nothing” … Amen, sister.

    Thank you both for the reminders today.

    Blessings,
    ann

    • Amen, Amen!

      Ann,

      “Pruning is not something I run to with open arms but I know that it is necessary.” Like you, I may not enjoy pruning, but I know it is necessary. Sometimes, a “trim” is all that is needed. While at other times, we may need a little bit more cut back, but in the end it will be worth it all! πŸ™‚

      Thank you for reminding me, to “stay in my lane”, and to let God have His way in my life! πŸ™‚

      God bless!

      Paulette

  4. Sin can separate,nothing can sever. Praise God he has through his only Son Jesus Christ forever planted us. I thank God for Jesus for Jesus satisfied God in every way for me and on top of that he helps me to live a life that’s pleasing in his sight because of the love in my heart that only Jesus can give. Jesus Christ has done more for us than we can ever realize,so very much more,and sense we are connected we will bear much fruit Amen.
    Love ya and the pictures and beautiful. πŸ˜€

    • Hi Pat,

      Words truly cannot express, the gratitude that I have in my heart, for all that Jesus Christ did to procure salvation for a wretch like me! I praise God for unmerited favor, His grace; God’s Riches at Christ’s Expense! As you said, “Jesus Christ has done more for us than we can ever realize.” As long as I abide in Him, and He in me, I will bring forth much fruit, because I am NOTHING without Him!

      God bless!

      Paulette

  5. Hi Paulette,

    Jesus’ lessons on the Vine and the branches should make us consider our relationship with Him…. A big part of our staying connected to the Vine is to abide in His word every day — letting our hearts truly listen and learn what God is teaching us in His word…. There is no real life away from the Vine — and yet, so many people don’t realize that…. Somehow, they imagine that they are “living” when they separate themselves from the Vine…. They don’t seem to be aware of their deadness…. Thank you for posting this.

    Love,
    Margaret

    • Hi Margaret,

      It’s always good, when we are led to consider our relationships with the Lord. We must always be sure that we have nothing between our souls and our Savior, because we don’t want to become disconnected from Him. Searching our hearts and our minds to see that we are lined up with the Word of God, should be a part of our daily existence. We have the privilege of going boldly to the throne of grace, to find mercy, and grace to help in time of need!

      Let us pray for those that aren’t aware that they are disconnected from the Vine, that they find their way to the foot of the cross!

      Thank you so much for sharing! This was also another very good reminder! May God bless you.

      Paulette

  6. Paulette,

    What a great reminder of our everyday need of Him in our lives. Without His continuous intervention and grace in our lives, we would become like the shriveled vine that no longer lives life, nor bears fruit for His glory. After all, He has saved us to serve and glorify Him.
    How we all should be living our life for Him knowing that, for certain, an eternity with Him awaits for all those who have trusted in Him! Its already as good as done!

    Rom 8:29-30 (KJV)
    29) For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate [to be] conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.
    30) Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.

    • Hello Rob,

      As long as we continually abide in Him, and He in us, which means living our lives according to the Word of God, then we shall remain connected to the True Vine. Otherwise, if we become disconnected from the True Vine, because of sinfulness, we will be as a branch that is disconnected from the vine, that withers away and dies.

      God bless.

      Paulette

  7. Amen! Let Nothing pluck us out of his hands! God is so good to us! Remember the keeper of the vineyard? The tree in the vineyard? for starters the tree was out of place it was in a vineyard, but never the less the keeper wanted it to bear fruit. The lord of the vineyard wanted to cut the tree down but the keeper wanted the tree to be fruitful! I am so glad that the keeper of the vineyard didn’t give up on me that he kept me and worked on me to keep me in the hands of Jesus! Keep me in your hands O LORD let me stay on the vine and continue to grow and nature in

    • Hi Ryan,

      It’s great to hear from you! Like you, I definitely want nothing to pluck me out of His hands! Though it doesn’t always feel comfortable, I appreciate the fact, that God works on me, as the Husbandman works on the branches. I want to be more like Him, as well as bring forth fruit, which is pleasing unto Him! My prayer is, that God will search my heart, and if He finds anything that shouldn’t be, to take it out, and strengthen me.

      I appreciate you sharing, and again thanks for stopping by. God bless you!

      Paulette

    • Hello Ann,

      I appreciate your concern! It means much to me. I wanted you to know, thankfully, I am not suffering a flare up of the RSD. That is usually what precedes my extended absence from blogosphere. I haven’t been on site for several days, because I changed Internet providers, and the process took much longer than I expected. Again, thanks a lot for your concern. I have a lot of catching up to do. I’ll connect with you, on your blog. Take care.

      Paulette

  8. this post reminded me of the verse that says “In Christ all things are possible”. If we try to grow fruit on our own, we will fail. Thanks.

    • Hello Noel,

      Thanks so much for visiting, and leaving a comment! You are so right! With Christ, all things certainly are possible, and without Him, we will fail! I praise God, because we can do all things, through Christ which strengtheneth us!

      Thanks again, for your comment. God bless you!

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

