I Want More of Him

I want more of Jesus!We are living in a materialistic society. Figuratively speaking, it’s a dog eat dog world! The more we have, the more we want to have. Some of the tactics people use to get what they want, are not always on the up and up. Sometimes perfidious, dubious, and unscrupulous tactics are used. Then, on the other hand, some individuals work night and day to attain material gain. That is not to say, desiring the finer things in life is to be frowned upon. However, if one’s priorities are not in order, especially the saints of the most High God, one can find themselves in a spiritual wasteland! A question is posed in the book of Matthew 16:26, “For what is a man profited if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?” It is quite apparent, that money is needed to survive in this world. However, I Timothy 6:10 says, “For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they had erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.” Money is not evil, but the love of money is the problem! “No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon.” (Matthew 6:24)

The Bible tells us, that we are to set our affections on things above, and not on things of the earth! We are to seek first the kingdom of God and its righteousness, and all these things will be added unto us! Little is much when God is in it. Look at what Jesus did with two fish and five loaves of bread! He fed about five thousand men, besides women and children, and after they all did eat, and were filled, they took up of the fragments that remained 12 baskets full! Truly we serve an awesome God!

Why worry and struggle to get the things that we need, when we serve a God who can supply all of our needs, according to His riches in glory? When we take care of God’s business, God will take care of our business! We should strive to seek God’s face, and not His hand. Let us  strive to do the work and will of the Lord. Oh I want to see Him, look upon His face; there to sing forever, of His saving grace. If you live right, heaven belongs to you, but how badly do you want it? Anything worth having, is worth sacrificing for. Just as we sacrifice our time and our energy to get the things we need, and the things we want, we must present our bodies as living sacrifices, holy and acceptable unto God, which is our reasonable service. We must be willing to seek the Lord with all of our hearts, our minds, and our souls. Jesus, for the joy that was set before Him, endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

The Bible tells us that Moses refused to be called the son of Pharaoh’s daughter; Choosing rather to suffer affliction with the people of God, than to enjoy the pleasures of Sin for a season. Are you willing to give it all up to follow Jesus? Do you want more of Him? Our possessions here on earth are temporal, but only what we do for Christ will last! The Lord spoke to Abram and said, “Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great, and thou shalt be a blessing.” Are you willing to leave all to follow Jesus, and to turn from your worldly ways? Paul said, “But what things were gain for me, those I counted loss for Christ. Yea doubtless,  and I  count all things  but loss for the excellency  of the knowledge  of Christ Jesus my Lord:  for whom I have suffered  the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ.” How badly do you want to gain eternal life? How badly do you want to see Jesus’s face in peace?

Jesus is not a fair weather friend! He will go with you, to the end! “For scarcely will a man die for one that is righteous, yet peradventure one would dare to die for a good man, but God commendeth His love toward us in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, being now justified by His blood, we shall be saved from wrath through Him!” How badly do you want Jesus Christ, to rule and reign in your life? Jesus said,”Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If any hear my voice, I will come in and sup with him, and he with me.”  (Revelation 3:20) May the blessings of Almighty God, rest upon your life! Feel free to share your thoughts!

i-love-jesus
15 comments on “I Want More of Him

  1. What an uplifting time reading this! You covered it well. Truly our great God has supplied our every need – in abundance!

    Yes, I want more of Jesus – but is that possible?

    I mean, I think we have ALL of Jesus. He doesn’t give a part of Himself. So maybe it would be more accurate to put the blame where it belongs – on ourselves – and say “I want Jesus to have more of me. I want to take my hands off me and give Him my all.”

    Oh yes, we do this – but then the big “I” raises its head and takes a little bit back. I want MORE of Jesus, but the ball is in my court. I – the big “I” – am the one stopping it.

    Dear God, I have a problem: It’s ME.

    Christian love to you
    Angela

    • Hi Angela,

      Around blogosphere, where you have left comments, so many have said, “you nailed it.” Well, it’s my turn, because you certainly hit the nail squarely on the head, with your comment. Yes, Jesus Christ gave His ALL for us, of which we have access to. However, when we do not do the same, by giving our all unto Him, that is when we miss out on some of the “ALL”, that Jesus has already given! So, as you said, the ball is in our courts now! We must set our affections on things above, and not on things of the earth. We gain more of Him, more of His Spirit, more of His power, and more of His strength, when we draw nigh unto Him, that He might draw nigh unto us! When we fast, pray, and meditate on His word, we gain more of Him. These are just a few examples, of how we can obtain more of Jesus, because He has already given His all unto us. So, we might as well take full advantage of it! We must DECREASE, so that He can INCREASE, in our lives! I want more of Him!

      Thank you so much for your encouragement, your insight, and your emphatic witness of Jesus Christ!

      May God’s blessings, continue to rest upon your life! Again, thank you!

      Paulette

  2. Gospel Artist of the Week.

    I believe all, if not most of us, have found ourselves in a position, where the odds were stacked against us! Sometimes, we got to the point where we were tired of hanging onto the knot at the end of the rope, and we just wanted to let go! Well, Maurette Brown Clark has a few words of encouragement for us, in the song titled, “It Ain’t Over.”

    We are admonished to keep on fighting, until our victory is won. So, keep fighting, keep progressing, keep interceding, and most of all, keep on believing! It Ain’t Over, Until God says it’s Over! Listen to the song on the video, and be blessed! Stay encouraged!

    Ann, thank you so much for your contribution to Gospel Artist of the Week! The song is wonderful!

    Paulette

  3. Paulette,

    Yes, Jesus is our all-in-all…. We just need to realize that in our pains and sorrows…. There is nothing we can give in exchange for our souls, and yet people seem oblivious to that as they frantically look for other balms for their woes.

    Love,
    Margaret

    • Hi Margaret,

      After reading your comment, a couple of songs came to mind, old songs, that we once sang in church. Some of the lyrics are: Where could I go, where could I go, seeking a refuge for my soul. Needing a friend, to help me in the end, where could I go, but to the Lord! The other song is: When you’ve tried everything, and everything has failed, try Jesus. Question. Why not try Jesus first? :-)

      Thank you so much for your input, Margaret. It’s much appreciated.

      God bless,

      Paulette

  4. Thanks Paulette :-)

    Your post reminds me of the day I was baptized with water. I believe the song was “Where He leads me I will follow… ” I was a child but I remember the feeling that rested on me as I contemplated what was ahead. The years have brought much joy and tears but still He satisfies!

    Praying we’ll continue to find Him the ‘all-sufficient’ El-Shadai!

    Blessings,
    ann

    • Hi Ann,

      That must have been a wonderful day for you! I understand you saying, “The years have brought much joy and tears but still He satisfies!” As a child, I had a hunger and thirst for righteousness. However, The more I know and have of Him, the more I want, even today! I believe that to be true for you, as well!

      Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! They are always quite encouraging!

      Blessings,

      Paulette

  5. Paulette,

    About a year ago, my pastor called me up and asked me to give my testimony at church. This really made me think hard, asking myself “To what one thing can I point that would show the difference between now and before I asked Jesus into my life.” That one thing is, I now desire God, and before, I did not. When times get rough and I “feel” less spiritual, I use that test to check my spiritual pulse: “Do I desire God?”

    If Jesus is in my heart, his presence will automatically instill a heart-centric resonating desire for him.

    • Todd,

      Like you, I desire God! The more I have of Him, the more I desire to have of Him! The song, I love Jesus More Than I Did Yesterday, rings true for me! He is my everything!

      Apostle Paul said, “But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ. Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ.” He also said, “That I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection, and the Fellowship of His suffering, being made conformable unto His death; If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.” (Excerpts from Philippians 3)

      Thank you so much for sharing!

      Paulette

  6. “No man can fully grasp how far and how fast we have come, but condense, if you will, the 50,000 years of man’s recorded history in a time span of but a half-century. Stated in these terms, we know very little about the first 40 years, except at the end of them advanced man had learned to use the skins of animals to cover them. Then about 10 years ago, under this standard, man emerged from his caves to construct other kinds of shelter. Only five years ago man learned to write and use a cart with wheels. Christianity began less than two years ago. The printing press came this year, and then less than two months ago, during this whole 50-year span of human history, the steam engine provided a new source of power. Newton explored the meaning of gravity. Last month electric lights and telephones and automobiles and airplanes became available. Only last week did we develop penicillin and television and nuclear power, and now if America’s new spacecraft succeeds in reaching Venus, we will have literally reached the stars before midnight tonight.” JFK

    “This is a breathtaking pace, and such a pace cannot help but create new ills as it dispels old, new ignorance, new problems, new dangers. Surely the opening vistas of space promise high costs and hardships, as well as high reward.” JFK

    If you were to ask man 100 years ago: do you think men will ever walk on the moon? You would immediately rise to the top of a short list with the dubious distinction of king/queen of village Idiots. Ask that Question today and the answer returned would be: why,…….. haven’t you heard! The knowledge gleaned within the window of a hundred years made the difference between scoffing at an idea and touching the stars. When God says something to us and we don’t understand it; inability to understand a thing is not reliable ground for dismissing the reality of it, or ignoring the consequences of it.

    “But why, some say, the moon? Why choose this as our goal? And they may well ask why climb the highest mountain? Why, 35 years ago, fly the Atlantic? Why does Rice play Texas?…We choose to go to the moon. We choose to go to the moon in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard, because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of our energies and skills, because that challenge is one that we are willing to accept, one we are unwilling to postpone, and one which we intend to win, and the others, too” JFK. In 1961 when Kennedy made his now famous pledge to land a man on the Moon, the USA had only 15 minutes piloted spaceflight experience and only 5 minutes of that was in space while the Russians had already completed missions in orbit. Kennedy in the face of virtually impossible odds due to limitations in technology and know how pushed NASSAU beyond their limits of planning a mission to fly around the moon and return, to landing a man on the moon and return; coming form behind the Russians to achieve higher than expected mission goals.

    The difference between limitation and liberty is knowledge. If confronted by limitations, the best course it to seek the know-how. By knowledge you shall be liberated form constraints; whatever the form. When confronted by limitations, if our first recourse is to concede, yield, and embrace them; we might well be going to sleep under a Russian moon, and flying a British flag for a national banner. Limitations by their varied and sundry forms are all the brood of ignorance; wherever found they should be banished. “Ignorance is not so damnable as humbug, but when it prescribes pills (as does the wisdom of men) it may happen to do more harm”— George Eliot. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

    It would serve us well to listen to JFK stir our nation to it’s feet at darker times in our history, to avert the real threat of Russian dominance in the outer space.

    LINK BELOW: (the features a transcript of the inspirational speech, and an audio recording plays in the background)

    http://www.historyplace.com/speeches/jfk-space.htm

    I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, it is the power of God to be delivered from all things which we could before not be delivered from. We seldom discern the wisdom of men which makes void the power of God; because by appearance it often seem wiser than even God’s council which is utter foolishness among men.

    We should raise our awareness to the things that God has said and done, and the world is yet unaware of it. The way the Bible describes brainwashing is stated in (Isaiah 25:7—the covering cast over all people, and the veil that is spread over all nations.) This covering, this veil that overspreads the whole world is the wisdom of man. The only way to overcome this is to receive the gift of the mind of Christ whereby by realize that all things are possible with us. If all your lives you are told one thing, in this case the wisdom of man; even if the truth is in front of you, you will not see it because of this veil that covers the face of the world.

    Take this 20-second AWARENESS TEST and see what I mean.

    God has written to us of the great things of his law, but we have counted them as foolishness. Mark 9:23—Jesus said unto him, If thou canst believe, all things are possible to him that believeth. Luke 18:27—The things, which are impossible with men, are possible with God. Matthew 17:20—. …and nothing shall be impossible unto you. After Jesus rebuked the storm, wind and tempest tossed sea, the disciples looked at him in wonder and asking each other; what manner of man is this. Jesus asked them, where is your faith? He expected them to do the same things he did; Jesus wasn’t the only one that walked on water, Peter did for a short while; this is so symbolic of the short period of time the church got it right after Jesus departed.

    There are two parties identified here with whom it is said that all things are possible, with God and with men who believe. This is the righteousness of God, it transfers to man all the things of God that are given to men by believing, even God himself as the gift first given to Abraham, and promised to we his seed in Christ is transferred to man by the faith of God, that man is supposed to have. Between the impossible and the possible is the knowledge that makes it tangible and real, such knowledge is with God; he gives it to those that fear him.

Leave a pearl of wisdom

