Thanksgiving Day Everyday

“O give thanks unto the LORD; for He is good: for His mercy endureth for ever. O Give thanks unto the God of gods: for His mercy endureth for ever. O give thanks unto the Lord of Lords: for His mercy endureth for ever. To Him who alone doeth great wonders: for His mercy endureth for ever. To Him that by wisdom, made the heavens: for His mercy endureth for ever. To Him that stretched out the earth above the waters: for His mercy endureth for ever. To Him that made great lights: for His mercy endureth for ever. The sun to rule by day: for His mercy endureth for ever: The moon and stars to rule by night: for His mercy endureth for ever. (Psalm 136:1-9)

This is the season of Thanksgiving, for the most part in the United States. Other countries around the world also set aside special days each year, to give thanks, and to celebrate harvest related festivals. In the United States,  families and friends will gather together to enjoy a feast, and to give thanks for possessions, good health, and blessings, etc., on this “special day” each year. However, I propound, that Thanksgiving Day should be everyday of the year. What if God decided to answer our prayers only one day of each year? What if God decided to heal the sick only one day of each year? What if God decided to save the lost only one day of each year? What if God decided the sun would shine only one day of each year? What would happen to the farmers’ crops if God decided it would rain only one day of each year? What if God decided to light the night sky with the moon and the stars only one night of each year? Can you imagine living in a world like this? Without God, we can do nothing. Without Him, we would not survive. “For in Him we live, and move, and have our being.” We should give thanks unto God at all times, for His mercy endureth for ever! We shouldn’t wait until a certain time of the year to give thanks unto the Lord! In any situation we may find ourselves in, we should give thanks unto God. He is so worthy. We should give thanks with a grateful heart, and not just lip service. When you think about salvation and redemption, give God thanks! When you think about the blood that was shed on Calvary’s Cross, give Him Thanks! When you wake up in the morning, give God thanks. When you go about your daily routine each day, give God thanks. When you lay your head upon your pillow at night before going to sleep, give God thanks! “But God be thanked, that ye were the servants of sin, but ye have obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine which was delivered to you. Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness.” (Romans 6:17-18) We have so much to thank God for, so render unto God the thanks that are due unto Him, everyday of the year! May the Lord bless you abundantly, today and every day!

(A Re-post)

9 comments on “Thanksgiving Day Everyday

  1. Praise God for that word! True, everyday is a day of Thanksgiving. We are extended new mercies each and everyday. Therefore, we ought to have a thankful heart each and everyday. I often think, if god treated us the way we treated him, we would be in trouble. I’m grateful that his thoughts are not our thoughts, neither his ways like our ways. Praise God!! Have a blessed evening.

    • Praise the Lord! Thank you so much for stopping by, and for sharing your thoughts on the article. It truly makes my heart glad, when I can read what the Lord has laid on the hearts of others, regarding the posts they’ve read. Also, thank you for the encouragement. I truly hope you were blessed, as I was blessed by your comment. Take care!

  2. To God be the Glory for all the things He has done! I was so encouraged by this Word! I was reminded how we are to be content regardless of what situation we find ourselves. Instead of always wanting more, we should be satisfied for what we do have because their are others who would love to be in our shoes! Also, I had to stop and think of all that My Heavenly Father has done for me, the many prayers He has answered, the ways He has made; and I had to think whether I went back to thank Him each and every time. I do not want a day to go by that I don’t give Him the praise that is due unto Him and I certainly would not want what He has done for me, to me and through me to go unrecognized! So, as the song says “In the good times, bless His name! In the bad times, do the same! In EVERYTHING give the King of kings ALL THE PRAISE!!!”

  3. Hallelujah! Every day is a chance to praise the Lord. I love the verse you put in: “…in Him we live and move and have our being.” Each day God’s life in us gives us life abundantly so we can say: “this is the day the Lord has made. I will rejoice and be glad in it.” I thank God that each day He gives me the chance to see His hand and His blessings. I pray that my eyes will always be open to see His goodness! God bless!
    -Vicki

    • I enjoyed reading your comment. So true. It is God’s life in us, that gives us life abundantly! Therefore, I will give Him the praise. God bless you!

  4. AMEN! Thanksgiving should not be limited to one day a year. In all things give thanks! All day every day! God is too good, and too big to limit your thankfulness to one day a year!
    I will praise him, honor him, glorify him, and give him thanksgiving every day I have breath in my body!

    • God is definitely too good, to be limited to a one day per year celebration! “I will bless the Lord at all times, and His praise shall continually be in my mouth! O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt His name together!”

      Thanks for stopping by. God bless you!

  5. Thank so much for visiting my blog. I really think your blog is awesome so I nominated you for one of the blogger awards. Check out my blog for details.

    • Hello Brandon,

      I enjoyed my visit to your blog. Thanks for your kind words. I appreciate you nominating me for one of the blogger awards. However, I won’t be able to see this process through, at this time. Thank you again, for thinking of me in this light.

      May God continue to bless you richly! Stay on the battlefield for the Lord!

      Paulette

Leave a pearl of wisdom

