A Purpose Driven Life

John 3:16-17 says, “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not

The Purpose Driven Life book cover

Image via Wikipedia

perish, but have everlasting life. For God sent not His Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through Him might be saved.” The  life that Jesus lived,  was filled with fulfilled  purpose. “For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost.” (Luke 19:10) Jesus came to redeem man, and to reconcile him back unto Himself. “For if, when we were enemies, we were reconciled to God by the death of His Son, much more, being reconciled, we shall be saved by His life.” (Romans 5:10)

Purpose can be defined as the reason for which something exists or is done, made, or used. It means to intend; to design. Purpose is the original intent in the mind of the creator, that motivated that person to create a particular item. Before any product is made, there is a purpose established in the mind of the inventor, that gives conception to the idea that becomes the substance for the design and production of the product.

There is no inner peace when we are not walking in the purpose, or calling, for which God created us! There is inner unrest, emptiness, sadness, and unfulfilled aspirations and dreams. Every person was created with a purpose, in the mind of God. There are “no mistakes” walking around on this earth. Know that you are significant, you have purpose, that you are important, and that you have been given the tools necessary to fulfill the calling that is on your life. In other words, “It’s in there!” It may take some fine tuning on your part to bring about your purpose in life, such as receiving an education, being mentored, or receiving some type of instruction or training. This fine tuning, along with your inner strengths, talents and abilities placed within you by Almighty God, means that you can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth you. It takes more than knowing you are gifted, or called to be who God designed you to be. With all of the talent in the world, without receiving a diploma or degree, in some cases, you will not be allowed to get a foot in the door. In the spiritual, the Word of God tells us to, “Study to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” (II Timothy 2:15.)

It is important to know, that God’s purpose for your life is not hindered by your past. Everyone has made mistakes. No one is perfect. In the natural and the spiritual, we have not always crossed every T and dotted every I, and some have found themselves in bondage to various strongholds and addictions. Satan has many people feeling they have sunk to a point, where God is unable to reach them. They become so ashamed because of what they have done, and they are too embarrassed to even talk to God. Satan is a liar, and the truth is not within him. The Word of God says in Romans 3:23-24, “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God; Being justified freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.” Being justified freely by His grace means, we have been declared innocent or guiltless. It means to absolve, or to free from guilt or blame, and to set free. It means that our sins have been remitted. The grace of God is unmerited or undeserved favor, that is granted unto us by Jesus Christ. We can look at the word grace as an acronym, which means, God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense. Jesus suffered vicariously (in our places) on the cross, that we might have a right to the Tree of Life! It is through no goodness of our own, but to God be the glory, through Christ Jesus, for the things He has done! We must repent of our sins, or feel sorry, regret, or be conscience stricken for our past sins/conduct, and turn away from them. Then, we must ask God to forgive us. Ephesians 1:7 says, “In both whom we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins, according to the riches of His grace.” I John chapter 2, verse 1 says, My little children, these things write I unto you, that ye sin not. And if any man sin, we have an advocate (a person who pleads for, or on behalf of another), with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous. The Bible tells us in the book of Hebrews 4:16, “Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” What an amazing privilege!

“Now ye are the body of Christ, and members in particular. And God hath set some in the church, the first apostles, secondarily prophets, thirdly teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, governments, diversities of tongues.” (I Corinthians 12:27-28) “I therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you, that ye walk worthy of the vocation wherewith ye are called. There is one body, and one Spirit, even as ye are called in one hope of your calling. One Lord, one faith, one baptism.” (Excerpts from Ephesians chapter 4) We are to strive to walk in the purpose in which God has given us. We are not to covet another’s calling. Likewise, we are not to covet another’s gifts. Some may have one gift, while others may have two or more gifts. However, all gifts are given to edify the body of Christ. Whatever your purpose is, strive to do the very best with what you have been given. Strive to be the best YOU, that you can be. Give God your all! That is what a person who is living A Purpose Driven Life does.

 

Finally, strive to be filled with the Holy Spirit, and the anointing power of God. It is the anointing that breaks every yoke of bondage. That is why when living a purpose driven life, our gifts and callings, must be seasoned with the anointing of the Holy Ghost. Fast and pray, that you may be led by the Lord. Keep your mind stayed on Him. “In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths. Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil. It shall be health to thy navel, and marrow to thy bones.” (Proverbs 3:6-8) Keep your ear to God’s mouth. Strive to live A Purpose Driven Life! HE WANTS TO USE YOU!

2426397034_5638989518[1]

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
16 comments on “A Purpose Driven Life

  1. Paula

    Thank God for his GRACE and MERCY. I am Striving to Live a Purpose Driven Life. Thank God for your words once again.

    Love Gerry

    • Hey Gerry,

      Thanks so much for stopping by. I always appreciate your comments. Like you, I thank God for His grace and mercy! I thank Him for His unmerited favor, that He has bestowed upon me! I know that all of my righteousness is as a filthy rag, but I thank God for the redeeming blood of Jesus Christ, that washed away my sins. God bless!

      Paula

  2. >> God’s purpose for your life is not hindered by your past. <<

    Thankfully, this is so true! In fact, in some cases, the opposite is true.

    We are given a unique ministry because of what has happened in our past. I have a unique ministry to the abused. I can counsel and help children who have been abused and those adults who were abused as children and still suffering in adulthood as a result (and there are many!).

    While I can counsel and help drug abusers, I can not empathise with them in the same way as one who has been through the experiences they suffer. An ex-addict has that unique ministry.

    As one who lived an "empty" life, always seeking for satisfaction and even a glimmer of hope, for my first 22 years of life, and never finding one iota of joy, I can testify to the super-abundance of a purpose-driven life with God in control. Of course there have been problems in the last 52 years, but my heavenly Father has been there with me IN THE MIDST of those problems. He has undertaken for me in every way. What a privilege it is to serve such a great, powerful, loving and wonderful God! What more purpose could anyone want?

    • I enjoyed reading your comment! It rings so true! Many times our past hurts, mistakes, and otherwise, are stepping stones, that thrust us into our purpose! I thought of the story of Joseph and his brothers, in the book of Genesis. This scripture, especially, came to mind; “And Joseph said unto them, fear not: for am I in the place of God? But as for you, you thought evil against me; but God meant it unto good, to bring to pass, as it is this day, to save much people alive.” (Genesis 50:19-20) So, Satan and those used by him, may have meant you evil, but God meant it unto your good! Praise God! Because of the Ministry that was birthed as a result of what happened in your past, you are able to “save much people alive!” God bless you!

      • Paulette, I also thought of Joseph as I wrote my comment – and as I often do when I think of my early life. My third father was the most evil person one could imagine and certainly meant evil against me. However, he led a miserable life and died in terror while the last 52 years of my life have been marvellously blessed by our gracious God and I enjoy His peace. He blesses abundantly!
        Angela

        • The Lord was with you during those 22 years of abuse! How else could you have come out of it, MORE THAN A CONQUEROR? Who wouldn’t serve a God like that? Bless His holy name!

  3. Hi Paulette,

    Guess what? … 😉 … I think you have a purpose driven life to write about the many graces of God and encourage others! ….. I like the fact that you pointed out that we are not to covet another’s calling….. God’s love for each of us is so individualistic, and His purpose far beyond our imagination….. We just need to keep doing our best for Him and let Him take care of the results….. Keep sharing.

    Love,
    Margaret

    • Hello Margaret,

      First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to stop by my blog. I truly appreciate you commenting on the article. I liked what you said, about His purpose being far beyond our imagination! That is so true! “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.” Thank you so much for the encouraging words! Please visit again, and your input will always be appreciated. May God bless you, and continue to keep you in His care!

      Paulette

  4. Paulette,

    Thanks for the great blog posting and visiting my site as well.

    In your posting, I appreciate you saying that we should not let our past stop us from serving our Lord now. As I minister to others, I find that many times, Satan uses the sins and failures in our past to hinder our service for Him. We all need the reminder that we should put these things behind us and reach forward to the goal Christ has given to us.

    I’ve subscribed to your blog and am looking forward to your next post!

    May the Lord continue to bless you and your ministry.

    • Hello Rob,

      Thank you for stopping by, and commenting on the article. I am humbled, that you would subscribe to my blog. I look forward to the fellowship.

      Satan would have us to focus on the mistakes and sins of our past. However, the word of God says in Philippians 3:13-14, “Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” Praise God! God bless you!

      Paulette

  5. Hi Paulette

    I followed you from Margaret’s blog – happy I did. 🙂

    Thank you for this lovely post.

    Some of my favourite passages deal with God’s foreknowledge and His purposes for our life. Psalm 139 is high up there on my list. This statement affirms these passages for me. “Every person was created with a purpose, in the mind of God.” Thank you for sharing

    Blessings,
    ann

    • Hello Ann,

      Thanks so much for stopping by. I truly appreciate your input! It is comforting to know that, even before I was formed in my mother’s womb, God had me on His mind! Praise God! May God bless you, and continually keep you in His care! I hope you’ll visit again.

      Paulette

      • Thank you for visiting with me, Paulette.

        I am so encouraged by the way you love Him. I read and re-read your comment on my blog and I stopped by to say how thankful I am that our paths crossed. May He continue to bless and keep you and may all His plans for your life be fulfilled in the perfection of His timing.

        Thankful too for Margaret who was the sheep I followed here 🙂

        Blessed and encouraged,
        ann

        • Ann,

          Thank you so much for the words of encouragement. They mean much to me. I will definitely revisit your blog. You definitely have a gift, and it is wonderful that you are sharing your gift with the world. Stay encouraged, and continue to allow yourself to be used by the Master! Be blessed!

          In His service,

          Paulette

    • Hi Todd,

      It is always nice to hear from you! The fact that you were encouraged, was encouraging to me. I thank you for sharing that. Stop by again real soon. I look forward to hearing from you. God bless!

      Paula

Leave a pearl of wisdom

