…And the Fellowship of His Sufferings

And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith: that I may know him, in the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death. (Philippians 3:9–10) Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus. Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 3:12–14)

And the fellowship of his sufferings - That I may participate in the same kind of sufferings that he endured; that is, that I may in all things be identified with him. Paul wished to be just like his Saviour. He felt that it was an honor to live as he did; to evince the spirit that he did, and to suffer in the same manner. All that Christ did and suffered was glorious in his view, and he wished in all things to resemble him. He did not desire merely to share his honors and triumphs in heaven, but, regarding his whole work as glorious, he wished to be wholly conformed to that, and, as far as possible, to be just like Christ. Many are willing to reign with Christ, but they would not be willing to suffer with him; many would be willing to wear a crown of glory like him, but not the crown of thorns; many would be willing to put on the robes of splendor which will be worn in heaven, but not the scarlet robe of contempt and mockery. They would desire to share the glories and triumphs of redemption, but not its poverty, contempt, and persecution. This was not the feeling of Paul. He wished in all things to be just like Christ, and hence he counted it an honor to be permitted to suffer as he did. So Peter says, “Rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings;” 1 Peter 4:13. So Paul says Colossians 1:24 that he rejoiced in his sufferings in behalf of his brethren, and desired “to fill up that which was behind, of the afflictions of Christ,” or that in which he had hitherto come short of the afflictions which Christ endured.

Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you: But rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings in that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy. If ye be reproached for the name of Christ, happy are ye; for the spirit of glory and of God resteth upon you: on their part he is evil spoken of, but on your part he is glorified. But let none of you suffer as a murderer, or as a thief, or as an evil doer, or as a busybody in other men’s matters. Yet if any man suffer as a Christian, let him not be ashamed; but let him glorify God on this behalf. (I Peter 4:12 –16) Amen.

Resource: Barnes’ Commentary

Enhanced by Zemanta
19 comments on “…And the Fellowship of His Sufferings

  1. Hello Sister Paulette how are you doing on this great day…Love the post. many of us don’t like suffering but in order for us to rein with Jesus we too must suffer at times…Look at all the suffering He did for us..AMEN

    • God bless you, Minister Desiray! I’m so glad you stopped by! :-) I was struggling a bit on yesterday, but the Lord brought me through it. I’m feeling better now. Thank you so much for commenting on the post. I cannot even begin to understand, all that Christ suffered vicariously! I am truly grateful! God bless you! I hope today is a great one for you! :-)

      • Sis I am happy to hear you are doing much better today. Weeping may endure for a night but JOY cometh in the Morning…I am having a good day so far went to the gym this morning and now I have some things to do online before me and hubby spends the rest of the day together.. You have a blessed day and may heaven smile upon you

  2. Amen….to serve the Lord, truly, is to oftentimes suffer. Whether it is the loss of a friend because our faith, the insults of another, or even the loss of a job. Regardless, there is nothing anyone could do that was painful or torturous as what Jesus did for us.

    • Hello Lyn! Amen! It is an uphill journey, but if we suffer with Him, we shall also reign with Him! Glory to God! Thanks for dropping by! Always glad to see you! God bless!

  3. Oh Paulette–I LOVE the new look here!! Really nice! God bless you today, most abundantly–I pray that I continue to reveal Him more and more: little sparks ignite BIG flames! Love you, sis Caddo

    • Thanks so much, Caddo! I’m really glad you like it! :-) Please, fan those flames in my direction! God bless you, as well! Love, Paulette

  4. “That I may know Him” . . . I heard a dear old man – very old – talk on this soon after I became a Christian and decided I wanted to know Him as did that man. I soon came to realise that while we come to know Him more and more, we will never in this life fully know Him.

    Paul was near the end of his ministry when he said these words, and we tend to think that Paul knew the Lord more than anyone, and yet Paul wanted to really know Him. I still have that yearning . . . and we are one day closer to the day when we will!

    What an amazing God!

    • That was powerful, Angela! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. Always a blessing, as you glorify God! God bless you, my friend!

  5. Oh, how my love for Christ has been brought before the microscope of His Word! I want to treasure with Paul every facet of my Lord’s character and life–not just to reach for His glory, but enter into His sufferings and find Him great and worthy of praise in all. Thank you for writing this.

    • Thank you so much, for sharing your thoughts here! Your words are truly inspiring and a huge encouragement to me! For that, I thank you! I look forward to visiting your blog soon! :-) May the blessings of the Lord be upon your life, today and every day!

      Paulette

  6. Pingback: The Call to Suffer and be Happy | O. W. Prince Ministries

  7. Pingback: How to Endure Suffering No. 3 « God's Word for Women

  8. Pingback: Suffering for the sake of Christ’s gospel message of the free gift of Salvation | Sharon's thoughts on life' journey

Leave a pearl of wisdom

