Brace Yourself!

While watching the CBS morning news, a story grabbed my attention, and it stayed with me.  I am sure this is a topic that the vast majority of the general population rarely, if ever, thinks about. The segment was about a woman who sneezed hard, and as a result, an artery in her neck was compromised, and she suffered a stroke. She now has very little feeling on the right side of her body, as well as, very little movement. Yes, the woman is now partially paralyzed, simply because she sneezed. I was surprised to learn, that this phenomenon occurs more often than one would think. Apparently, the jerking of her neck was what compromised the artery, which resulted in her having a stroke. It was stated, that coughing and vomiting, could also result in an artery being compromised, resulting in a stroke. It was also said, that young people have suffered strokes, as a result of these occurrences. I was taken aback, to say the least! So, brace yourself, the next time you feel a huge sneeze coming on!!! It is my opinion that bracing oneself, and not allowing your neck to bounce back and forth, may reduce the risk of causing damage to an artery in the neck.

Artery, Compromise, Jerking, Brace

2 comments on “Brace Yourself!

    • I don’t know why I failed to respond to this comment, so long ago. I do apologize. It is always my intent to respond to all comments in a timely manner. I’m glad you found the information in this story interesting. This topic definitely arrested my attention! Thanks for stopping by! God bless!

Leave a pearl of wisdom

