Don’t Worry, Be Happy

The Bible tells us In the book of Job that, “man that is born of a woman, is of  few days and full of trouble”. Everywhere you go there is trouble. Everywhere you go there is strife. The body of Christ, we who have been born of the water and of the spirit, we who have decided to make Jesus our choice, are not exempt from trouble in this present world. The word of the Lord says, “He maketh His sun to rise on the good and evil, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust.”

We suffer persecution, we are mistreated, we have trials, tribulations, and heavy burdens. We suffer from the spirit of rejection, and we suffer from broken hearts. Trouble gets in our way, and we cry sometimes. Sometimes we become anxious. The pressure from the outside can cause us to feel tense on the inside. This feeling of tension is stress. Common signs of stress or anxiety are, nervousness, dizziness, restlessness, a pounding heart, which left unchecked, can lead to more serious problems, such as ulcers, high blood pressure, and nervous breakdowns. Some people commit suicide, or they are institutionalized, and some slip through the cracks. They are derelicts on the streets, because they couldn’t handle the pressure from the outside.


However,
there is a distinct difference between the saints of God and those that have not surrendered their lives to the Lord. Sometimes it seems that we forget, that we have been given the awesome privilege of going boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help us in the time of need. We seem to forget, that God’s grace is sufficient for us, and His strength is made perfect in weakness. We must realize that Jesus is the answer for the world today. Sometimes we seem to forget, that no weapon formed against us shall prosper. He’s more than the whole world against us. Sometimes we seem to forget, that greater is He who is in us, than he who is in the world. Sometimes we seem to forget, that we are more than conquerors through Christ. Sometimes we seem to forget, that Jesus is a friend in the midnight hour, and that He is a present help in the time of trouble. He is shelter in the time of a storm. Sometimes we seem to forget, that Jesus knows what we have need of, before we even ask it of Him. He’s able to supply our needs, according to His riches in glory.

The cattle on a thousand hills belong to the Lord. I’ve never seen the righteous forsaken, nor His seed begging bread. It may seem that we are going through alone, and no one understands, but we have not an High Priest who cannot be touched by the feelings of our infirmities, but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin. Jesus knows all about our troubles. He’s able to bring us out of every situation, every circumstance, and every dilemma. You can make it. This trial you’re going through, God’s going to show you just what to do. I don’t care what’s going wrong, because God won’t let it last too long, you’re not in this trial alone, you can make it. Our God is omniscient: He’s all-knowing. He knows how much we can bear. He’ll put no more on us than we can bear. Those who have not wholly surrendered their lives unto the Lord, can’t always handle the pressure from the outside. They can’t handle being fired after several years of service on the job. They can’t handle receiving an eviction notice. They get caught up in the depravity, the debasement, the wickedness, and the evil doings of this sin sick world, trying to ease the pain. They don’t know what we know, or who we know. They don’t know that our Father is rich in houses and land. They don’t know that He holds the world in the palm of His hand. Our God is Jehovah Jireh: the Lord will provide. Our God is Jehovah Rapha: the God that healeth thee. Our God is Jehovah Shammah: the ever present one. Our God is Jehovah Tsidkenu: He is God our righteousness. He is Jehovah Rohi: the Lord is my Shepherd. He is Jehovah  Shalom: the Lord is our peace. In Him there is peace that passes all understanding, and you can rest from your laborious and anxious thoughts, and cast them upon the Prince of Peace. He will make a way out of no way. If you put your trust in Jesus, everything will be all right.

We as saints of God must not be conformed to this world, but we must be transformed by the renewing of our minds. The conformists will say, I give up, I can’t go on, or there is no way out. We who have been transformed by the renewing of ours minds, have peace that passes all understanding. We are troubled on every side, yet not  distressed. We are perplexed, but not in despair. We are persecuted, but not forsaken, cast down, but not destroyed. We praise God in spite of what we’re going through. We have a hallelujah anyhow praise.
So, don’t worry, be happy. With the Lord on your side, knowing He can do anything but fail, put your trust in Him, and everything will be all right.

Don’t worry, be happy! Matthew 6:31-34 says, “And therefore take no thought (or, don’t be anxious) saying, what shall we eat? Or, what shall we drink? Or, wherewithal shall we be clothed? (For after all these things do the Gentiles seek). For your heavenly father knoweth that we have need of all these things. But, seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought (don’t be anxious)  for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” (Read Matthew 6:25-34) Don’t worry, be happy!!! May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!



20 comments on “Don’t Worry, Be Happy

    • [But then God has given us sooo many promises!] I am so grateful! God has given us these promises, and each one is unmerited! I’m so glad, that He has looked beyond my faults, and He has seen the needs in my life!

      Blessings to you!

      Paulette

  1. Thank you so much for this encouraging and timely Word! As I read your blog, so many songs and scriptures were running through my mind! I thought of Marvin Sapp as he sang “I’ve had my share of ups and downs/ Times when there was no one around/ God came and spoke these words to me/ Praise will confuse the enemy” . This lets me know that we will go through the going through, BUT GOD! God has given us a method to overcome the enemy each and every time – Praise, Prayer, Fasting and His Word! He is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we can ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us! (Ephesians 3:20) Isn’t it good to know that when the road gets rough, God is able to carry us through? And just knowing that the battle is not ours, but the Lord’s, and that we have the victory makes me want to praise my way through! I can’t, correction, I WON”T give up on God! As Smokie Norful sang “I know too much about Him/ And there’s nothing to make me doubt Him/ Just as sure as I have life/ You can’t change my mind/ You can’t tell me nothing/ Because I know God for myself!” This reminds me of a scenario of which you may be presented with false information regarding someone you know very well. Immediately, upon receiving word, something tells you that this can not be right. Why? Because you know their character; you have broken bread with them; you have them during good times and bad; you have fellowshipped with them . . . You know them! This is how I feel about this man named Jesus! Aside from what He is doing and the promises of what He will do, before I was born, He died for me! And if He would lay His life down for me, then there is nothing that He wouldn’t do for me!

    • Hi Crystal,

      When I responded to a comment from Tina, I told her I could tell the wheels were spinning inside of her, as she read. I got that same feeling, as I read your comment! It also reminded me of when a preacher hears a word, it gets them all fired up. When they get up for remarks, you can tell they are ready to preach themselves, LOL! You go girl. The word that was preached unto us for many years, definitely did not return unto Him void, where you are concerned! Just from reading your comments, I can see your growth in the Lord, and it’s wonderful! I really need to listen to some of those songs you mentioned in your comments! It is so wonderful to know, that the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but they are mighty unto God, unto the pulling down of strongholds! “Now thanks be unto God, which always causeth us to triumph in Christ, and maketh manifest the savour of His knowledge by us in every place”. (II Corinthians 2:14)

      Thanks so much for sharing! God bless!!!

      Paulette

  2. Hi Paulette,

    Yes, God did not tell us to “Rejoice in the Lord always, and again I say Rejoice” for no reason at all…. God wants us to use our memories to think about all the wonderful things He has done for us down through the ages and right into our personal lives…. We can face our trials because Jesus lives and is with us….. Thank you for this post.

    Love,
    Margaret

    • Hello Margaret,

      That’s another thing I like about blogging. We are able to encourage one another, as well as to share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with someone, anew!

      God bless!

      Paulette

  3. January is a difficult month for many. I am certainly no exception. I live in a harsh winter climate and each year navigating the snow and ice, whether on foot or in a vehicle is quite a challenge.

    What’s so nice, is that I have friends that lift my spirits. I don’t get out often anymore, but the Internet provides a wonderful social network.

    I am truly blessed. So, I will BE HAPPY! And, I pray this brings a smile and a warm sense of being loved to all who it touches.

    • Hi Linda,

      Thank you so much for your comment. It certainly brought a smile to my face! God brings people into our lives at different times, and for different reasons. You have been a true friend to me, since we met on the online RSD support site, almost 2 years ago! I never thought I would have been one to meet so many wonderful people, that I call “friend”, on the Internet. Thank you for being my friend.

      God bless you, Linda.

      Paulette

  4. Praying for your strength, Paulette.

    Thank you for this reminder. I am encouraged and blessed. I choose to be happy, regardless!!

    Blessing to you a hundred-fold!
    ann

    • Hello Ann,

      Thank you so much for your prayers! Over the last several days, I have been struggling with a severe RSD flare up! Just as the Lord was in the fiery furnace with Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego, I know that He is with me during my fiery trials! Therefore, there is no need to worry, but only to be happy in Jesus alone.

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Blessings to you,

      Paulette

  5. The Bible tells us that the Lord inhabits the praises of His people, and that the word is nigh thee, even in thy mouth. It was a great thing to read your confident post of praise. I am praying that the Lord’s presence will be felt in a special way tonight.

    Theresa

    • Hello Theresa,

      I am determined to live the essence of this Scripture, and not just quote it: I will bless the LORD at all times: His praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul shall make her boast in the LORD: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad. (Psalms 34:1-2)

      Thank you so much for your comment. Your words are always encouraging to me! Thank you for keeping me in your prayers! It is much appreciated.

      May the blessings of the Lord shower down upon you, continuously!

      Paulette

      • Paulette,

        “I am determined to live the essence of this Scripture, and not just quote it: I will bless the LORD at all times: His praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul shall make her boast in the LORD: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad. (Psalms 34:1-2)”

        This determination is something we both share. Our flesh may cause us to stumble at times, but that precious Spirit that is in each of us groans, and that makes me so glad. He is a very present help, and even helps us in those moments when we are longing to pray but at a loss for words, and that makes my heart so very glad.

        Theresa

        • Amen! It is so wonderful, that even when we stumble, we can get back up again, not of our own power, but the mighty power of God that abides in us! Praise God!

          Paulette

  6. Paulette, I don’t enjoy hard times, but I grow lax in their absence. When life goes well for a long enough stretch it is easy to lose humility and take abundance for granted. Surprisingly, rarely do I realize how much I personally grow until the hard times let up. I have experienced enough of these periods that now I just tell myself it is time to grow again. It’s not the end of the world, even when it feels that way. God always gives me just the right amount of strength to make it through.

    • Hi Todd,

      Those growing pains can be difficult to handle, at times. However, the Word of God says, “But the God of all grace, who hath called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after that ye have suffered a while, make you perfect, stablish, strengthen, settle you”. There is purpose, behind the pain!

      When things are going well, that is the perfect opportunity to become complacent in our prayer times, and our devotional times, which makes us vulnerable to the wiles of Satan. Also, as you said, we tend to lose humility. It’s important not to get comfortable in that state, because another test or trial, is on the way, and you don’t want to fail that test, simply to have to repeat it!

      Thank you for sharing, Todd. It’s always nice to hear from you.

      Paulette

  7. Paulette,

    It is just as you say… the key to living joyful lives in the midst of trials is keeping our eyes on the Lord and not ourselves. It is so easy, for me at least, to center on myself in times of trials. But whenever I concentrate on the Lord, His greatness, and His works on my behalf, the joy returns and I realize how blessed I am!

    Thanks for the great reminder.
    Rob

    • Hello Rob,

      As we go through our trials and our tribulations, I believe that is exactly what the enemy of our souls wants us to do; focus on ourselves, and take our eyes off of who made us, and who it is, that can bring us through those fiery trials that we often find ourselves in! However, if we allow our minds to digress back to the many, many times that the Lord has brought us out of situations and circumstances, our joy is restored, even while going through the fire! So, sometimes we just need to be reminded of the promises of God, so that we can stop worrying, and leave our issues in the hands of the Lord!

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. God bless.

      Paulette

  8. Thank you so much for spelling it out for us, a declaration of confidence in our Jesus! 🙂 This makes me smile and dance . . .strengthening me today! God bless you as you live in His promises each day!

    • Hello Debbie,

      Thank you so much for stopping by. I enjoyed reading your comment, especially the part that said, “A declaration of confidence in our Jesus!” No one ever told me, an article made them want to dance. 🙂 That brought a smile to my face. I do understand. Your comment was such an encouragement to me, and for that I thank you. May God continue to richly bless you.

      Strengthened by His Word,

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

